We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely luxury and spacious but location worse than we expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silver

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Silver to your Saves list
Hotel Silver
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Riccardo Lombardi, 9/11, 20153 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely luxury and spacious but location worse than we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Upon arriving at this hotel I was in a bit of a bad mood to be honest because we had just forked out 40 euros to get from the train station out. We had considered using the underground system but with all our baggage the thought of carrying cases up and down and making line changes in 30 degree heat was not appealing. We did not expect this price for a taxi though. We knew it was far out from previous reviews on here but the taxi journey took 40 minutes and we even passed a sign saying we were leaving Milan! So I think it is more Milan vicinity rather than Milan city centre.

However, usually in this mood I am more likely to pick fault in everything but I found very little to pick fault in at this hotel. So, location aside, I would have probably given 5 stars (and I knew location was a bit 'far out' - just too far out when we actually got there. Plus there was little to do around the hotel itself so our post-dinner walk consisted of a walk round the hotel). And we often stay in hotels 'out the way' to get more for our money so I don't highlight this point through no prior experience of city hotels or with high expectations.

Based on our experience I can say that the rooms were HUGE! We had two single beds pushed together to make a double (I know this is standard practice in holiday resorts but have never experienced it in a hotel but this was not a problem), seating, a mini bar, a huge bathroom area (open plan overlooking the bed but with a separate room for the toilet and bidet) and there was still tons of floor space for cases, walking, etc. Not something you'd find if you were in the city centre proper. Plus the fittings and features were all of a really high standard. It felt very 'moroccan' with tiny mosaic tiles, etc. A thoroughly enjoyable room to stay in. Bed was a little firmer than I am used to but not uncomfortable (felt more like I was lying on top of it than sinking into it like I like but thats a matter of personal preference). The shower does have a glass surround overlooking the bedroom so is not private if you use it like that and have a co-traveller!! However, there is an external curtain that can be pulled around it just like any other shower. It is the biggest shower I have ever had the priviledge of using and I loved every minute (so much that I was nearly late for check out because I didn't want to get out!).

We were only staying one night and because of the location we didn't feel like travelling all the way into the city to hunt for a restaurant so we also dined in the hotel. Service was fab (just one girl on duty but very friendly, helpful and professional). The menu is limited (as expected) to a few dishes for each course and not really designed to give you a flavour or 'real' Italy I don't think. However, all food was very tasty and good value for money.

On our way back we had to get to the train station again and this time made use of the free 'shuttle bus' service the hotel puts on. The service is on demand so you aren't restricted by timetables or anything. When we used it, it was a people carrier mercedes that took us to the underground (so not really a bus) and driver was very obliging. From there it is simple enough (with just one line change) to the train station. I had also forgotten many underground stations in milan have elevators (unlike other cities) so having cases is less problematic than I had imagined. In retrospect, and if I hadn't been so tired from previous travelling (we had come from verona) we would have taken the underground to the hotel rather than pay 40 euro in a taxi. It might have been a hassle but perhaps not as bad as I imagined when I arrived in the train station exhausted and in 30 degree heat!

Overall, a beautiful hotel and excellent value for the £69 we paid for one night. great facilities and, while initially the location seems inconvenient, the shuttle bus service is very useful and would make daily journeys into the city much easier. I'd allow 45 minutes from hotel door to city centre though and it might not be good if you wish to do some sightseeing during the day and then travel back in at night for dinner as you'd end up spending 3-4 hours per day travelling back and forwards. Hotel restaurant would be good for up to three days though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    52
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
79
11
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

The hotel is kinda like South Beach Miami style. Rooms are great apart from the bathroom, the showers area nightmare in term of design. Also internet cable are a disaster, they are just 30 cm long so it is impossible to use it on the room desk.
The location is not good, in the outskirts of milan, so it is not ok if you are a tourist. Breakfast are ok but all in all the hotel is too expensive for this location

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Very clean hotel with nice desk clerks. The hotel is 3k from the train station, then 1 euro to take the train a few stops into Central Milan. So if you don't mind traveling approx 15/20 minutes to get to the Milan Duomo, then this is the hotel for you. Our only complaint was we were in the room right above the reception area and they have a gate in front of the hotel, every time someone pulled up to the gate a beeping alarm went off. I believe we were in Room 34, so at all costs avoid this room if possible. We were tired after traveling all day and we could not get to sleep until after 11:00pm both nights then the beeping started again about 7:00am. I'm sure if we had a different room we would then have no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

This hotel is a fantastic value for Milan! We were in Milan during Fashion Week and all of the hotels in the city center were very expensive that week. Since we had a car, this was a great choice! Each room has its own car park, the service is fantastic and you are within a five minute ride to the Metro. You can make it to the city center in 10 minutes! All in all a great value for Milan. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was a new luxury hotel, reminiscent of South Beach, Florida.
However, it is really on the outskirts of town and suited for business conferences, not for tourists. The staff was extremely helpful and polite, yet, we were really at a disadvantage due to the location.
The design of the bathroom was strange-the shower, although beautiful, was located right by the door with glass windows, leaving no privacy at all.
I would not recommend for the traveler, but it's fine for business.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

This time i come to Milan by car. And we choose this hotel for that reason. The welcome from the staff was very friendly and there are the packing space there which is very safe. .
Few good points here :
- The decor is stunning. I am sure this is not an old hotel but morden and kept at the very high level of cleanliness.
- Tthe italian food served in this hotel is wonderful.
- Free Internet in the room.
- Room has the huge bed with nice sitting area. It also has flat LCD

Only one negative:
- It is closed to the motor way which is good for us. However, for someone who doesn't have the car, it will be a small issue

We just love this hotel and will come back for sure !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed here in July and can't go on enough about how helpful and lovely the staff are here. The rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was the best we had enjoyed in Italy after a lot of touring and each morning the manager asked us how we would like our eggs cooked which was such a treat after the usual scrambled eggs that every other hotel had offered. The only downside is that the hotel is a little bit out of the way but you can drive your car to the metro and park it there for your return. Just make sure you park it properly though or you could end up with a parking fine, like we did! Milan is lovely to see, especially the Duomo. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Silver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver

Address: Via Riccardo Lombardi, 9/11, 20153 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#22 Business Hotel in Milan
#27 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#43 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silver 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silver is a new 4 stars Hotel set in a convenient location in Milano, 5 minutes by car from Europe's biggest trade exhibition centre, Fiera di Milano - Rho.Elegant and modern, Hotel Silver offers outstanding hospitality and high standards of comfort. Unwind in the stylish and relaxed atmosphere of a newly built establishment.All the rooms are designed in a modern and luxurious style and the refined decoration will remember you are inthe City of Fashion and the Italian Design.Thinking on our Guest comfort we offer high speed internet access in the room all day at no cost, a free internet point located in the lobby to check up your e-mails, news etc, complimentary private parking for your car, transportation to the nearest metro station and a delicious breakfast buffet included on the room rate.Come to Silver and Enjoy Your Stay with Us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Silver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Hotel Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.