We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Five

Save Saved
You added Hotel Five to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Five
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Lodi No4 | angolo Via Salmini, 20135 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 432 hotels in Milan
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cracking value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went back for a second stay at Hotel Five since 2010, everything still the same. Found out from their website that you can now have your car picked up and parked in a nearby car park for 20 euro a day. Was going to take advantage of this service but got there late Friday night and managed to find a blue-lined parking space just outside the restaurant underneath the hotel. You pay 1.2 euro to park there from 8 am to 7pm, Monday to Saturday, the wonderful thing is you can pay for the whole day! Did exactly that and off I went to the city centre without having to worry about putting in coins into the machine every hour.

Hotel Five is just 3 metro stops away from the Duomo without any need to change line, which makes it so convenient to get to the heart of Milan. Now that I know it is possible to stay there with a car, it will be very difficult to keep me away from this hotel.

Service was still top notch, room was clean, 2 complimentary bottles of water every day, WIFI reasonably fast, aircon freezing cold, mattress hardness just right, sound proofing was good, breakfast not one of the best but not one of the worst either.

Just one gripe - not a fan of any rainforest shower, but this is a very personal thing.

Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    144
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
106
26
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I work for a 4 star dulex hotel as a head of dept so I can be very fussy when I search for a hotel for myself. I wasnt sure staying in a small independent hotel but hotelfive is the right choice. I didn't use a booking site as the hotel offered special rate at its own website and it was reasonably cheap (but none refundable). All front line staff speaks English, clean simple but has all you need in the room, very close to the metro station (porta romana, line 3), plenty bar/restaurants near hotel, super market, tram line 9 etc etc. Breakfast selection is also good and the coffee...is just so good! Air conditioning is bit nosiy but I had ear plugs so not a problem at all. I would stay again for sure, and thanks again to all staff!! Ps - tourists' tax ?2 pppn will be applied (charged by milan tourist board something), not sure if I see this when I made a booking. But I was happy to pay as I meant to leave some tips for every one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for a night and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a 3 star but has a modern interior. We had a corner room so it was large. The bathroom was very clean and modern. The service at reception was very good. The location is very good as it is super close to the metro. There are some nice restaurants within walking distance. Would recommend this!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed only for one day in this hotel and we really regret this. Milan is a very nice city and the hotel is at a perfect location. Metro subway is the 10 steps away, which makes this hotel a more preferable.

The rooms are very nice , elegant and more importantly the stafsf are very HELPFUL, POLITE and Knowledgeable. they helped us with luggage loading and un-loading, Thanks to Alessandra, Keyhan and Luca for all their help.

We asked the hotel to book the taxi for us as we had to leave early morning to the airport a nd they booked it immediately, by this you can imagine how fast the staffs are.

Unfortunately we forgot the mobile in the taxi and to my surprise, hotel staffs were able to locate the taxi, the phone and even helped us courier the phone all the way to Dubai. Now what more you can expect from a hotel like this.

Me and my wife are really thankful that we chose this hotel and in future if we visit MILAN again, we are surely going to choose this hotel.

Hats off to the staff members and the HOTEL FIVE.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here two nights on a visit to Milan to go the Opera at La Scalla. This hotel is 7 metro stops from the train station and 3 stops from the Duomo. It is not touristy. Most of the guests seem to be European. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast excellent.

The room was clean and the bathroom modern and a good size. However, the room was small for a double and one night the Irish Pub across the street was noisy. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room that is not facing the bar across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights. Choose this hotel because it is near to Duomo. The hotel is located very near to P.TA. Romana metro station (yellow line), less than 5min walk and it is 3 stations away from the Duomo station. There are a few eating places near the hotel. It is located in a neighbourhood so it is not a touristy area, not crowded.

Clean bathroom, white bathrobe (not yellow or off-white). Breakfast was good, mini buffet style, stayed in a few hotels in Italy and this is the only one that has hot food like sunny side up eggs, hot dogs, etc and of course comes with the standard drinks, coffee and tea.

The only down side was, someone in the next door smoked and I can smell it in my room. Seems like the air flow system is not well designed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed two nights in this comfortable, clean , and chic hotel. The location is very handy as there are shops, restaurants, ice cream parlours and bars on your door step ( great atmosphere in the Irish Bar next door) . Tram and metro stops are minutes away too. Hotel staff are friendly and the breakfast is great. The rooms are modern and clean and very comfortable. Great Hotel and good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Five? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Five

Address: Corso Lodi No4 | angolo Via Salmini, 20135 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Milan
#13 Family Hotel in Milan
#20 Business Hotel in Milan
#35 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Five 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2010, Hotel Five is an elegant designer hotel in Milan located near the Porta Romana subway station, next to the wellness center “QC Terme Milano", and convenient to the Duomo, the Bocconi University and the contagiously lively Navigli areaThe metro station nearby is on the yellow line, providing links to the historic centre, Milano Centrale Train Station, and the trendy Navigli area.Hotel Five is just off the limited-traffic C area. Milan's Designer Hotel Five features roomy and comfortable soundproofing rooms with free Wi-Fi and satellite TV, all personalized just like the best designer hotels, reflecting the sparkly style of this property, recently built. Everything of this allows Hotel Five guests to experience an extraordinary and comfortable stay, supported by top service and a young, professional staff.A varied American-style breakfast buffet is served every morning from 07:00 to 10:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Nozio Netplan srl, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Five reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Five, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.