We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding historic hotel with traditional values” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel et de Milan

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel et de Milan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel et de Milan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Manzoni, 29, 20121 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 432 hotels in Milan
New Forest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding historic hotel with traditional values”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Located only a few minutes walk from La Scala and the Duomo, this historic hotel exudes charm, courtesy and unostentatious service. The Don Carlos restaurant has a great atmosphere and serves authentic Milanese cuisine of the highest standard. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and it is an oasis of calm. Our room was conservatively furnished and comfortable, with high quality fittings and an efficient, quiet a/c system. Excellent buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard on the Fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    53
    25
    11
    2
See reviews for
36
75
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spend long weekend in Milan and this hotel has the best and most convinient location to many top attractions. All in 5 to 10 min walking distance to La Scalla, famoust Duomo and Shopping arcade with all restaurants and shops. Hotel is old, but very well refurbished. We were upgraded to suite on top floor that was very comfortable with large bathroom. Restaurant Don Carlos is exellent and we spend every evening at cozy and famoust Jerrys bar. Service was very good, especialy all the concierge staff they made great recomadations and managed the impossible:- Tickets for Gisele at La Scala and viewing The Last Supper immediatly. They also recomanded climbing up on the roof of Duomo and restaurant at department store Reminiassente, where we spent lovely sunny afternoon enjoing delicious lunch and views of spirals of the Duomo. I have stayed in many hotels in Milano and this is my preffered one.

Room Tip: Suites are better choice, regular rooms that i saw as well are small. But thats usual for old europe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. It' right on the Golden Triangle and a five minute walk from La Scala and the Duomo. It is an old magnificent building, that has been extremely well renovated up to modern standards. It keeps the old atmosphere (don't forget that the great Verdi died there and Maria Callas was a frequent guest), without any compromises to modern amenities.

Our room (419) was ridiculously small, although very well furbished. One interesting thing that I liked a lot is the old cupboard facade that has been preserved. The bathroom was a surprise: one of the best that I have ever encountered. Classic in style, but modern in all its amenities. But the bedroom was so small that the bathroom door touched the bed when opened!

Breakfast is mediocre and you expect more from a five star plus hotel. They even charge you more for american style breakfast. The restaurant area that it is served is kind of dreary.

Staff is OK. Upon arrival, we waited for 20' because we were earlier than the normal check-in time. As we waited in the lobby, they didn't offer us something to drink, as usual in other five star hotels, but we were compensated by the willing main desk employee who showed us to our room.

One problem that they have and that they must resolve is the Wi-Fi connection that is available for ONLY ONE device per room, which is very inconvenient when you have a smartphone and a tablet or a laptop. They told me that they are trying to resolve it. I hope so.

Two remarks: In a hotel of such standards you do not expect to carry your luggage from the taxi to the lobby (because the doorman is talking to someone else), as we did. And you expect that they bring your luggage in your room, not someone else's, as they did with us.

And finally, the offer that we booked included free Wi-Fi and newspaper. The paper NEVER came and WE had to ask for another Internet voucher after the first 24 hours. But these are minor problems.

Definitely I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Opt for courtyard view rooms, since they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpage, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel et de Milan, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, we are pleased to learn that you have valued our location and history of the Hotel, as well as its design and classic atmosphere.

We would like to apologize for not extending an invitation for a drink while you were waiting for your room to be ready upon your arrival; our sincerest apologies also for the poor luggage and doorman service. Your comments have been useful and have been shared with the staff concerned to avoid similar situations in the future.


We would like to make a note on our records to ensure that you will be given a more comfortable and spacious accommodation on your next stay with us; please feel free to provide us the name under which the reservation was made, to enable us to add the adequate information for the future.

Your comments about the Internet and Wi-Fi service are perfectly understandable; unfortunately we are contractually bound to a private company until September 2013. We will surely manage from there on the system directly and accordingly we will be able to offer the Wi-fi service free of charge and limits.

We wish that you will visit us again in the near future, If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With kind regards,


Antonio Cailotto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I had an outstanding stay at the Grand Hotel et de Milan.
•The hotel and our room were spacious/beautiful.
•We had excellent dinners at both the hotel restaurant (Don Carlos) and a nearby restaurant recommended by the concierge..
•We were provided with a knowledgeable/personable guide for a tour of Milan.
•The concierge was very diligent in obtaining tickets to view The Last Supper..
•When we had difficulty on our last night with our flight reservations, the front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Hotel is located in an amazing place walking distance from all the shops.
The service is very high level. The staff is friendly and help full.
This hotel is my favortive in Milan.
The rooms are spacious and classical. Bathrooms great and good amenities in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were impressed by the staff from the moment we made the booking. The concierge team were the best we have encountered and were so helpful. The front of house staff made this hotel stay an enjoyable and relaxing experience. The rooms were good and the location perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We only stayed one night, but during our brief stay we were impressed with the staff of the hotel. They let us check in early, which is always nice after an overnight flight. Another staff member recommended a nearby cafe for a light lunch, and another gave us specific directions to the spot where our day tour was meeting. Our room was a little small, but this is a historic hotel. The room was clean and quiet and the bathroom was large. Breakfast was a very nice buffet serviced in a lovely room. I should mention we used points from our credit card to pay for the room, so perhaps that is why they gave us a smaller room. We did not think breakfast was included in our stayed, but they included it anyway, which was very nice of them. The location, as many others have mentioned is really hard to beat no matter why you are visiting Milan. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel et de Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel et de Milan

Address: Via Manzoni, 29, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 432 hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel et de Milan 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place of elegance where many famous people from the past have left their mark. Opened in 1863, the Grand Hotel et de Milan still holds its charm and allure as an old ‘Milanese’ mansion. It has been and still is the preferred hotel of many national and international celebrities from the worlds of culture,fashion, music, business and entertainment.Located in the heart of the town it is just a few steps from the fashion district, financial area and duomo cathedral. Due to its position and excellent bars, restaurants and halls, the Grand Hotel et de Milan is the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Grand Hotel et de Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel et de Milan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.