We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel, Great Location and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Spadari al Duomo to your Saves list
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel, Great Location and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is wonderful!! Located in the historic area steps away from the Duomo and in the heart of the shopping district. The famous gourmet store Peck is right next to the hotel and the Duomo subway stop is nearby.

This is a smaller hotel but has all the amenities you could ask for, free wifi, comfortable beds, flat screen tv, spacious modern bathrooms, spotlessly clean, the staff is friendly and helpful and English is spoken. Free English language newspapers are available in the lobby.The front desk is helpful with tourist information, taxis, and restaurant recommendations. Like another reviewer, we took the hotel's recommendation of Hosteria Borromeo which was a short walk from the hotel and very good food and atmosphere.

The room cost includes breakfast which is served from 7:30 to 11:00 am. The breakfast consists of wonderful cold buffet of meats, cheeses, fruit, pastries, yogurt, cereal, toast and jams, plus you can have eggs made to order if you like. Fresh coffee (american,espresso or capuccino) and a large variety of teas and fresh squeezed fruit juices are served to you at your table. The breakfast area also serves as a bar later in the day -- you can get a drink (additional cost) and snacks here before dinner.

Our room on the seventh floor was quiet and spacious by European standards. There was an room safe and a hair dryer.

Overall this hotel was a wonderful choice and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    226
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
175
547
60
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days attending La Scala ring cycle. Rooms are beautiful modern attractive with original artwork. What makes this hotel is the staff. Yolande was receptionist and concierge on duty when we needed help with various things from printing, scanning etc business documents to booking tours, she (and her colleagues) were complete effective, unflappable and courteous.

Similarly all the staff who produced and served the delicious breakfasts. Many thanks to all would stay again if lucky enough to get back to Milan and La Scala. Great location for all major city center sightsl

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for two nights at the end of a 14 day driving tour of Italy before flying back to London.

The hotel was ideally located, just a short walk from the Piazza del Duomo where the Milan Cathedral is located as well as the Via Dante the lovely pedestrian thoroughfare with shops and outdoor restaurants.

The room we had was well appointed, comfortable king size bed and of a good size. When I was booking hotel rooms for my visit to Italy I focused on room size as well price and the 280 sq ft room was more than adequate to accommodate all the luggage we had and still be able to navigate the room.

The hotel staff were very friendly and obliging. Breakfast was the standard Italian fare and they even provided eggs cooked to your choice which is not something you find in that many hotels in Italy.

For our first night the hotel staff referred us to the Hosteria Borromei, a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The food was very good, so much so we went back the second night we were there.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel if needing to stay in Milan.

Room Tip: Check the size of the room first before making a booking. A 280 sq ft room although not overly large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for one night in this hotel, and we wish it could have been more.
The room was massive, with two queen size beds and a fabulous view over to the Duomo.
The receptionists were charming. The cocktail hour is a great touch, and the breakfast was excellent. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the last night of a special 10-day trip to Italy for our 25th anniversary. The staff at this hotel bent over backwards to make it the best night of our trip, with excellent restaurant recommendations and even a bottle of sparkling wine, gratis. The location is ideal- only steps from the Duomo and Milan's prime shopping areas. Our room, on the 7th floor. was extremely comfortable and large by Italian standards. We had the "special shower" with 2 shower heads and a waterfall/rain feature which felt luxurious after 9 nights of itty-bitty corner showers. And I think for the location, size and amenities, the room rate was very fair. And again, the staff at the front desk was some of the best we've ever had. Brava!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Having stayed at the Principe on my last trip to Milan I was a little worried about the hotel (we chose it for a better location, but did not know what to expect). We were pleasantly surprised by incredible service (before and during our visit) and comfortable accommodations. The staff went out of their way to help us with restaurant recommendations and reservations, day trip planning and tickets. Taxis were very easy to come by, although the location resulted in not needing them very much. Highly recommended, we will return!

Room Tip: We paid for a room with a balcony, but the view wasn't great and the balcony was very small. Ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

and very helpful staff. We arrived early in the morning and they were able to have our room available by 11 am which was very good since we had been flying the whole day prior to our arrival. The rooms are on the small size. The staff was very friendly and helpful; they recommended 3 restaurants for dinner and we enjoyed them all. Nice snacks available and a good breakfast. A very nice stay.

Room Tip: We had a little balcony which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Spadari al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Address: Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#2 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spadari al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Spadari al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spadari Al Duomo Hotel
Spadari Al Duomo Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spadari al Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.