We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montenapoleone apartment good for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brera Apartments

Save Saved
You added Brera Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brera Apartments
Via San Fermo, 1, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 135 Specialty lodging in Milan
Scarborough, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Montenapoleone apartment good for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our family of two adults and two boys, 6 and 8, stayed at the Montenapoleone apartment for 5 days. The location was quiet, a short walk to the fashion quarter, a longer walk to the Duomo but still easy with two young ones, the supermarket is only 5 minutes walk and the Red Metro is around the corner. You may have to walk more than 5 minutes to find the right place to eat but search and you will find many, some not so obvious. Alternatively take advantage of the apartment and eat in. Take note though there is no toaster and no dishwasher.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    8
    1
    6
See reviews for
17
48
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked to stay 4 nights in the Garibaldi Apartment in Milan February 2013. Having booked almost 9 months in advance we secured a very good rate of around 125 Euro per night. We arrived into Milan early morning on day one. From here we took a shuttle bus to Central Station (10 Euro pp) then a taxi to the "Hotel Solutions" office who manage the apartments. As our apartment was not yet vacated they took care of our luggage until 2pm.

We came back at 2pm and someone walked us the 10 minutes to the apartment. This was a bit of a pain with all our luggage, and despite the offer that they would drop the luggage at the apartment for us they didn't, and they didn't even offer to carry a bag on the walk.

None of that mattered as soon as we walked into the apartment. On a quiet street about 5 minutes walk from Moscova station, with a good variety of local restaurants the location is fantastic. About a 10 minute walk and you will be at Duomo. The apartment is a loft style, bright, yet fantastically heated for the winter. The first thing you notice when walking in is the glass floor of the bedroom above the dining/lounge area. Lots of windows provide plenty of natural light.

The apartment has everything you need. Free pay tv. Very fast and free Internet. A fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. The bed is very comfy (one suggestion would be a couple more pillows) Plenty of space for two people. Fantastic location, I don't think anywhere would beat it. Lots of supermarkets in the area plus the great little kitchen meant we cooked up a storm each night.

Keep in mind it is not a serviced apartment. That suited us fine. It made it feel even more like a home away from home. Forget a hotel this bets them hands down.

Room Tip: Garibaldi Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The advertising for these apartments is somewhat misleading and our apartment was on the periphery of Brera which meant much time was spent getting around. Our lodgings were uncomfortable and not suitable for more than 2 people but advertised as accommodation for up to 4 people. The website address for the Brera Apartments is not necessarily where they are all located.
There are other factors that contributed to a negative stay:
1. Management arrange to meet you at your apartment, politely show you around, hand over the keys and bid you farewell. Enjoy Brera and Milan - oh and without a city map. Enjoy that!

2. As a family of 3 adults we thought to book the Garibaldi apartment which is meant to accommodate up to 4 people. The apartment has a bed in an upstairs attic which you access via a tiny spiral staircase. Make sure you walk around hunch back once up there or you will knock yourself out with the low lying attic ceiling. The other bed was a pull out sofa which sits smack bang in the middle of the kitchen/living area. The bed was extremely uncomfortable with springs that could be felt through the mattress. Pillows are long overdue for replacement as are their towels which are paper thin.

3. Between the pull out sofa and our suitcases (which you could not take up to the attic bedroom due to the tiny spiral staircase) we were left with little space or comfort in the living/kitchen area.

Effectively what the apartment does offer is very basic accommodation for 2 people, not in the centre of Brera. At around 200 euros per night this does not add up to value for money. There are hotels in Brera (and indeed Milan) for much less than that and at least you have contact with a front desk person even if all you need are directions to the city centre.

Finally, a few words on the Brera district itself - we felt it had a lovely local Milanese vibe about it and once you get to the true Brera district which is just under a kilometre away from where we stayed, try the Happy Hour deals that many of the cafes and restaurants have on offer. For around 8 euros you get a lovely glass of wine and a huge selection of antipasto appetiser treats.
Also, make time for the Pinacoteca di Brera (The Brera Picture Gallery), this is a must see. The masterpieces in this art gallery are breathtaking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

One of the most beautiful locations I have ever stayed. The flat was great, clean and the service was very welcoming. In addition, Brera area is wonderful and it is close to Milan’s historic monuments and the shopping area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The apartment was located in the Brera district of Milan but close to the city centre, that you wouldnt notice the distance. The metro stop was close but it was nice to stay in the neighbourhood away from the crowds. Convenience stores are close by and some really good restaurants are very close too. The apartment itself was spotless and felt like a 'home-away-from-home' where everything worked perfectly. The service was very professional but friendly. We were very impressed with this place and would stay there again when visiting Milan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

if you love to be in a good part of the city, look no further!
Apartments is good, space, white, good coffee.
The apartment is white and clean, good for 2 people, i think 4 wil be to much.
But in the end you only sleep there.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrine, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently stayed four nights in this apartment and it really made our trip great. The location is very convenient with about a 5-10 min walk to two different metro lines. From the apt you can walk about 20 min or less and be standing in front of the Duomo. It is very well located to a number of nice restaurants and two small supermarkets. The apartment itself was very clean with more than enough room for you to spread out and relax. It has a small fridge and even a washer if you've been on a long trip or packed lightly. During our stay they even cleaned the unit and changed the linens one day which I was not expecting. It does require a bit of coordination with the company but the apt. representative was waiting for us at the unit when our cab arrived. You cant beat the location, price and comfort in the center of Milan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brera Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brera Apartments

Address: Via San Fermo, 1, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 135 Specialty lodging in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brera Apartments are located in beautiful areas in the heart of Milan: in the most peaceful part of the historic Brera district, which the artists of the Academy of Fine Arts, since the nineteenth century, have turned into one of the most characteristics of Milan, or in the most glamour part of the city, dotted with shops and showrooms of the most important names in fashion.Brera Apartments are particularly quiet and silent: located in elegant historic buildings, featuring a typical Milanese style. The atmosphere is welcoming and personalized, stylish with “collection design” furnishing, with parquet floors.Each apartment is divided into the large living room, the kitchen area and the bedroom. All Brera Apartments are equipped with Nespresso coffee machine, pods, teas and herbal teas, a 32-inch high-definition TV with free Sky channels, an extensive DVD collection, Hi-Fi stereo system compatible with iPhone and iPOD Apple, and complete with CDs to set the perfect mood. Free Internet WI-FI connection is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Brera Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brera Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;