We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Papa Francesco

Ristorante Papa Francesco
Via Marino 5 | (ang.Piazza della Scala), 20121 Milan, Italy
+39 02 862177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #929 of 5,269 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Vegetarian, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional Family restaurant from 1980. The best Home made Pasta and dessert. T-bone steak and Fried Calamari and shrimps available every day.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you are planning to entertain your guests with a good meal, look no further. This is the ideal restaurant! I took my clients here last month and it turned out to be a really successful event. Not only was the food excellent, so was the entire dining experience. The owner and waiters interacted humorously with my guests and the day ended with big smiles on their faces. Paolo, thank you, you made my day!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    149
    66
    44
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great dinners at Papa Francesco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were in Milan for only 2 nights and ate at Papa Francesco both nights. On the second night we were grateful to be accommodated early, at 6:30, to have enough time to eat before the opera. We conveniently made our reservations with email notes before leaving for Italy. Our waiter on both nights, Guiseppe, was friendly and attentive and took time to make recommendations on the best things to eat. On our first night we had tender, delicate gnocchi with Gorgonzola sauce followed by veal scallopini with fresh porcini mushrooms. Mushrooms are in season now and the veal dish was delicious. With a nice bottle of Chianti and ending with coffee, it was a perfectly lovely dinner. On our second night we shared an appetizer of clams and mussels with abundant broth for dipping good bread, My husband ate fried calamari and I ate Culurgiones al Pomodoroe Ricotta Mustica, - 4 tender ravioli like pillows filled with cheese and a hint of mint in a tomato sauce. Again, another perfectly lovely dinner. The food and service could not have been better and they made us feel so welcome. If one is going to the opera, the location is perfect. And if one is not going to the opera, it is worth going out of your way to eat at Papa Francesco.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice family-run restaurant in the heart of Milan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It is easy to find: from the Piazza di Duomo (the central square) cross the Galleria mall to the Piazza della Scala and immediately turn right. It was nice to find this family-run restaurant that serves REAL food in an area that caters mostly to tourists. Papa Francesco kept walking around with a tray of fresh porcini mushrooms, so WE ordered some as an appetizer - delicious. Our waiter Peppe recommended some nice pasta dishes. The lasagna was one of the best I have ever had. This place is not less expensive than other restaurants around the Galleria, but the quality of food and the personal attention makes all the difference. Warmly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A tourist's favourite.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The clientele here is very cosmopolitan as befits a first class restaurant next to La Scala Milan. However, although it may not provide a down-home local experience it is nevertheless a great place to eat. As it gets busier they range more and more tables down the street but the quality of the food does not waver no matter how many customers they fit in. Each course we tried was better than the previous one. The exception to this was the cheese board. I suspect it is something that they are not often asked for and it was a poor relation to the other dishes. Nevertheless, don't miss this venue.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“Poor food bad wine”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Read mixed reviews on TripAdvisor, was hoping for the best, unfortunately the food is really not very good. Had ithe special Milanese plate, the meat tasted of the fridge. Probably cooked days ago and stored :( house wine tasted like vinegar. Probably the worst meal I had in Italy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Papa Francesco also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Papa Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Papa Francesco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.