We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Milano Solari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Milano Solari to your Saves list
Mercure Milano Solari
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pietro Orseolo 1, 20144 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase Offer
Ranked #74 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel, best part was hotel staff, despite of language problem they ensured service levels better then expected. Location is good and close to city centre. Rooms were little small for 2 individuals with luggage but clean and comfortable otherwise. Bathroom was better then expected as I was little worried after reading earlier reviews. Hotel is worth staying with reasonable priced.

One recommendation , we booked hotel through Accor website fully paid but surprisingly hotel charged taxes extra at check out. Normally we are used to full and final. Hence check taxes before booking.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmelioAurora, Sales & Marketing Executive at Mercure Milano Solari, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your good review. Your beautiful words make us proud and we are glad to know that everything was good and you appreciate it.

Regarding the extra taxes we have charged at checkout, we mention during booking time as well as in our website that the City Tax is not included in the room rate. This is a tax imposed by the city of Milan and is established based on the category of the hotel (5 Euro per person per day in the case of a four stars hotel). As in other Accor hotels and as required by the law of Milano city hall, we expose an official statement at the Reception desk where the rate of city tax are show and explain in dual language.

We will be delighted to welcoming you again in our hotel during your next stay in Milano.

A warm greeting from all the Mercure Milano Solari Staff.


Aurora Amelio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    281
    65
    16
    16
See reviews for
67
225
40
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Spent the weekend here, and the experience was great. One minute walk from the subway which takes you anywhere, and a ten minute walk down to the canals where you have great restaurants and bars. Friendly staff, very nice rooms and good breakfast. Located just outside the city centre gives you a quiet enviroment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmelioAurora, Sales & Marketing Executive at Mercure Milano Solari, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

that you very much for taking the time for let us know your opinion about your experience here in our Hotel.

We are very glad to know that everything was good and your stay meets your expectation.

We hope to welcoming you again during your next trip in Milano.

Best regards,


Aurora Amelio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a smart contemporary hotel for the mid to upper range client. The rooms were clean and stylish but small. By price per square metre - it is probably not very good value. Just as an aside - one lift was the narrowest lift I have ever been in with my shoulders almost touching on both sides.

This hotel makes it's money by the expensive add-ons. So be careful that you consider whether the room cost is actually the total cost of the stay including getting there.

My only problem with this place is the location. It is not convenient at all. Despite being advertised as being 'in the heart of the Fashion and Design quarter' i couldn't see any fashionable shops nearby... just graffiti wall to wall. On one side was an apartment building, on the other a pizza shop. It also doesn't help that it is not close to any metro.

The hotel may be 1.7km from the notional city centre but it is an 18 euro cab ride from Milano Centrale and a 21.9 euro cab ride to Linate airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmelioAurora, Sales & Marketing Executive at Mercure Milano Solari, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for inform us about your experience here at Mercure Milano Solari: for us the opinion of our Guests is very important and we regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations.

In our hotel we have 59 rooms of different typologies, starting from the single standard room up to one Privilege Suite, two lifts (one smaller respect the other), an Internet Point for the Guests and the Bar The Club One on the ground floor. Just 5 minutes walking from us there is the Metro station of Sant’Agostino (M2 – Green line), from which you can arrive very easily to Navigli (very famous area for the aperitif) or to the Central Station. If you desire arrive in Duomo or in Via Montenapoleone (famous for his shops) you can take tram 14 (the stop is just in front our entrance) and in 15 minutes you are arrived in the heart of Fashion quarter. In any case, you can find a lot of shops or design gallery near our hotel, for example in Via Tortona, Via Savona, Viale Coni Zugna or Corso Genova.

