We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location and friendly service, but things "disappear" from the room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milano Scala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Milano Scala to your Saves list
Hotel Milano Scala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell Orso 7, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“nice location and friendly service, but things "disappear" from the room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A really convenient hotel for exploring Milan's historic centre and shopping district. The La Scala theater is a stone's throw away. The rooms are nice and clean, although a bit small. The sound insulation in the rooms is not that great, and you keep on getting woken up by sound of footsteps in the corridor.
The staff in the restaurant and reception is nice. There's a decent spread for breakfast and it is accompanined by a live performance on harp or accordeon - really nice.
However, there were some really unpleasant moments as well. We had a really aggressive reaction from housekeeping lady when we asked her to clean our room - the room had not been cleaned for the whole day.
And some things appeared to have disappeared from our bags that were in the room.
So if you plan to stay in this hotel, make sure you lock up everything of value, however small, in a safe in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMS-Manager, Direttore at Hotel Milano Scala, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

what has really happened?

we have really appreciated your kind comments about the kindness of our staff, the rooms that are nice and clean, the perfect location and the really nice live performance during breakfast time.

Nevertheless, we remain really astonished about two sentences:

the first one is about your acute comment that “some things appeared to have disappeared from our bags”

The second is your warm suggestion “ so, if you plan to stay in this hotel, make sure you lock up everything”.

We love our job and achieve it with great passion and maximum care. Everyday we do our very best to improve the quality of service offered to our guests in oder to make their stay memorable.

Such ambiguous though serious comment and draconian suggestion, not only are questionable but injure seriously the reputation of our hotel, without giving us the chance to reply or react promptly to your complain during your stay.

We regret about your unpleasant moment and remain,

with Best Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    153
    36
    9
    4
See reviews for
25
100
39
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here in July 2012, close to the Duomo and other sights.
The musical accompanyment at breakfast was interesting, a good breakfast, lots of fresh chunky cut up fruit too, easier for people on the go.
Downside, our double room was small, as is the feel of the hotel. Bar prices high, paid 40 euro for two drinks, I recall a scotch and an apertivo, oh and you have to pay cash at the bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I often find that hotels in large Italian cities can be a little hit and miss but after following a recommendation for Milano Scala I can announce that my search for a good hotel in Milan is over. The staff a friendly, the room is comfortable, I can actually work the air-con, breakfast is pretty good and the location is central yet quiet.

Following on the issue of hard pillows, I would like to add that indeed they are. That is, one is very hard and I would assume only Barney Rubble to enjoy that one. The other one of the two you're given is moderately hard and I like firmer pillows.

I love the touch of the harpist at breakfast. Only cynics would say, 'Use that money to invest in a breakfast chef and serve up some omelets', but I quite like it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is perfectly located, close to the Brera, La Scala, the Duomo and the shopping streets. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast excellent by Italian standards (the harpist and the pro secco are a nice touch), and the service courteous. The hotel makes a big deal of being eco-friendly, zero-emission (whatever that means); so I was surprised to find that I couldn't turn down the heat in my vastly over-heated room. I asked reception three times to turn it down, and they went through the motions, but without making any difference. I compared notes with a Dutch guest in the bar, who said 'I've just taken to opening the window' -- a solution, to be sure, but not a very eco-friendly one. This seems like a trivial complaint, but it's really unpleasant to wake up sweating because of the temperature of the room. What are blankets for?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located near the duomo. It is clean and the staff are extremely friendly. I will definitely stay here on my return trip to Milan in the spring. I want to note, the single rooms are small, but absolutely adequate. The fitness center is also small, but again adequate.

It is not a "luxury hotel", but it definitely served the purpose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in October and liked it here very much. The staff are friendly and helpful, the decor is attractive and modern, the beds comfortable - as someone mentioned, the pillows are indeed very hard but you only have to ask and they will give you a soft one! Very nice breakfast, plenty of coffee and pastries and fresh fruit, with not-too-loud live music, a harpist or accordion player, it was delightful. If you have a room at the front you do hear quite a bit of traffic - it is a busy road, but then it's very central and well-placed for shopping etc. Would certainly return here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This one couldn't really be more conveniently placed, if its opera, shopping or culture you're after, the location of this hotel is perfect. This is also one of the best value hotel deals you can find in the city - I've been going to milan for years on business and often felt ripped off by many of the hotels i stay in, but this one beats them all hands down - great sized rooms, incredibly friendly and efficient staff, a fabulous little restaurant, and one of the nicest bartenders I've ever met in a milan hotel!
It definitely has more of a business traveller vibe here, so may not be a good option for families or longer stays, but for those nipping in and out of the city, I cant recommend this option highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Milano Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano Scala

Address: Via dell Orso 7, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milano Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first "0" emission Hotel in downtown Milan, the Hotel Milano Scala is a sophisticated boutique hotel featuring 62 rooms distributed on seven floors; 23 rooms have a view on Via dell’Orso, while the others face the inner courtyard and preserve the style and the charm of the old Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Escapio, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Milano Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milano Scala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.