We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel et de Milan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel et de Milan to your Saves list
Grand Hotel et de Milan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Manzoni, 29, 20121 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb hotel and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My family(my wife and our son of 8 years)and i stayed in this superb hotel for two nights. The check-in flawless and we had booked junior suite. One of the staff member's showed us to the room. Beautifully laid out room. Lot's of space and good size bathroom. Very good quality of amenities in the bathroom. Not like some large hotels that use generic brand.

Superb location, as it just five steps!!!! from the hotel to world of shopping paradise.Few minutes walk to Duomo and the Opera house.

Excellent choice for breakfast and i learned couple new coffee names from the staff. The restaurant also has a patio, so you can sit outside.

Dinner at Don Carlos was very good. The restaurant manager was not only accommodative, but was also understanding, for our specific diet requirement. The staff was always smiling and were close by any time.

The room and the bathroom were spotlessly cleaned.

This hotel brings back the olden days, where staying in hotel was very personal and staff just did not work there, but were part of the family who ran or owned the hotel.

I would reccomend this hotel, to anyone who wishes to experience "The Golden age" My son who is only 8 years has travelled with us from the time he was 6 months, only twice he has said, "papa can we come back to this hotel again" first time was at the Four Seasons in Vancouver and second time in Grand Hotel er de Milan.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment on your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Et De Milan. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your experience here, our restaurants and the services we offer.

We always do our utmost in making the experience of each guest special and your kind words will certainly motivate us to keep up the good work and do whatever possible to make our guests’ stay unique.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family again soon, I send you my best regards.


Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    62
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
47
93
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have been coming back here since i was a small kid and my parents used to take me here for their business trips to Milano. Every time I enter the lobby I feel like going back in time, in a period of great wealth, class and pride in great service...

Room Tip: Ask for the room That the great composer Verdi used to sleep in, it's a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment and for keep choosing our Hotel during your stays in Milan; we always try to keep the atmosphere untouched and we are delighted to learn that you appreciate it.

Your kind words motivate us all to do our very best in satisfying our guest in the most personalized way.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon I send you my best regards.


Antonio Cailotto
Direttore Generale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights whilst on business. The hotel is located centrally about 5 minutes walk from the Duomo & La Scala Opera House. The hotel itself is the oldest working hotel in Milan and is situated in the fashion district (next to Armani Hotel). The room I had was spacious, comfortable with a small Venetian balcony and a large bathroom with bath & shower. The staff were really attentive and helpful and if it's not in use, happy to show you the suite where Verdi lived for many years (and unfortunately died). Breakfast was good and the restaurant was also very enjoyable. As city hotels go, this was quite "opulent" in it's style as opposed to functional. I would definitely stay again. Only reason for no 5 star was that I felt drinks etc were silly prices....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment on your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Et De Milan; it is a pleasure to learn that you appreciated the overall experience and the historical atmosphere of our Hotel.

We always try to preserve the heritage of the hotel and we are pleased to learn that you visited also our Verdi Suite, which is an essential element of the Grand Hotel Et De Milan.

Your kind words motivate us all to be our very best in satisfying our guest in the most personalized way.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, I send you my best regards.


Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

In a time when most hotels are a place to sleep and take a shower it is a pleasure to see a hotel that aspires to be something else and succeeds
This is what hotels used to be about and should be about
Beautiful rooms
Gracious service
Good food
A sense that your the guest is actually important and that your money was well spent
If only this weren't a vanishing breed

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the feedback of the Grand Hotel Et De Milan. It is a pleasure that you appreciated your stay and the services we offer.

We always try to do our best in making the experience of each guest special and you kind words certainly make us feel like we are going in the right direction, giving us a positive input for the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, I send you my best regards.


Antonio Cailotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I've just been to Milan and stayed at the Grand Hotel et de Milan with my husband and another couple.
Despite the atrocious weather-the staff made us so welcome. The rooms were opulent and spacious. When I mentioned that we were all celebrating our 50th birthdays during the year-so this was a celebratory weekend for all 4 of us- we were surprised with a chilled bottle of Prosecco and a beautiful generous Tiramisu cake delivered to our room! They even provided a cake box to bring the rest of the cake home! The staff are all exceptionally professional and nothing was too much for them. We had a delightful stay and would happily return or recommend to friends. The location is also fantastic. Close to La Scala and the Duomo. But the Metro was very handy especially to escape the downpours -but still get around.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the feedback of your stay at the Grand Hotel Et De Milan.

It is a pleasure that you appreciated your accommodation as well as our service.

We thank you for your kind words and we will keep doing our best in making each guest’s experience special.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, I send you my best regards.


Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel is nothing special, as far as Italian hotels go. Friendly staff, small entrance lobby, a bit dark and dreary. Room was nothing special. The main recommendation for this hotel is that it is smack dab in the middle of the action for Milanese fashion. We were there during fashion week, and this hotel hosted several related events. If you feel like a frumpy traveller, don't stay in this area; everyone, everywhere was dressed to the nines, sleek and beautiful. But, if you live and breathe fashion, and feel you're up to the challenge of out-fashioning the fashionistas, then you might want to stay here, or at a brighter, more notable hotel nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time and kind comments. You have certainly experienced Milan and your stay at the Grand Hotel Et De Milan during a very particular moment of the year, which is the Fashion Week.

It is true that fashion brings a number of events, glamour, excitement and vitality, nevertheless everything goes back to a much normal and quieter pace after few days.

We believe that you would see also our hotel under a different light and quite certainly be able to appreciate the charm of this 18th century Milanese Mansion.

We hope that your future travel will soon take you back to Milan and that, in such occasion, you will honor us with your visit again.

Sincerely,

Antonio Cailotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Just back from a long weekend in Milan. This hotel has so much to commend it. Good location, opulent decor, spacious rooms with oh so comfortable bed - but best of all the staff give you a genuinely warm welcome. All-in-all it was a real pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: Some first floor rooms have a balcony looking out onto a busy square or street but the rooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the feedback of your milanese weekend. It is a pleasure that you appreciated your stay at the Grand Hotel et de Milan, the rooms and our service.

Your comments are always helpful in order to keep satisfying our customers in the best way.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, I send you my best regards.


Moreno Pagetto
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel et de Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et de Milan

Address: Via Manzoni, 29, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel et de Milan 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of elegance where many famous people from the past have left their mark. Opened in 1863, the Grand Hotel et de Milan still holds its charm and allure as an old ‘Milanese’ mansion. It has been and still is the preferred hotel of many national and international celebrities from the worlds of culture,fashion, music, business and entertainment.Located in the heart of the town it is just a few steps from the fashion district, financial area and duomo cathedral. Due to its position and excellent bars, restaurants and halls, the Grand Hotel et de Milan is the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel et de Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel et de Milan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.