We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Spadari al Duomo to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 433 hotels in Milan
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Simple elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We made a small mistake of booking a hotel away from the city centre during our last visit to Milan so this time around, we made sure that we did not make the same mistake twice. Trams are quite convenient here but still there is no comparison in staying at a hotel that is centrally located. Hotel Spadari al Duomo was exactly what we were looking for. It's just a brick's throw away from the Duomo and more importantly, it's where all the actions are!

The rooms is nicely appointed with this sea blue theme, which is simple yet very elegant. The bathroom almost matches the size of the bedroom and even has this nice bath tub at the corner. Everything in the minibar is included in the room price. All in all, very impressive!

The location of the hotel is unbelievable. It's right next door to the Duomo, Galleria Vittoria Emanuele II among other tourist hotspots. Apart from shopping, there were plenty of dining options available nearby. We dined at the famous Peck Cafe and Bar which was just 20m away and we have enjoyed a pretty good meal there.

Breakfast was excellent as they have quite a large variety of parma hams, bread, juice etc. It's definitely one of the best breakfast we ever had.

Valet parking is available upon request though not cheap at Euro 40 per day. But we were travelling to multiple cities by car so it's definitely comforting to know it as an option.

Service was outstanding from start to finish. The front desk even insisted to help us confirm a lunch reservation at Rubano the day after. We would definitely come back for another stay next time we are in Milan!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    752
    206
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
157
499
58
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was our 3rd stay and did not disappoint. Location is perfect, breakfast divine and staff SO helpful. Only niggle is the bathrooms are starting to show wear although the products are fab and even I could use them with all my skin allergies THANK YOU

Room Tip: Spemd as much as you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed in room 42 April 30-May 3, 2012. The hotel is in a perfect location - around the corner from the Duomo, a few blocks away from La Scala, near Galleria Vittoria Emanuele II. The room is beautifully appointed in soothing colors. We had a king size bed with an unbelievable shower (so many spigots) with a good hairdryer and nice toiletries.Breakfast is wonderful buffet - you can even order eggs! The front desk could not have been more helpful and friendly - so willing to answer questions and give suggestions. We walked everywhere whether it was raining or sunny (when it rained the hotel supplied us with umbrellas). If I return to Milan I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We've had the best weekend at Hotel Spadari al Duomo. Arrived on Thursday and leaving tomorrow, Tuesday, so a really good test of the facilities and staff. No complaints at all!
The room is spacious, king sized comfy bed, lounge suite, excellent bathroom with double shower and a bidet, opening double glazed windows, and serviced twice each day.
The staff are outstanding, with good command of English and very patient when I want to practice Italiano. The breakfast is great, with plenty of continental and hot choices, and real coffee! The bar is open all day and evening, and light meals at fair cost available throughout the day.
Theatre tickets, dinner reservations, booking a visit to The Last Supper, nothing is too difficult for Elise, Julie, Iolonde and the rest of their team. 
And the location is so central, only 2 minutes to the Duomo, the hop-on hop-off bus, La Scala etc.
Shaz and Gerry

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

....to spend the final 5 nights of our three week travels. The location couldn't be better as it has easy access to the Metro, close to the Duomo and all sights. The staff is warm and friendly and you will find someone is always willing to help with a smile. Bruna is lovely. The attention to detail shows in every aspect. The cook to order eggs are excellent and the breakfast variety fresh and complete. Again service is always with a smile. The In room amenities are plentiful. We have walked everywhere in this wonderful city. We will certainly stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

There is a good reason why this is one of the top rated hotels in Milan. So many things scream perfection. The bedroom and bathroom are both well designed and very clean. The turndown service included a plate of strawberries and apricots, and foot towels by the side of the bed. The minibar includes free non-alcoholic beverages and snacks. The room rate includes a lavish buffet breakfast, including cooked to order eggs, and outstanding hot chocolate. The bathroom has a stool with a padded towel covering, and two cups to hold toothbrushes. The bathroom also has a cloth bag with tons of goodies: a sponge, cotton balls, Q-tips, a shoe cleaner, shower caps, emery boards, lotion, shampoo, conditioner, and a sanitary bag. There is free Wi-fi. Our room had a nice balcony with plants behind the shower/tub. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful, and made great recommendations.

The hotel is in a great location. It is near the Duomo and two metro stations, and many tram and bus lines.

Only a few minuses: Only one side of our bed had a reading lamp; and the doors to the hallway had poor soundproofing.

I will stay here again on any future trips to Milan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from Via Spadari, it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Excellent small independent hotel, very near to Duomo. Nice touches like plate of fresh fruit in the room upon arrival, and story book in three languages. Leather furniture. Very accomodating staff, especially at the front desk. Genuine smiles!!! Lovely breakfast. We had two rooms, both with balconies. Original artwork. Subway within walking distance, and tram right in front. But location allowed easy walking to Duomo, Brera art museum, etc.

Note, no gym but desk will arrange to send you to a related location at no charge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Spadari al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Address: Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#3 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spadari al Duomo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Spadari al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spadari Al Duomo Hotel
Spadari Al Duomo Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spadari al Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;