We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive - but worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Cova

Caffe Cova
Via Monte Napoleone 8, 20121 Milan, Italy (Centro Storico)
(02) 760 00 578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,052 of 5,363 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro Storico
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“expensive - but worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On a recommendation from a webpage we went to Cova, despite the review describing saying it was the place to be for jet set creatives, fashionistas etc. Not exactly fitting into these categories, we decided to give the place a chance anyways. We were not disappointed, the chocolate coated cake with vanilla ice cream and whisky inside was delicious and the coffee really was one of the best we had in Milan. Okay, you have to be prepared to pay around 6-7 EUR for a coffee, but the ambiance and the very kind and smiling waiter added to the overall positive experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    82
    45
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Megeve, France
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“On the snobish side”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Once you have done quite a bit of shopping and have quite many bags from the upper brand shops, you should have a cappuccino at Caffe Cova: it is quite ok, rather of the snobish type. Anyway it is a convenient stop and you can tell other you have been there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“overhyped cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

decided to try this cafe after a stroll down via monte during a wet sat afternoon. was shown to my table and ordered a cup of tea.
didnt order any food or dessert but they looked quite nice from the display units.
the waiter who took my order had to come back to confirm what tea i wanted.
when it came to paying my bill, he took my card and settled the transaction without saying a word. definitely not the kind of
service i expected from an upscale place like this.
the clientele are mostly stylishly dressed locals as well as tourists who come mostly to satisfy their designer cravings

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Par excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This cafe is a place to be and to be seen of Milan surrounded by the designers boutiques. So spare time for a queue. When we were there, a table for 3 took us around 20 minutes. Worth the wait. The cafe has two sections, one side is cafe and the other is where you can buy patisserie, chocolates.. to go.

You sit among beautiful people, Milanese, Europeans, Asian alike. We had light lunch, a bottle of champagne (which costs us double when comparing to Moet & Chandon bar on the top floor of Rinascente) and desserts. During our 3-hour lunch, we enjoyed every minute, the staff were professional and attentive. Food portion was just right for light meal. Highly recommend beef carpaccio and roast beef salad. Don't miss Tiramisu,,oh so goooddd...

The rest room is cleaned regularly (ten-minutes service break for the cleaning). No photos taking allowed in the cafe. Of course you can do it in discrete way (by your phone :). Photo evidence as attached.

Definitely I will go back when I am in town next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Nice break from shopping!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is Victorian tea house, but wine/cocktail bar as well. And, if you ever wanted to go for dessert while in Milan, this is the place!! Oh, and they played a groovy music in the background, so different for the traditional look of the place, I would go back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Cova also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Cova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Cova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.