We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulgence sheer indulgence......and a very guilty pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Principe Di Savoia to your Saves list
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 427 Hotels in Milan
england
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Indulgence sheer indulgence......and a very guilty pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

From the very moment you enter this hotel foyer you know this is a very serious place to stay, incredibly luxurious, fantastically decorated, and lovingly offered, with service that is second to none, staff who care and want to make your time special in every way.
The rooms are generous and well laid out, the proportions offer great value, with several options available, dining is an experience worth having, little things like the toiletries have spared no expense, and almost very aspect of the hotel says welcome.
I particularly liked the suite we had, wide doors, to the very big bed, comfortable lounge area and dressing room, the bathroom was seriously nice.
Breakfast was a delight, the conservatory was spacious and refreshing, and i have to say the leisure facility was a place to totally unwind , All in all though not the cheapest of hotels this was worth every penny, outside the doorman efficiently brought transport that was fast and effortless, a short drive italian style took you to the Centre where you find the wonderful galleria, shops and restaurants that so reflect the image of all that one would expect from milan, enjoy...

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for an upgrade.....i did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear saturnia,
It is with immense gratitude that I read your review and myself and all the team of the Hotel Principe di Savoia are honored that your experience was exceptional under every aspect. We sincerely hope to have you again soon as our Guest and to further exceed your expectations.

Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    197
    59
    19
    20
See reviews for
110
347
74
317
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Rooms luxury as good as it gets. Great breakfast. Ready to serve special needs like no gluten. Friendly and helpfull staff. Short taxi ride to Duomo and La Scala. It would have been nice to be closer to town, no real reason to be in the piazza Republic area.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Imalivest,

Greetings from Milano. Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is with great joy that I read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Principe di Savoia. I understand your concern regarding the location and if we will have the pleasure of having you back as our Guest we would be delighted to show you also all the wonderful shops, bars and restaurants that are adjacent to the Hotel.

Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager – Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed several times in the Principe and the first time I was a bit taken aback, by the bit old fashioned styling. Now I have stayed several times and I feel that the Principe has a slightly snobbish appeal, but from all the 5 Star hotels that I know in Milan it has the best price / quality ratio.
Restaurants are excellent (so is breakfast). Concierge service it great!! The only thing I would say is avoid a standard room and yes always check your bar bill very well to avoid surprises the staff there is sometimes a bit over challenged.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Sepp-Perlmoser,
thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to provide us with this precious feedback.
Please do let me know if you have any concerns and I'll be glad to follow through.

I sincerely hope that after your next stay the title of your review will be "I am starting to love it".
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Principe di Savoia.

Warm Regards,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager - Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

OK, not exactly classic frescos in our room, but lovely Italian art on walls and ceilings. Every now and then I've stayed at some beautiful hotels that had decent art on the walls, but staying in the Principe we were literally surrounded by Italian paintings. The first person we met at the hotel was one of the managers (I believe his name was Ewan.) We had been on various planes for 15 hours or so and unfortunately looked it. Ewan greeted us like long lost relatives, upgraded us to a suite and then personally escorted us to our room! If you want to understand why Milan is one of the world's great centers of fashion and design, the Principe provides an excellent gateway. I was lucky enough to be in Italy during the "mushroom season" (October - November) and the chef in the Principe's restaurant made us a dish with fresh pasta and Porcini mushrooms that was about as good as it gets. Clean, quiet, close to many fascinating spots and with a staff that is unfailingly helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Had a great stay in this hotel but when checking out we found out that we had been charged for one breakfast which we were told when checking in would be included in our room rate. When we complained the charge was removed. Staff were friendly and helpful and food was great, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you want to stay where royalty and superstars do then this is the hotel for you! It's Royal Suite has to be seen to be believed. It's truly palatial with a its own internal corridor connecting the bedrooms, dining room, kitchen (not that you need one if your staying in this suite!) and lounge... but best of all the corridor takes you to your own private swimming pool. You can open windows from the lounge to the pool as well making this the ultimate party room! But never mind all of the above - you need to stay in this hotel to experience its staff, who are outstanding! So thats five stars from me on style, comfort and service!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in November and was very satisfied in the end. The hotel is located near the central train station, which is very convenient for those who like daily trips to near by places!
It is also walking distance to the centre of Milan where the sites and shopping streets are located. The rooms where very clear and spacious, the bathroom was magnificent and the lobby beautiful! Generally the staff was very pleasant, kind and helpful which adds even more to the hotels value.
In the ground floor , there is a very hot bar that gathers all the elite young and old outgoing people of Milan! Should definitely go there for a drink.
The only thing that i would suggest the hotel management to reconsider are the prices for the room service! Prices for ordering lunch or dinner in your room was prohibitive and extraordinary.
Generally, i would surely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Dioufismos,
thank you so much for your review about your recent stay at Hotel Principe di Savoia.

I am delighted that you loved staying with us and I hope you had the chance to try our complimentary services, such as the limousine shuttle to the city centre and the Spa.
We are particularly proud of our Bar, which is a reference point during events such as the fashion week.
Lastly, please note that your comment about room service has been duly noted.

We look forward to welcoming back you and your partner soon.

Sincerely,
Ezio Indiani
General Manager, Hotel Principe di Savoia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Principe Di Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Milan
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#6 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Di Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular landmark palace has been the natural home for international travellers and cosmopolitan society since the 1920s. Recently refurbished by world-known designers, Hotel Principe di Savoia offers a winning combination of classic Italian design and the latest technology. The famous shopping district is nearby, while the hotel looks directly on the new Porta Nuova business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Savoia Milan
Principe Di Savoia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Principe Di Savoia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.