We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your name isn't Rockerfeller....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Spadari al Duomo to your Saves list
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wiltshire, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If your name isn't Rockerfeller....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

The city centre location is perfect – 200m from Il Duomo. I followed Centro signs from the Autostrade and easily found the hotel down a side-street just before turning into Piazza Del Duomo.
On arrival we were greeted by a porter who took our luggage and happily parked our car for us in the hotel's car park ($15 euros a night – which I consider excellent for such a city centre location).
We booked through the hotel's own website at the same price as the major internet agencies and were pleased to be told on arrival we were receiving an upgrade (coincidence?). The room was on the sixth floor at the back of the hotel and had a balcony having small potted trees and shrubs, roses and a table and chairs. The view was uninspiring but a beautiful suntrap in the afternoon. The room though quite small was beautifully decorated in the modern style with small flat-screen tv and had crisp expensive feeling bed-linen. The bathroom was bright, attractive and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is included and is served to your table in the small restaurant. It is in the continental style and of good quality. The same breakfast is offered at no extra charge in your room. The location means we did hear some traffic noise early in the morning
The hotel's staff were very friendly throughout and always happy to offer help and assistance (for example, going through in detail and giving maps to show me how to get to Malpensa airport).
There is a free internet service available in reception for guests' use.
We paid just over £100 in August.
If your name is Rockerfeller then no doubt you'll be staying at a hotel at five times the price. If it isn't then The Spadari gets my highest recommendation on how a small 4* should be.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    256
    36
    10
    5
See reviews for
202
613
68
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

We stayed in the Spadari in July, 2006 for 3 nights. It is well situated for seeing tourist sights. We booked 2 months in advance. For over 210 euros a night, we got a very dark room with a tiny closet and no drawers. I peeked into other rooms and most were like ours.There is only one person at the front desk at any time, so when there was a taxi strike and guests needed to make other arrangements for transportation, the clerk was overwhelmed.
This is a boutique hotel with "modern art"., trying too hard to be hip. Art, of course, is a matter of taste, but my husband and I found most of it ugly and offensive, especially in our room. To the hotel's credit the sitting and breakfast areas were well designed and pleasant..

There are other boutique hotels in the vicinity for a comparable price which are much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

I recently stayed over a weekend at the Spardari hotel, and I shall add my praise to that of other reviewers.

I booked a King room that was spacious and comfortable, decorated in cool shades of blue. The air-conditioning provided a welcome relief from the scorching heat out of doors. My room overlooked the street in front of the hotel, but I heard no noise from outside or within.

The reception staff were helpful and friendly, providing good directions and recommendations to several excellent nearby restaurants. They all spoke excellent English, as did the staff in the breakfast room. Breakfast (included in the price) offered a nice array of fresh fruit, cereal, rolls and pastries, and eggs cooked to order.

The location simply can't be beat. It's literally right around the corner from the Duomo metro station which gives direct access to both the central station and to the station serviced by the Malpensa Express trains to the airport. This was particularly handy as the taxis were on strike the weekend I was in Milan. The Duomo, Galleria and Teatro alla Scala are all just a short walk away.

Not only would I recommend the Spadari Hotel, I'd ask, "Why stay anywhere else in Milan?"

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

My husband and I spent our last night in Italy at Hotel Spadari in Milan. We booked through the hotel web site and received a rate lower than what was advertised. The hotel was responsive to our reservation request as well as a follow up e-mail several motnhs later to confirm the reservation and ask logistical questions.

The hotel is ideally located. It's easy to get to - we opted to take a quick metro ride from Milano Centrale. If you have large luggage or numerous bags, I would not recommend doing this. The hotel location is excellent especially if you have a short time in Milan and want to see the major sights.

When we arrived we were warmly greeted by 3 women at the front desk. They offered to make dinner reservations, mapped out how to get to some of the sights and shops we wanted to go to and assisted with our arrangements to travel to the airport the next day.

The hotel lobby and breakfast area are nicely furnished. The hotel has 40 rooms and we stayed in a superior room on the third floor. The room was nicely decorate in different shades of blue with a very nice bathroom and full power air conditioning. We did not have any problems with noise from other rooms or the street. Even the wake up call was pleasant. The free breakfast in the morning was surprising good with a wide array of food.

The only bad thing was that we only stayed one night!
I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2006

We stayed in this hotel just two nights, but we immediately had a very positive impression: from the outside (modern and design inspired, as the hotel's philosophy), to the inside, with a little lounge area with free internet connection and the beautiful breakfast room.
We had a superior room at the highest stage, so we had a very nice view on Milan's Dome; the room was clean with very nice furniture, and we had jacuzzi. The big plus is a vast choice and delicious breakfast that can be served in room for free. We really had everything we need to spent fantastic days just in the center of the city.

  • Liked — Design
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Spadari for two nights and were really pleased with our choice after making a last minute change. It is in an excellent location for central Milan - close to the main shopping areas (including the Golden Triangle!) and just around the corner from the Duomo. We especially enjoyed taking advantage of the Italian lunch break by stocking up on goodies at Peck (literally next door) and having a picnic in our room. The room was really clean and nicely decorated, although we found the bed a little hard. There was also a little bit of noise in the morning from other rooms. Staff were very friendly and recommended a lovely restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was also good.

I would both recommend and stay at the Hotel Spadari again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

We began our first trip to Italy at the Hotel Spadari and were so impressed that I kept telling my mom we would be disappointed with all of the future hotels during our stay. We found the Spadari to be exactly as reviewed on this site. I had been nervous because I booked the hotel at a discount rate through a big travel site and wasn’t sure we’d get the same quality and treatment. From the moment we arrived until we left, everything was just great. The room was beautiful (much nicer than most American hotel’s we’ve stayed in) and large in size. The bathroom even had a massage shower—though I couldn’t quite figure out how to use it. The location was ideal for our quick stay in Milan. We were able to walk to the Duomo and Galleria at night to get the Gelato recommended by Rick Steves. The following day we were able to explore the Peck Deli (recommended) right next store and still get to our tour on time. Staff was great, friendly, and very accommodating. I asked if breakfast was included even with the special rate and they really wanted to serve us. We got great service and a great room. We’d recommend it to anyone else considering the Spadari. Lastly, if you’re looking for a good snack food recommendation—we recommend Luini’s (sp?) (listed in Rick Steve’s and Eyewitness Travel). It was a little hard to find, but well worth it for the great panzerotti.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Spadari al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Address: Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spadari al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Spadari al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spadari Al Duomo Hotel
Spadari Al Duomo Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spadari al Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.