We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment, but a bit far out of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isola Apartments Milan

Save Saved
You added Isola Apartments Milan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Isola Apartments Milan
Via Pastrengo, 14, 20159 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 173 Milan B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great apartment, but a bit far out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Overall this apartment was great - modern, chic and clean, but for us, we felt the suburb was a little dodgy and perhaps a bit too far away from the city. I did not feel safe walking around the streets at night in this suburb (whereas I did in all the other cities in Italy we'd been to).

Negatives: while it has a kitchen, it's not well appointed. No sharp knives, and few utensils, limited ability to cook anything given the items on hand. No curtains in living room mean getting undressed upstairs gives the neighbours a good view! Door in bathroom sticks so was hard to close and bathroom itself was a bit small. Spiral staircase up to bedroom made carrying heavy suitcases pretty difficult (but it looked cool!) Management very friendly and tried to be helpful, but very disorganised.

Positives: clean and modern. Comfortable bed. Access to internet (but not wireless). Sofa folds out to good sized double bed and is comfortable. Restaurant on corner "primoposto" was fantastic but non English, so either take your phrase book or ensure your Italian is sufficient > food was sensational. Wine bar on opposite corner to restaurant "Dei Sensi" was also great (shame about choice of music) but would go there again. Good supemarket just around the corner too. If you don't mind being out of main town, then apartment is handy to train and some good restaurants nearby. I would not stay again, but only due to it's location, otherwise, the apartment was pretty good.

Tips: book your ticket to The Last Supper in advance before you leave for Italy. Waiting can be up to one month. We booked through Tickitaly.com . There were many very disappointed tourists there on the day we were there unable to get in.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
12
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

Our apartment was really first class, luxurious and comfortable. Hadn't intended to seek an apartment over a hotel but rate was pretty good for what is an upmarket accommodation. We never cooked in the couple of nights we stayed or anything but that was neither here nor there as the apartment sold itself as a lovely place to stay anyway. The apartments are close to the metro and not far from the sights at all. They are in the business district of Milan apparently but no problem at all location wise. Everything about the Isola was clean, upmarket and first-class. Recommended for anyone irrespective of whether looking to be self-sufficient on your trip!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benji70
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

great property, great location and one of the best value for money properties i have ever stayed in!

Spacious apartments with spotless kitchen and bathroom. everything is totally pristine and the location right next to the Porta Garibaldi Train and Metro Station in Milan only a few stops from the main Central Station and only 1 stop from Moscova i.e. the Brera area of Milan which is without doubt the best place to go out in Milan (a largely pedestrianised area of Milan full of bars, restaurants, trattorias and some night clubs! .

Start off at the Bar Brera to see what i mean and then just let the night take you!!!!

The Isola self catering Apartments in Milan capped off a wonderful 10 days in Italy... we will be back like a shot come the Spring!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isola Apartments Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isola Apartments Milan

Address: Via Pastrengo, 14, 20159 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Isola Apartments Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isola Apartments Milan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.