We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stated - The Perfect Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Spadari al Duomo to your Saves list
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zug
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply Stated - The Perfect Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Traveling in Europe comes with some challenges when you have a large family (we have three children). We typically try to find a holiday rental or an Agriturismo but in Milan (within the city center) there aren't many options so a Hotel is typically the best option. Without a doubt, Hotel Spadari is the best option in Milan. The staff are friendly, the rooms are charming, and the service is unlike anything I have experienced in a hotel in Europe. Drinks in the minibar (the non alcoholic options) are free as is breakfast and internet access. The breakfast is more than the typical continental breakfast and also includes freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs and bacon made to order (or ham) and nice selection of pastries, cereals and yogurts.

The hotel is located near Duomo and within walking distance to the Quadrilatero della Moda and Sforzesco Castle. Next door to Hotel Spadari is a gourmet grocery store, Peck, where you can find a great selection of fine Italian wine, cheese, pasta and much more - everything you need for a picnic. There is a 5 Euro charge to drive into the city center but getting to the hotel by car isn't a problem. You simply park your car in front of the hotel and the hotel staff will take care of parking for you. There is a 35 Euro fee per night for parking but the hotel is easily accessible via train/subway.

Without a doubt, my family and I will be back.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms are well lit and have a great view but you will get more street noise if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    256
    36
    10
    5
See reviews for
202
613
68
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Where do I begin? All of the staff was amazing, we seemed to interact with Leticia (sp?) the most. She was most helpful with our questions and gave excellent directions. The breakfast with eggs to order was more than sufficient in variety and exceptional in quality. The room on the eighth floor was perfect, the view is worth the extra set of stairs. Our teenage daughters had a room on the third floor which was also a great room. The location was perfect, we will be back for another visit. I honestly don't know what else to add, we WILL be repeat guests.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

First time visitors were made very welcome by the staff. Very helpful with suggestions and directions. The breakfasts were just great. Yes, it's bar and restaurant are not much but then you have he whole city to explore. Would go back in a heart beat.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palo alto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is our second time at this hotel and would definitely stay again next time we're in Milan. Super friendly, helpful staff. Wonderful breakfasts (they even provided a terrific bagged breakfast the day we needed to leave for the airport at 4:00 AM) and the location can't be beat!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Spadari for our 30th Anniversary and had a lovely time. The staff at this Hotel are outstanding. There are so pleasant and can't do enough for the guests. We were slightly early and our room was not quite ready, so we were treated to a coffee and pastries. The location of this Hotel is the main selling point as it is not far from all the main attractions and if you ever have the pleasure of going to Milan this is the place to stay. Would highly recommend Hotel Spadari.

Room Tip: We were on the Fifth Floor and did not hear any traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The property itself was outstanding - clean, roomy, a fantastic staff, a great breakfast and a location that could not have been better. There were six of us, so we had 2 triple rooms. The rooms accommodated us and all our luggage comfortably. The shower in the bathroom was unbelievable - water coming at you from 3 different sources - talk about great water pressure! This hotel was definitely a big hit with all 6 of us (ages12.14.16.47.70 and 72). Side note - great gelato place right next to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckand
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in the Spadari for the last two nights of our 7 week trip around Italy and surrounds.

It was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in and we wished we could have stayed longer.

From the initial greeting by friendly and helpful staff to the simple check out it ran perfectly.

Our room wasn't ready so we were given coffee, snacks and an English newspaper. Yeh!
The snacks and fruit were available all day which made waiting very pleasant.

Our room was a bit disappointing for the hotel standard. Though the beds were very comfortable they were standard single and I felt as though I might fall out. King singles would have been a better choice if you have to have separate beds.
They provided two luggage racks. So necessary and not very often offered.

Bathroom was good with room for toiletries. Shower standard. Having read other reviews we wondered about our room which was meant to be superior. Never mind, it was ok.

The breakfast was extremely good, one of the best we had in Italy. Friendly and helpful staff and a very good selection. Loved the peach juice.

There was also a dinner service at night which was convenient but expensive and not up to the standard of many of the nearby restaurants.

The location of the hotel was excellent. Couldn't want better. Even though it was so handy to all attractions, it was quiet and low key. A perfect boutique hotel concept.
Wifi was free and quick and easy. It also worked all the time we were there. This is not a given in Italy. Snacks, water and soft drinks were included in price which we found convenient.
Definitely recommended, we would return.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not have twin beds unless you are very little! There were rooms with better views w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Spadari al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Address: Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#6 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spadari al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Spadari al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spadari Al Duomo Hotel
Spadari Al Duomo Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spadari al Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.