We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel - experience typical "italianità"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Segreti

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Segreti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Segreti
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Tomaso 8, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 432 hotels in Milan
Chur, Graubunden, Switzerland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel - experience typical "italianità"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We've been staying in this hotel for a weekend. It's located in an old building right in the heart of the city. The Duomo and La Scala are just a few minutes' walk away, also the fashion district ("Berumda Triangle") and some of the best shopping venues of the city. The hotel is great for couples and not ideal for families with children. So if you want to get away with your spouse and have a quiet and romantic time, then it's perfect.
The hotel is furnished in a tasteful combination of old and modern. We had a junior suite on the first floor (room no. 6). In the night, there was noise from the street below a couple of times. It didn't disturb us really, but for sensitive people it might be a better choice to ask for a room on a floor above. It was quite a huge room, with a spacious bathroom and a stand-alone bath tube. It was clean and equipped with a high-quality king size bed. We also liked the organic cosmetics they provided (shampoo, body lotion, soap, etc. from a local organic brand).
Breakfast was offered in a relatively small but very stylish room adjoining the reception, featuring only 5 tables. We were lucky to catch the last free table. We liked the italian pastries, the organic fruit juices and vast variety of fresh fruit they offered.
The staff was attentive and very friendly. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Palazzo Segreti very much.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room, then go for a room on the top floors 4, 5 or 6. Junior suits are spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guests,
thanks for your precious and positive review in Trip Advisor.
We appreciated your attentive cure of details, like our biological cosmetics or our genuine breakfast, we like a lot when clients notice these particular things, we're also happy to listen that you enjoyed stay here.
We hope you'll visit Milan soon and choose again Palazzo Segreti for your comfortable stay.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    59
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
112
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a lovely place, very stylishly designed but calming. (The grey walls with the wood floors and the dramatic lighting makes you feel a little like you’re in an Armani showroom.) The staff are friendly and helpful, with good recommendations for restaurants and advice about transportation, etc. The breakfast is great, with delicious coffee and well chosen pastries, yogurt, cereals, meats and cheeses, and the locations could hardly be better: about midway between the Duomo and the Castello Sforzesco and just a few blocks from La Scala. I do think some of the furnishing decisions in the rooms favor style over function a little too much: It would be nice to have a desk or table in the room for people who want to work, and even a chair would be nice. But that’s my only complaint about this relaxing and beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Client,
thank you for choosing Palazzo Segreti of Milan and for writing this precious comment about us.
We're glad you enjoyed stay here and we hope to see you soon..

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Palazzo Segreti is located just off Via Dante, you cannot be more central in Milano than this place. Great starting point for shopping or sight seeing.
The hotel has a 'secretive' charm, with its design of dark grey walls and floors, with indirect lights - it is different than the business hotels and the theme is well carried through. The interior of our room was colourful. The bed was very low, almost on the floor (not for older people) but for the rest it was all fine.
We had one issue, and that was with the heating. We were here in December and the bedroom was well warmed up - 24 degrees --- way too hot for us. I thought I turned it off when we went sleeping, but the room stayed hot. I did it several times during the night, until I called the reception hours later to hear that the room temperature is controlled centrally at the reception. They should tell that at check in
I read in many reviews that staff was friendly, but we felt not welcomed at all. Staff at check in was very grumpy and frankly just inpolite, and only when two days later other staff members took over the reception, we saw the first smile.
We travelled with a baby and we found the price of a child cot (30 euros per night) a record - never paid so much for a cot.
As to the breakfast - though in typical minimalist Italian style, the quality of ingredients on offer was very good and they were very fresh.
So all in all, great location, good breakfast, interesting design were the pluses. Grumpy staff, a strange heating system and the expensive child cot were the points for improvement.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for posting your experience and comments about your latest stay in our property and the service received.
For the entire organization is vital to receive feedback and suggestions from our customers in order to be able to put any remedies and amend any procedures, in order to avoid that such errors of form and substance may happen again .
I am sure that your feedback and suggestion will help us to improve our quality of standards especially in front desk department after talking to the person you mentioned .
We all look forward to welcome you again at the Palazzo Segreti to show you the improvements done.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in November, quirky sort of place but makes a change from the normal large hotels you find in the cities. Staff very friendly, rooms all clean and well equipped but did not have tea/ coffee facilities.

breakfast was a bit disappointing as this is buffet in the reception area, not much choice and as there are not a lot of tables you could need to wait for a seat. I would say the hotel would not suit families.

Very good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for choosing Palazzo Segreti of Milan and to have found time to put review on Trip Advisor.
We're so happy to read that you enjoyed stay here, we're trying every day to give to our guests the best we can to satisfy each customer.
Regarding our breakfast can be considered simple and genuine, every product is biological and come from high quality, we're putting new yummy things and we're sure you'll appreciate for your next trip in Milan.
We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Funky yet with real character. Palazzo Segreti would be the best overall hotel we stayed at during our 5 weeks in Italy.
Great staff, good breakfast with high quality produce - the juices are great and they make a terrific coffee. Great linen, towels and amenities really high quality. A proper double bed, not two king singles, and comfortable to boot.
Awesome position just off Via Dante and a very short walk to the Duomo and Brera area.
We were given some great restaurant ideas for lunch and dinner and they proved to be not just tourist restaurants, out of the way and frequented by regulars.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different have a look at each. Check their website for what suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalazzoSegreti, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Palazzo Segreti, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks to give us your positive review about Palazzo Segreti.
We're happy to listen you enjoyed stay here with us, hope to find time for another trip in Milan in Palazzo Segreti.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This small hotel is located in the center of Milan. It is very charming and warm and it is one of the most pleasent hotel I have ever been in Milan. I would definitively recommend it. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is very good

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I enquired about room 6, a junior suite, as the photo on the website appealed. When I emailed to check availability I was told all the junior suites (6, 12, 18) were booked for the night in question. They did have the "unique suite" room 8 available for €400 (the website was asking €500 for the suite so it pays to email...). The design of the room may not be to everyone's taste (I didn't find the "greyness" of the images on the website hugely attractive) but the room is in good condition and fun enough for a night or two. The bath is splendid, the bed very comfortable (felt a bit like "memory foam" - not sure if it was), the minibar complimentary (it sounded like this might just be a policy for the suite). The staff were delightful, and the complimentary breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Segreti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Segreti

Address: Via San Tomaso 8, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#28 Business Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#44 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Segreti 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Segreti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Segreti Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Segreti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.