We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, comfortable room, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #49 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, comfortable room, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We went to Milan (first time visitors) in April and decided to stay in the Crowne Plaza Milan City hotel. We stayed in the hotel for two nights.
The superior room is very beautiful, modern, spacious and clean. Especially the bathroom is a gem. The hotel location is superb: walking distance to the train station, the metro station is even next to the hotel.
We liked the food in the hotel restaurant, not much to choose on the menu, but the food was tasty. The hotel and rooms are very clean and the staff is friendly and helpfull. The coffee and tea facilities in the room are an extra bonus.
Though the hotel is located near a busy street we didnt hear any traffic noise in the room (and our room was located at the front). We will definately stay in this hotel again if we go back to Milan.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    284
    70
    18
    5
See reviews for
72
206
49
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

We got this hotel from priceline bidding and with a fantastic price. Having a slightly tainted experience from our stay in Venice and Rome (encountered 1 unpolite staff at each place), we were surprised with the friendly and professional front desk staff.

He was on duty for the 2 out of 3 days which we were there and it felt really pleasant to have friendly hotel staff greet you everytime we entered the hotel.

The room was perfect as we were upgraded to a room on the 9th floor. We were initially assigned a smoking room, and i asked to change to a non-smoking room.
We didn't have take the breakfast as cold crossiants and cold meats (seemed like a local norm) weren't our cup of tea.

The hotel was right beside the metro and just a 15mins ride to the Duomo. We even went back to the hotel in the afternoon, to drop off our shopping buys. :)

On our last morning to catch a train to Cinque Terre, we bought lunch (Takeaway) at the deli beside the hotel and liked the food :) Btw, there're hardly eating places around the hotel over the weekend we were there, so we have to take a short trip to other areas for meals.

Btw, if you plan to view the Last Supper Painting at the Cenocolo, do call them to make advance reservation. the reservations are booked like 2 months in advance.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

I booked this hotel blindly because everything was so expensive in the center of Milan, and all I knew was that the hotel was literally ten steps away from the Sondrio metro stop (Line 3).

I entered the hotel and was immediately greeted by the front desk staff. They checked me in very efficiently and quickly. In fact, every time I entered or left the hotel, someone always acknowledged me. They were very friendly.

I walked around the front and took the elevator up to my room. The hallway was very dark and modern. The entry system was electronic, and you put the key into the slot on the wall next to the door (chip side up) and the door unlocks.

Once inside the room, I was impressed by the decor. There were two twin beds in the room, which were fairly comfortable. The room size was a bit small, but the room is in Europe. The were a lot of light switches in the room - by the door and next to the bed. The only thing I didn't like is that the main light was too bright when I just wanted to chill in the room and not seem like I was in an office.

There were only a few English-speaking channels, but I found a few Italian music channels that I listened to instead. The television was a flat-panel mounted on the wall above the desk. The cool thing with the television is that you can play the sound in the restroom. It was good to find the music channels and listen to it in the restroom while getting ready.

The bathroom was really nice. The shower had both a hand-held device as well as a rain shower head. Both systems are independent of each other. The towel warmer (I never understood how to use it but I love warm towels) was at the other end of the tub. The shaving mirror had a very modern look to it, but it wasn't anti-fog. So if you shave after you shower like I do, you have to wait. There are available toiletries, shampoo, bath gel, and lotion, but all these have a foil seal on them when you untwist the top. Make sure you take care of this before stepping into the shower. There were also bath robes available.

The room was also equipped with an iron and ironing board that folded up neatly into the closet.

The mini bar was tucked away next to the closet, as well as the safe. This was all nestled beneath the counter with the coffee pot and glasses.

I checked out the spa and gym on the 9th floor, and everything was well kept. There's restrooms up there, towels, water, and a hot and dry sauna. It overlooks the city, so it's a nice view when working out.

If you're arriving into Milan Central Station, it's just a short ten minute walk away. But the convenience of the subway is even better! I bought a 24-hour metro pass for only 3-euros that was well worth the money.

The internet is a bit strange. There are two computers next to the front desk, but you have to ask the staff for a username and password. I used the computer for an hour at a rate of 2-euros. I don't remember the other rates, but it was fairly inexpensive - especially the Wi-Fi offered in the rooms.

There wasn't an ATM machine in the hotel, but across the street on the corner is a local bank.

Overall, my experience at this hotel was great. For business or for pleasure, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

really nice hotel. Pretty new and designed well.

The bathroom is fantastic, enough space in the standard room. Well thought-through with lights, TV, use of the space.

When things go well, there is not much to write about, so I will summarize that I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munchen
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

Great Hotel. Good service, very design and spacious rooms. Very nice bathrooms and overall very new and design hotel. Breakfast is okay, metro just outside and safe and spacious parking lot just behind the hotel. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

I was invited so I can't say anything about the price. The room was specklessly clean and tidy, and I particularly liked the fact the floor wasn't carpeted. The room was very small, though. On the service side, everyone was friendly and helpful, but the airco didn't work (which was a nuisance). As we were only there for two nights, we didn't bother about it, so again, can't say whether they would have been able to repair it immediately or not. The hotel is located DIRECTLY next to a metro station, you literally walk out of the hotel and into the station, which is really convenient. It's about 3 or 4 stops into the city centre - and only a couple of minutes walk to the main station. Skipped the hotel breakfast so I can't say anything about that, either - but generally enjoyed my short stay there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

I stayed here recently for one night on a business trip so did not get to use all the facilities this hotel has to offer - namely the fitness centre on the 9th floor. I used their meeting rooms on the first floor which were large but did not use any of the AV equipment there.
The hotel itself is a 10 minute walk from the central train station but a metro ride to the centre ( Duomo area ). Check-in was quick and easy. At the time of my stay the air conditioning wasn't working in my room - I was told by reception that the entire system wasn't working - yet it was in the meetings rooms. The rooms themselves are well appointed with a wall mounted plasma screen. Bathrooms are clean and spacious.
Breakfast buffet is fine too.
All in all a very good hotel and would definately stay here again and would also recommend to business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Milan
#26 Family Hotel in Milan
#32 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#37 Business Hotel in Milan
#47 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Milan City is a newly built superior 4 star hotel located in the City business district of Milan and close to the Central Railway Station.Sondrio subway station (yellow line) is aside the hotel to reach the main city attractions like the Cathedral, La Scala Opera House, Sforza Castle.Easy access to the shopping areas of both the 'Fashion District' and Corso Buenos Aires and to the nightlife of Corso Como, full of fashion lounge bars and restaurants. The new Exhibition Centre in Rho/Pero, so as Fieramilano Convention Center are easily reachable by public transportation (red line subway).The Crowne Plaza Milan City boasts totally soundproofed rooms with a stylish design(81 standard rooms, 18 superior rooms, 7 junior suites and 3 family rooms) equipped with WI-FI internet connection, LCD flat screens with DTT Network and Pay-per-View movies system. The hotel also features a fitness center on the roof with view on Milan's skyline with wellness area and saunaCongress facilities up to 120 delegates (including an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people) equipped with WI-FI and latest technological equipment.Restaurant with international and typical cuisine, and a cosy bar overlooking Hotel s Winter Garden . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.