We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ritter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ritter to your Saves list
Hotel Ritter
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Garibaldi 68 Brera, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Some of the reviews on here are extremely harsh for this hotel so I will try to give you an honest report on my stay. I stayed with my boyfriend for a short city break from the 26th - 28th March 2013.

Firstly there appears to be a lot of people accusing the reception staff of being rude, I totally disagree, the gentlemen who checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful, he gave us a map and indicated some good sights to see and some local bars to try out. The other 3 reception staff we dealt with were also very pleasant, all of them spoke English too which was very helpful.

We were checked in to room 105 on the first floor, there is a small hall area with a large mirror then you have a door on the right to your bedroom and a door directly ahead to the bathroom. The bathroom was very spacious and clean, shower pressure was lovely and always warm water, the only thing I would say is if you are tall the shower is a bit of a squeeze.

The bedroom was also a very good size, bed was comfortable, nice warm covers, small flat screen TV, desk, chair and a very large wardrobe with a safe inside. The view outside was not good at all but then we didn't pay for one.

There's quite a few people on here that also mention the noise in and outside of the hotel. I won't lie, you can hear the underground tram in the morning (you don't notice it as much at night). Also you will hear people next door to you in their bathroom for example but this is only a problem in the morning and to be honest you're usually awake or getting up for breakfast anyway. If you're going to Milan to stay out all night and sleep in till late afternoon then I wouldn't recommend it but if you're going to get up, ready to explore and make the most of your trip then the small noise problem won't bother you at all.

Breakfast was nice, there's a coffee/tea/hot chocolate machine and cold meats, juices, crossaints etc etc, the dining area was nice and also clean.

In terms of location you would seriously struggle to find a better placed hotel for this sort of price! It's round the corner from the Moscova underground metro station which is on the green line. A 5-10 minute ride on this will send you to the central station where you can catch a tram to anywhere around the city such as the Lotto station for the San Siro or the Duomo for the Cathedral and shopping.

We had a lovely time at this hotel and I would certainly go back, one thing I did notice is that there wasn't many families at the hotel but it's certainly ideal for anybody whether going as a family, a couple or for business!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    202
    137
    53
    42
See reviews for
49
171
39
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just returned from a few nights stay this hotel with some girlfriends. Hotel was in a great location for bars, shops, restaurants. Rooms were dated and in need of some modernization and redecoration. Bathrooms appear to have been done and are nice, good shower etc.
Hotel is clean and beds were very comfy. Unfortunately you can hear every little noise from rooms above and around. Unlike other reviews i found the reception staff very helpful and pleasant and we did ask them for lots of information whilst we were there, which was accurate and helpful. Breakfast was quite varied, with ham, eggs, rolls, croissants, fruit yoghurt etc. Coffee machine was very temperamental. machine in hotel reception also provided coffee but it was pretty disgusting.
Hotel was reasonably priced for the type of place and i was happy overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently spend two weeks travelling round Italy (for the second time) and this hotel was by far the worst. The walls are literally made of paper. Every evening we heard the entire conversation of every room on both sides of us, including their use of the toilet, tv, mobile phone, general chat and lucky for us we were next to a couple that woke every morning at 4am to chat through to ten am! Every evening we would hear the people walk around above us, move chairs, drop things- honestly we had no sleep the three days we were there. For anyone that has already booked, the chemist across the road sells ear plugs. The location is great tho, so if you don't need to sleep at all and like permanent noise (I even heard people having sex) then this hotel is for you. Lovely bathrooms.

Room Tip: Byo body wash and their one is the consistency of water. Byo ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I've just returned yesterday from a 3 night stay at the Ritter as part of a weekend away with 9 friends.....

Don't get me wrong, I wasn't expecting the Ritz as we had got the hotel at a very low price but what I do expect from any hotel I stay in is pleasant reception staff.....and they were awful....not once did they smile or be nice at all......in fact when we went down to book a taxi they were actually rather rude.

The hotel is however in a very good position for restaurants and bars and not too far to walk to the beautiful cathedral.

The rooms although basic and dated, were clean and I must admit the refurbished bathrooms were fab. The shower was very powerful and lots of hot water. There was a fridge in the room but no tea or coffee making facilities which I think is a basic must in any hotel room. Breakfast was basic but ok, but the coffee machine was totally inadequate and was broken every morning.

Anyhow, I don't think I would be returning to Milan anytime soon but I think I would look for a better hotel if I did, shame really as a smile and a bit of friendliness from the staff would have totally changed my opinion in general! It would have been a 'poor' rating if the bathrooms hadn't saved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location, very reasonable price, comfy beds, clean hotel with average bathroom, unhelpful staff and lousy breakfast. The coffee machine broke every morning. Overall average score, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at The Ritter for Valentines week end, Feb 2013. Arriving at Milan Milpensa Airport, this hotel is a 50 minute ride in a cab, (a standard 90 euro fare) from the airport. The hotel is well situated for most things you may want to do in central Milan. The Duomo church, restaurants, and clothes shops, are all within an easy 10 minute walk. The San Siro stadium is either a 15 euro cab ride away, (15 mins) or short train ride from the main station, Cadorna, getting out at, Lotto. Back to the hotel, our room (207) was well presented, clean and fairly spacious. There were no kettle or cups for an early morning cuppa though! It overlooked an enclosed courtyard, but that was no bother to us. The hotel staff were always polite and helpfull. The breakfast room, was nice and clean, and well served. As other visitors have mentioned, the coffee machine is very slow, and queues tend to form whilst waiting for this. Breakfast itself though is always fresh, and enough to get you going for the day. Our overall stay was a pleasant one. You may find that the "euro" electrical adaptor's that you buy from the airport, do not fit the plug sockets in you room though? The 2 that we bought at Luton, were of the wrong design. You need FLAT pin type, and not ROUND pin type! A shopping trip tip for you, if your going to Milan to shop for clothes, then take advantage of the trips on offer in the main town centre, to go to FOX TOWN shopping, just over the swiss border! You must take your passport with you, as you literally cross the border, and then you have the luxury of doing all you "designer" shopping, but at tax free prices! The trip, via train or bus or cab, depending on where you leave from, is between 1 hour to 1 hour 45 mins. Well worth it. Also, we took the train from Cadorna main station to Lake Como. It was only 9 euro's each way, per person. Lake Como is truly beautifull. The train ride is only 55 mins. You can take the water "taxi" along the lake. It stops off at 4 different locations, before returning to the town. Each stop, is a little town, each worth a look around, with thier own "identity". We stopped off at the 3rd one, (the name escapes me) and had a snack at a bar that was adorned with photo's and memorabillia of people that had visited there, inc, jon bon jovi, Led Zeppellin (group) and various footballers, etc. You have to be very brave to take the cable car trip up the mountain side, to the villiage that overlooks Lake Como, but the view is spectacular, a must for photo's! This is where it is reputed that George Clooney has his holiday home! A trip to Milan without taking in Lake Como would be a waste! Go there, and enjoy!

Room Tip: our room, 207, was very quiet, on the 2nd floor, all rooms on this floor, would be the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Nice hotel in a good location. Very nice staff. Breakfast bar well-stocked with good choice but there is a queue to get coffee from the one-by-one cup coffee machine. Rooms are small but functional and pleasant, clean and well maintained. Drinks vending machines in the hotel are useful if you want a soft drink. Elevators a little slow but you get there in the end. Hair dryer in room didn't work but I managed without.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ritter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritter

Address: Corso Garibaldi 68 Brera, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ritter 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ritter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritter Hotel Milan
Comfort Inn Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ritter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.