We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel - but in a bad part of town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hub Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hub Hotel to your Saves list
The Hub Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Privata Polonia 10, 20157 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Decent hotel - but in a bad part of town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here on business in March 2013. I have to admit I was seriously shocked when I saw the area it was in. It is in a run down industrial part of town which is a sham as the hotel is decent.

The bedrooms are all different wedge shapes and although not very inspiring, they were functional and modern. No complaints from me for that at all. I had a great view of the Alps from my room.

Bathrooms were fine too although on one day (I was there for a week) I had no hot water - although it was fine for all the other days. Shower was quite large.

Breakfasts were ok - nothing special but fairly typical of a 4 star hotel in Milan- quite basic but all foods were fresh.

Hotel has a free shuttle bus to take you to a nearby train station so that you can get into the town centre easily - this works well.

The staff were very nice - no complaints there. Its just a real shame about the location...

Room Tip: Ask for ahigh room with an Alps view - the only thing to look at....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    287
    111
    51
    24
See reviews for
75
254
30
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

A very modern, luxury, hotel with low prices but far away from a metro station.
The good thing is that they have a minivan that can take you to/from the metro station.
I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this Hotel, we were more than happy. Nice room, lovely ensuite and very clean. A very good breakfast too. The staff were so polite and very helpful. We had a 45 min wait at the station for the shuttle to collect us which was unfortunate as we had travelled from the UK, however throughout our stay it was a brilliant service. The guys work really hard picking up and dropping off and will go out of their way to help you. If you don't want to travel in and out of Milan each day this is not the Hotel for you, but having said that it is so easy to do. A quick train journey with one change and when you arrive and walk up those steps to the beautiful Cathedral in front of you...just amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabio_messina, General Manager at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review!

We do appreciate you enjoyed your stay at The Hub Hotel Milano and the service provided by our Team! We do apologise for the delay in the first day pick up; probably in those days one of the 2 shuttles was out of service for maintenance.

We look forward to welcome you back soon at The Hub Hotel Milano.

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

It is a very good four star hotel.The staff are exceptionally helpful.The room was big, clean and had Wi-Fi.The hotel has a minibus that will immediately take you to the train station. The hotel is excellent value for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We do appreciate that The Hub Hotel Milano met your expectations and your stay was a pleasant one.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our first experience of the hotel was not great, a two mix up/confusion with the hotel shuttle left us cold, not speaking and disillusioned. Once we were finally collected reception was quick, speedy and informative. My husband reported how unhappy we were and the staff were most apologetic. Fizz and fresh fruit followed shortly after along with a note of apology. The room was exactly as viewed on the Internet. Clean and lovely views of a very industrial Milan , helped by the snow. Feeling refreshed we ventured to the bar. 30 minutes later we were still waiting to be served as were four other tables who arrived after us. Finally after another trip to reception the barman arrived. There were no menus or prices, I'm sure if we asked we may have received something but being parched we just ordered the basic. My wine was lovely and the aperitivos accompanying our drinks were yummy. This was pretty much our tale of this hotel. On one hand so helpful, when my husband made us catch the wrong train on our second day they sent a shuttle out to collect us from the train station, but then in the next breath letting you down in the bar area. The staff could not have been any more helpful when they were there , and the shuttle service meant access to Milan and exhibition centre was never a problem. The price was reasonable and the rooms generous compared to hotels in central Milan. The breakfasts were very Italian but still offered some choice, we didn't eat in the restaurant so I can't comment on their evening meals. Despite being near such a busy route there was no sound of traffic in the rooms or the bar area. With any of the problems we had the staff did their best to solve and to apologise, and our complaints were dealt with immediately. A difficult review to write as the service was so problematic, as mentioned earlier when the staff were there they were great, finding them was sometimes hard!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

It is a complete report that will help us to improve the standard and services delivered at The Hub Hotel Milano.

We do definetely look forward to welcome you back in order to share our improvements.

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I spent two nights in this hotel, and I was very satisfied. The room was quite big, clean and comfortable, we had free and high speed WI_FI. I especially enjoyed the pool, even if the water was a little coll for my taste. I also enjoyed the breakfast offer and the service. Unfortunately I could not reach the sauna, because it was always full. :) So it must be great also. The only disadvantage was the quite large distance from city center, otherwise it was a pretty nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Hub Hotel in Milan.

The location where the Hotel is located will change as the Expo 2015 wil take place right in front of the hotel.

Looking forward to welcome you soon.

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hub hotel is a very good four star hotel. The staff are exceptionally helpful from check in to check out. This is a hotel off a major highway in an industrial area.
The hotel has a minibus that will immediately take you to the train station ( even offered to drop us off at a nearby pizzeria restaurant as well). The station is only 20 minutes and for stops away from the centre of town where you can walk to the main shops and cathedral.
When you are finished you simply catch the train back and call the hotel and voila the car will arrive in 5 mins.
The hotel is well positioned for a visit to the Serravalle factory outlets about 1 hour drive away. We used it as a stop after skiing in Cervinia on our way back to Milano bergamo airport via Serravalle outlets.

The hotel is brand new and has excellent rooms. What I really liked though was the swimming pool with separate steam room and sauna and bubbly spa.

We ate dinner at the restaurant which provided us with a massive steak. They also have cheaper daily specials. Breakfast was reasonable as well. The hotel is excellent value for what you get. I think it is so cheap as it is in an industrial area. They have countered this well though with their minibus transfers.

Room Tip: Rooms are all new with spacious showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabio_messina, Direttore generale at The Hub Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review!

It's a pleasure to read your message as you rated all our service that we provide at The Hub Hotel Milano.

The Team and myself are looking forward to welcome you back!

Best regards

Fabio Messina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hub Hotel

Address: Via Privata Polonia 10, 20157 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hub Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Hub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hub Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.