We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food, wine and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria La Cadrega

Hosteria La Cadrega
Via Generale Gustavo Fara, 1, 20124 Milan, Italy
+39 02 6738 2931
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Hosteria La Cadrega is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,547 of 5,280 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: $8 - $67
Cuisines: Italian, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A short walk from Central Station and the best hotels in Milan, Typical Milanese Restaurant "La Cadrega" offers an ideal meeting place for brunches, lunches and meetings, as well as banquets and private dinners. The rural but elegant design of our restaurant, combined with refined dishes and more than 70 labels of wine available in the cellar can bring you in the ancient tradition of Milan: a place where you can find all the relax that you want to have, protected from the chaotic transformation of the city ​​of business.
Arapahoe, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent food, wine and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This place was recommended by our hotel as we prefer to eat earlier in the evening than most Italians. The restuarant is open from 11AM to midnight and we were treated like family. The food was well prepared and delicious and the wine recommended was delicious. I needed a recommendation as I dont know Italian wines well enough to make an informed choice.

This is not the cheapest place to eat in Milan but the experience of the first time there led to a second evening there with two days later with friends and this evening was better than the first. Great memories.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    64
    42
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent choice, near to station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The restaurant was a short walk from our hotel (Hotel Uno). The proprietress was friendly and helpful, the food excellent and the price reasonable,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent welcoming place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a great time and excellent dinner at this restaurant. The total with appetizers and wine came lower than a lunch at a piazza in Siena two days ago. The food was so fresh and flavorful, that we could not help but smile with enjoyment. The service was very warm, courteous, welcoming, accommodating without being forceful or obtrusive. Salami, looked like a delicate lace, and melted on your tongue without any after taste; lemonchello and a home made tiramisu were out of this world. We enjoyed our dinner and would highly recommend La Cadrega to our friends for future visits!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The worst food I have ever eaten in Italy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Me and some colleagues went here for lunch. First of all the prices are ridiculous for what it is and it was the worst meal all of us had ever had in Italy. We didn't even eat 3 bites before getting the cheque--the appetizer was 14 euros and a quarter of the size of what a normal appetizer would be and the pasta was the worst pasta dish i have ever eaten anywhere in the world I had to write a review because if you are ever planning to have a meal here save yourself and eat somewhere else. It goes down as the worst food all of us have ever had in Italy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco N, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hosteria La Cadrega, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Zaina,
first of all, we're sorry to hear your time with us has not been pleasant. Honestly, this is the first time we hear one of our customers complaining about the size of our dishes - actually, if you have time to read some of our customers' reviews, you'll find them saying quite the contrary.

We are confident about the quality of our pastas as well: you know, mistakes can happen even in the finest kitchens - we're humans after all - so we're always happy to remake one of our dishes if it doesn't meet our customers' expectations. All it takes to flag your disappoint to your waiter: we're sure we would have been able to fix this.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Everythink is Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had the best of times at Giorgio's. Great food, good prices, perfect host, great time. We enjoyed this restaurant very very much and will definitely recommend it and will also definitely come back! Thank you Giorgio!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosteria La Cadrega also viewed

Pioltello, Province of Milan
Montesolaro, Como Province
 

Been to Hosteria La Cadrega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria La Cadrega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.