We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to be...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milano Scala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Milano Scala to your Saves list
Hotel Milano Scala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell Orso 7, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice place to be...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

i spend 2 night in this hotel for a business meeting on the second week of march. The breakfast is very rihc, staff and barman very friendly. A very good location for business meeting.
Room is a little small, but good shower, and bath accesory.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    158
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
106
41
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had a wonderful overnight stay with my husband and son. The hotel is in a fantastic location for visiting the Sforza castle, Piazza Duomo and many other attractions. It is also within walking distance of the restaurant district of Brera. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The roof top bar is very nice and Diego ( bar man) was very hospitable . The rooms are clean and comfortable , if not a little noisy ( housekeeping staff seem to enjoy dragging furniture around from 7.30 am) but this was only a minor issue that did not detract from the overall experience.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great location
Nice rooms
Friendly and helpful staff
Breakfast can be better
Roof bar can be noisy till 10 pm
Recommended for a nice stay in center next to duomo and galleries
Parking available
Good laundry service
Free wifi
Zero emiision hotel

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Visited Milano for a weekend with my husband. Location is great: 10 min from Milano Cadorna railway station, 5 min from La Scala and Duomo. The room was clean, bathroom as well (no tube, just shower - not the newest equiped so when in shower the water is everywhere in a room). The hotel has roof restaurant (very good and nice view) with direct connection from the rooms via the balcony. Balcony is common for all rooms with lovely flowers (when in blossom they are quite stinky so be sure you don't have allergy). My recommendation: if you ask reception staff to book you restaurant or smth else, check it 10 times before you go there. We had such unpleasant situation when we asked to reserve us a table in a good restaurant. They reserved us a table at Giovanni restaurant 15 min drive from the hotel (which is fine), but when we arrived there there were no reservation and everything occupied. At the end we found out that hotel staff booked us other Giovanni restaurant which was 5 min walk from the hotel but sent us to wrong place so we were traveling an hour and were sitting at the most touristic place at the end. Everything could heppened but when we told this to the hotel staff we expected at least appologise, instead we felt as we are the stupidest people in the world :) except for this issue everything was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Came on a business trip and the staff were very friendly. Very helpful and always polite. The breakfast area is tastefully set out and there is plenty of choice. At one meal we even had the Harpist playing which was great after a days business in the city.

Great location for getting to all the sights and for a great walk out in the city in the evening. Would happily book this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
196 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We went to LaScala so I wanted a hotel that we could walk from to the theater and this is perfectly placed in Milan for that. The hotel is lovely, quiet, clean and very well situated for visiting the Duomo and for shopping or any other sightseeing excursion. The room was large with a quality bathroom. Sleeping was uninterrupted and nice black out curtains. The breakfast was very plentiful with lots of choices. The only negative I give this hotel is that the night receptionist , that being evening into late night, was multitasking and trying to do to much with very little success . The service was rushed and incomplete and not helpful. Other than him, the staff was attentive and able to get the job done.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a gem of a hotel with a great location very close to the downtown areas of Milan and within walking distance of the popular shopping and tourist attractions. I stayed here for two weeks and the staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast spread is adequate, but doesn't ever change which can get boring by the end of the first week. The restaurant is top quality as expected in Milan, and room service is prompt and very tasty.

I also appreciated the Nespresso coffee machine in my room with complimentary coffee capsules everyday.

There were a few minor gripes, (i) the wifi signal was spotty, especially in room 606 where I moved for the last couple of days, (ii) they do not provide any drinking water in the room unless you specifically ask for it. Coming from Asia, I find this very strange, but maybe that's the norm in Europe, and (iii) for such an expensive hotel, I find it strange that the TV only has free to air news channels. I expect to get a full satellite TV package with English channels like HBO and sports, instead they only provided Al Jazeera, RAI, NHK World and BBC. Coupled with the spotty wifi, please ensure that you bring a good book

Room Tip: Very poor wifi signal on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Milano Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano Scala

Address: Via dell Orso 7, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milano Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first "0" emission Hotel in downtown Milan, the Hotel Milano Scala is a sophisticated boutique hotel featuring 62 rooms distributed on seven floors; 23 rooms have a view on Via dell’Orso, while the others face the inner courtyard and preserve the style and the charm of the old Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Escapio, Odigeo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Milano Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milano Scala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.