We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to navigate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Museo del Novecento

Museo del Novecento
Piazza del Duomo 14, 20122 Milan, Italy
+39.0243353522
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$37*
and up
Ranked #28 of 372 Attractions in Milan
Type: Museums
Attraction details
sydney
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Impossible to navigate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

If you're interested in Italian Futurism this museum is worth a visit, but getting around it is a nightmare. At the top of every set of escalators in an attendant who directs you to the next space because the whole museum is so illogically designed that is it impossible to navigate. The exhibits are interesting enough but we think there are better collections of many of the artists such as Severini and Marini in other museums such as the Peggy Guggenheim in Venice or the Marino Marini in Florence. Having said all that, it's probably worth the entry fee to see the view of the duomo.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    205
    58
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
robinsville, nj
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exquisite place for drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Did not get a full visit of the actual museum, but at 5 min to midnight were let in by the door guard to climb to the last floor, where there's a restaurant with a perfect view of the the Duomo and the nicest staff of Milan. The barman will custom-make drinks according to your taste (for me it was a slightly bitter champagne cocktail with berries and Chambord), for my husband a limited-edition-vodka martini. When one of the waiter noticed my walking around, he offered me his arm (I was wearing high heels and gave me the tour of the restaurant, including the kitchen. How delightful!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best for Italian Futurism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This museum has a cheap entry ticket (for free if you are younger than 26). It features the best collection of works of the Italian futurism (an artistic and social movement that originated in Italy in the early 20th century), together with other italian and international masterpieces of art from the last century ("novecento" is the italian for '900). The path is linear and there's an amazing view point over duomo square and cathedral (together with a panoramic cafeteria)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oasis in duomo square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I had planned to come here anyways, but was rushed in when I was nearly mugged on the Duomo square. It turned out to be a peaceful stop well worth the 5 euro entry fee. The collection has many works by Boccioni, de Chirico, and Morondi, just to name a few. It explains why there are so few Boccioni works in other museums, because most of them are here. There is a similar feel to other modern art museums such as Guggenheim, MOMA, or Pompidou, and the top floor has a great view of the Duomo square.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting for the Duomo and square, museum fine too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The museum itself if nice and displays interesting modern paintings and sculptures. But the bonus is what I applaud - get to the floor just below the top, take one of the seats and enjoy great views of the Duomo (cathedral), as well as of the square with the beggars (African "luck-bringers" with strings), in an air-conditioned room.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museo del Novecento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo del Novecento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.