We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy hotel with great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hub Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hub Hotel to your Saves list
The Hub Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Privata Polonia 10, 20157 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A cozy hotel with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good hotel to stay is you are attending the fair or expo in Milan. It's located nearby, however it's not within walking distance.

The room is cozy and well maintain complete with good amenities. The bathroom is roomy and water pressure is good.

The food is one of the main highlight. Mirror on the ground floor serves good simply breakfast but also the place for great food, especially the past and veal ala Milanese.

It's a great place to be after a hard day at the fair.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    309
    119
    56
    29
See reviews for
77
267
32
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

My partner and I stayed at this hotel back a few years ago and we had an absolute nightmare getting here. We decided to jump on a train from Malpensa airport to the centre and then get a cab from there as the cabs are around 80-90 euros direct from the airport.

After numerous trains and buses we arrived to what we thought was the centre and asked everyone, police officers, cab drivers, bus drivers, locals and no one knew where the street or where the hotel was. We walked around trying to find it ourself with no joy and eventually found a cab driver who knew where the Hub Hotel was.

This hotel is not central and there is nothing to do around the hotel at all. Just other buildings and a motorway. I think we found a little Italian around a 10-15 minute walk away which was OK.

Although the hotel did offer a free shuttle from the hotel to the nearest tram station (that's how far it is even from any public transport!) and from there you can pretty much make a start on getting around.

The hotel itself was actually very lovely and modern. We had dinner at the restaurant one evening and that was lovely too if not overpriced for small a la carte style portions.

The spa and gym area were very nice and the rooms were also very nice.

Room Tip: Any room will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottanelliflavio, Direttore at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Dear Client,
thanks for staying with us in our the Hub Hotel in Milan.
We are pleased to listen that you enjoy your stay and you approciate our services.
Hoping to welcome you soon, we remain.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Odd title, I know. But, let me explain why. I'll start off by saying that this property is not near Milan Centro. But that's ok, because that's not it's purpose. There are new hotels being built to support the 2015 Milan Expo and this happens to be one of them. There is a lot of construction going on in the area, but again, most of that is attributed to the Expo. It's not the hotel's fault and it wasn't loud or intrusive.

If you are flying into Malpensa, like we did, you have a few options to get to the hotel.
1) Most expensive, take a cab. At around 90EURO it's not cheap, but it is the most direct and easiest.
2) Take the train. Malpensa Express to Cadorna station then transfer to the M1 to Rho-Fiera and get off at Uruguay. Then you call the hotel for their shuttle. Downside is that it runs on a schedule and you may have to wait a while.
3) Rent a car for your trip. If you can that is. The property is right off the Autostrade heading into the city. Spring for the GPS so you won't get lost amongst the construction.

The property itself is very good. Rooms are bigger than average with firm but comfortable mattresses. Bathrooms have showers only, but they are large and have hair dryers, towel warmers (surprised to see that) and bidets. There is free wifi, 32" flat screen LCD TV and a digital safe in the room. Minimal furniture, but that's not so bad as this makes the room feel bigger.

Breakfast was standard European fare and served with a smile by the staff. The restaurant also is open for dinner and was actually excellent! The Osso Bucco and Milanese Rissotto with Saffron was fantastic! The lobby bar was also well stocked and attended to by a good natured bartender (very limited English, but he understood the universal language of liquor).

Front desk staff was very friendly and multi lingual. No problems at all with customer service during our stay.

What sets this place apart was something that you would have to pay a premium to get at in a city hotel. The indoor pool and spa on the top floor of the hotel. The pool is heated and has plenty of chairs (at least when we were there). The spa area is an additional charge of 15 EURO, but if you book a massage or other package it's free. In the spa, you have access to a steam room, sauna and a unique hot tub (I don't know how to describe it, just look at their website).

Parking is about 20EURO per day, but there was ample parking outside the property.

Small negatives - No ATM on property or anywhere within walking distance. If you're light on cash, you may have to take their shuttle someplace where there is one.
No bellman or carts for luggage (if you don't have one, at least have the other).

Verdict: This brings me back to the review title. Be realistic. It's not centrally located in the city, but a good place to start exploring northern Italy and not far from Lake Como and the Swiss border. It may not be 5*, but they get the basics right and the staff is helpful with a smile. I would recommend to the average traveler on a budget and not focusing only on Milan.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Best views of the Alps in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottanelliflavio, Direttore at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Dear Client,
We thank you for your preference and for staying with us to The Hub in Milan.
Your exhaustive observations are opportunities for improvement and we are happy to listen that your expectations has been satisfied.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

First time in Milan, and we chose this hotel, the hotel itself is very nice, room was very clean and modern. Very very nice stay for the price. View is nice, the restaurant and lounge are nice, however, not very close to other things to do for tourists. so we had to take the metro everyday to the city center.

Room Tip: Its very far from the city center. They do have transportation to the nearest Metro station. the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Stayed for four nights while working in the area. The hotel is clean and very modern and well decorated. Staff were welcoming and friendly. The rooms are a good size, my bed was large and comfy, and the bathroom was practical with a very good shower.
The restaurant was good, a decent amount of choice and the gnocchi was delicious. Breakfast was continental and had a good range.
Would recommend

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottanelliflavio, Direttore at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
Dear Client,
thanks for your preference and for chosen our The Hub Hotel.
We are pleased that our service (cleaning, good restaurant, room well decorated) has met your approval.
Hoping to welcome you again we remain
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday, and have to say thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We dined in the restaurant which was lovely authentic Italian cuisine and not badly priced, the only negative I have to say is that there could be more choice on the menu for us we like a good variety and this was slightly lacking, the service however throughout our stay was second to none from reception staff to bar staff to the guys that drove the shuttle bus couldn't fault them, we ordered room service and enjoyed the cheeseburger in fact it was that big I struggled to eat it all, our room was very chic and modern... Fabulous view of the mountains from one window my only niggle with regards to the room was that the walls were very thin on the second night, I was woken by a loud knocking noise and screaming by a female...(clearly enjoying herself) but I suppose this happens.getting round was fairly easy and we used all the methods of transport going including getting the train to Lake Como (highly recommended) and its Fairly cheap , loved the free shuttlebus from the hotel definite selling point of the hotel would I recommend this place to family and friends, absolutely!! Milan is a beautiful place, loved the food,the people, the metro and most of all the wine... Can't wait to book our next trip to Italy

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We stayed here as a couple for a sort weekend break to Milan. This Hotel is Modern and clean the bedroom we stayed in was fabulous the bed was extremely comfy. The staff and quality of service given was fantastic. Can't comment on the pool spa etc never got time to use... maybe next time.

Just a shame that this hotel was not in the Centre of Milan as that would have been perfect, However the location would not put me off visiting again. The hotel do offer a free shuttle bus to the nearest Metro and you can purchase tickets from reception which is a bonus.

One Negative thing if you are getting a taxi from the hotel be Aware the taxi companies charge you from where they are so it was £11 euros on the clock before we got in..... Not when they collect you!!.... So our trip to the train station which is 10 min cost us more than it did to travel by taxi from the Centre of Milan on the first night to the Hotel and that was a twenty five minute drive.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hub Hotel

Address: Via Privata Polonia 10, 20157 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hub Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hub Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.