We would like to reassure you we have already put in place the necessary measures to guarantee that the standard meets your expectations. We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Your sincerely,


Aurora Amelio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Vic. Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Check in was a little disappointing due to the fact we booked 2 suites via Booking.com and were told when checking in that there is only one. A balcony room was offered to our single friend right across the hall from the only suite which was huge. A very spacious lounge, huge bedroom and bathroom with all required toiletries. The lounge area led onto a fantastic furnished terrace which was very private although there is a door leading from hallway which accesses it. Nobody did but would be a little disappointed if they had as this was advertised belonging to the suite. It did mean that although on a high floor we could not leave our doors unlocked as door from hallway could not be locked from either side. Breakfast was a little disappointing for the price but we did not go hungry. Our friend's room ticked all her boxes but she did say that if my husband and I had taken it with our large suitcases it would have been a very tight fit. Service was efficient if not the friendliest I have encountered but our needs were small and really did not need to use their services very much. Great position for the tourist although eating establishments in the hotel vicinity did not start service until 7pm which for some is fine but after a huge day of exploring we were ready to eat at 6pm and retire to our lovely suite. All in all a nice two night stay in the Mercure and would not hesitate to stay again if the need arose.

Room Tip: Suite 603 worth the money. It is huge with plenty of space to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmelioAurora, Sales & Marketing Executive at Mercure Milano Solari at Mercure Milano Solari, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your good review and for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at Mercure Milano Solari.

Our hotel has 59 rooms of different typologies, including only one Privilege Suite. When you have booked two suites via Booking.com, our Front Office Manager immediately told you via email that we have only one, but we are glad to know that you like and recommend it. We have preferred to assign to your friend the room in front of your giving you a better accommodation: a double room with a king size bed, not so huge as the Privilege Suite.

Regarding the terrace, we are afraid that there was this inconvenience but I would like to reassure you we have already put in place the necessary measures and fix it: now, the door from hallway is definitively locked then the nice terrace becomes to all the effects private of the Privilege Suite.

In our The Club 1 Bar on the ground floor we propose two different kind of breakfast: a continental one, much cheaper, easy and smart, and a classic buffet breakfast, so the Guest can choose the one he prefers . During the evening, the Bar propose from 18.30 p.m. some snack and cold dishes: ideal for customers that want take an aperitif or eat something light; all the other restaurant nearby and across Milano open at 7 p.m., as suggest by the Italian tradition.

We are still glad that your stay at the Mercure Milano Solari was up to your expectation and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Your sincerely,


Aurora Amelio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one day only, and I had a very positive impression about it overall. I had a single room so I was expecting a small room, however the room layout was very well done with space for luggage and a desk (I've been in hotels where in a single room you cannot even move). The bathroom was very spacious. Flawless cleaning.
I had breakfast there too and when I asked if they had any food for lactose intolerant people, they were extremely kind and helpful: they prepared something straight away just for me.So a special thanks to the guys working at the bar and kitchen who were super nice.
Overall a very pleasant stay.
Only small negative note: to get to the entrance there are a few steps, if you have a very heavy suitcase it might be an issue. However the guy at the reception was nice enough to carry my suitcase when I left.
It's rare to find such a nice and professional staff.
Last but not least, the underground station is less than a 5min walk away.
If back in Milan, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmelioAurora, Sales & Marketing Executive at Mercure Milano Solari at Mercure Milano Solari, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your very nice review. We are glad to know that everything was good and you appreciate it. It’s very important for us to meet Guests expectations ensuring the quality of all the services you expect from a Mercure hotel.

Your beautiful words make us proud and we will be delighted to welcoming you again in our hotel during your next stay in Milano.

A warm greeting from all the Mercure Milano Solari Staff.


Aurora Amelio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Milano Solari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Milano Solari

Address: Via Pietro Orseolo 1, 20144 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Milan
#50 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#63 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#74 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Milano Solari 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 59 rooms, including one suite, enjoy an elegant, stylish and contemporary setting. Along with tasteful decor and colors, each room offers all the features of an exclusive hotel: LCD TV, Pay-TV, high-speed Internet connection, free Wi-Fi in all communal areas, minibar, air conditioning, hairdryer and laptop safe. Rooms with balconies, non-smoking rooms and rooms adapted for guests with reduced mobility are available on request. The hotel has a private indoor car park, open 7am-11pm, and a meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Milano Solari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Milano Solari Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Milano Solari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.