We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Trap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Santa Marta

Ristorante Santa Marta
Via Santa Marta, 6, 20123 Milan, Italy
+39 02 805 2090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,606 of 5,333 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: $50 - $62
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Well, maybe we were there on the wrong night. Everyone was not Italian and the food was mediocre at best. Hotel recommended it. Stay away.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    41
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious huge servings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

It is pricier but the servings are quite large. I ordered the seafood spaghetti. Lots of seafood throughout. The food was of the highest quality. The dessert titled 'cream with baked cookies' does not do the dish justice. It was delicious!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Did not live up to reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were disappointed after reading the TripAdvisor reviews. Our pushy waiter's recommendations were not that good - the wine was mediocre at best, the expensive seafood appetizer platter was plopped on our table without explanation, and the octopus (we think) made my wife ill later in the evening. Her "sea bass" arrived as three see-through shreds of fish on a bed of chopped lettuce - not at all appetizing. My tuna was cooked ok but no sauce, no flavor, nothing. Atmosphere of the room was ok.

Do yourself a favor and try Trattoria Milanese across the street - not cutting edge but friendly, dependable and delicious.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“excellent recommendation from our hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

i had their spaghetti fruti di mare as a 1st course and sea bass as a 2nd course. both were cooked to perfection. my friend had what looked like veal scallopine slices and fried potatoes. he raved about the dish but particularly the potaoes! the service was excellent and friendly.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I went on our last night in Milan. It was recommended to us by the Hotel. We wanted to go somewhere not so touristy. Well this is it. Lovely seafood restaurant in a lane way off the beaten track (took us a while to find it) but worth it. The ambience was great full of locals and the food was lovely. Its not cheap but well worth going. I would definitely go back.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Santa Marta also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Santa Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Santa Marta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.