We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Great Staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #54 of 430 Hotels in Milan
chennai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Wonderful Hotel and Great Staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife and i stayed in the hotel only for one night during a short visit to Milan in July 2014. We had requested for an early check in as our flight got in at 8:00 AM and though check in was only much later - the hotel had our room ready from 9:00 AM!!

We faced a baggage delay / lost issue with the airline we traveled with and the hotel reception team worked overtime to follow up and assisted us tremendously in tracing our delayed bags.

The room we stayed at was fantastic and the hotel has a subway stop at its front door!! The hotel is also located a mere 5 minute walk from the Central Station and hence is a great location for guests. The breakfast has a great spread and they even served champagne !! Its been a while since we had one of those breakfasts!!

For us the reception team and all the staff at the airport make this wonderful hotel a truly awesome place to stay in!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    262
    67
    18
    5
See reviews for
66
194
45
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Next to the train station, easy to get there. The staff is friendly, the food is for a hotel very good and reasonable pricing. Some Italian cusine! The rooms are nice, clean and a good sleeping qualaity. I just wished they had a pool and some more devices in the gym - but apart from that it was a very nice, fast and efficient stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We walked from the train station after taking a bus from the airport. It took maybe 5 minutes and was very easy to find. When we walked in, the staff were friendly, and they had already upgraded me to a room on the top floor due to my IHG platinum status.

The gym was located next to our room with water, fruit, a shower, steam bath, and sauna. Our room was gorgeous, very spacious, and very open. We were able to walk outside to the balcony and look over the city. The internet was very good, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was stellar. If there was a downside, it'd be that the hotel was located in a modern part of Milano and not the older parts.

We walked to the Duomo di Milano, but took the subway back right to the hotel. There is a station right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milcc, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest

thanks for your comment and for a description of our services that every day we try to make more pleasant for our guests.

waiting to have her still with us

with regard

Luciano Pellegrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faro
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel is one stop from Milano centrale on the yellow line ( sondrio) and literally the door to the hotel is right on the tube exit.
5 stops to get to Duomo on the yellow line ( takes 10 minutes maximum to get there)

room is not very big but has a modern deco to it and it offers a kettle and coffee facilities
breakfast was very disappointing ( cold pancakes and waffles), fruit balls were empty for a long time :( cake was filled with nutella, not much variety and a lot of canned fruit :(

decided not to go walk around cause area can be dodgy at night so eat at the hotel ( very disappointing, choose the 3 course degustacion menu and it was all cold and very tastless and at the end waiter asked if i wanted the dessert of go straigh to coffee? if you are paying for the degustation you should have all dishes offered to you and not be asked if you not going to deduct from bill... not very nice experience and expensive one!
would not stay here again and would definately pay a bit more to be closer to the Duomo area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milcc, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest

thanks for your comment which helps us to improve. We're sorry you did not find our breakfast to his liking. we tried to enrich our buffet to suit every need: we have seven types of fresh cut fruit and with the ability to request juices. We offer our guests three types of cakes made by our chef as well as pastries of all tastes and a variety of meats and cheeses. We also have a corner dedicated to those who are intollerrante to gluten that has been recognized by the trade association.
Our Metropolitan Restaurant offers a menu based on typical dishes of the region. In the evening there is the opportunity to choose three dishes from our paper with a promotional rate or a single dish for those who want to eat something good, but in a short time, water and coffee is offered!
The Hotel is situated above the subway that leads directly to the center in five minutes without having to change, you can leave your car in our parking with just 20 € per day and be able to turn our city in a short time in addition to reaching the station trains a short walk from the hotel.
We hope to see you again at the Crowne Plaza to be able to welcome you personally.

Luciano Pellegrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Sorry, but the pictures look better than reality, which is greyer and cramped. The inner patio is nice, the Hotel has all amenities, but nothing stands out. Looking at my 3 criteria: internet works great and is for free, a definite plus. The switches work once the card is in, but the TV remote was not reacting... And there is a fitness, with a view, but it is cramped. So OK when on Business, but not for Leisure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milcc, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest

in thank you for your comments, we are sorry that some services were not to his liking. The Crowne Plaza offers its guests all the standards necessary for a pleasant stay: restaurant, bar with its outdoor terrace, indoor parking, fitness and SPA. In addition, a taxi service to the airport and the subway right underneath the hotel that leads directly to the center with a few fermate.Il Our staff is also available to advise some routes to explore the city on foot or by bus service opened.
Looking forward to it again and get to know our guests personally

with regard

Luciano Pellegrini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights during a business trip. The best part of this hotel is the location. The hotel is 5 min walking distance from the Milan central station and the Metro station is just next to the hotel entrance door.
The hotel rooms are not very spacious but very nicely decorated and clean. The rooms have very good comfortable chairs , but two of them occupy a lot of already cramped space. The facilities like tea coffee makers, LCD panel , good toilet facilities and wi-fi are very comfortable.
The location of the hotel is excellent in terms of shopping and restaurants around. There are plenty of eating joints in the vicinity and it is worth trying them.
The hotel has got good amount of parking facility which is very convenient. The staffs at the reception was quite friendly and helpful. One should be slightly careful about strolling far late night as there are some bad elements around who may try to squeeze you posing to you as police. We could shoo some people like that in a car who were trying to approach us ; as we were three of us.

Room Tip: Should select a higher floor facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Location: Good
- Metro station right next door to hotel entrance
- Metro station one stop from Milano Centrale station
- 5 stops on the M3 (yellow) line to Duomo
- There are some local cafe and restaurants around

Bedroom: Good
- We were upgraded to a Junior Suite, so room was spacious with a 'lounge' area (with sofa and coffee table)
- Bed was comfortable
- Rainforest shower was good

Restaurant: Good
- Breakfast was ok
- We had dinner there one evening and food was also ok

Overall: Good
- Front desk staff knowledgeable, informative, helpful
- Not at all bad, but at the same time nothing to really be shouting about


Tip to get to hotel by Metro:
- Walk through the archway next to the newsagent (on your left with you back to the ticket gates)
- Go up the stairs immediately to your left after this archway, then you are right there next to the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Pompey_JT,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, room accommodations, facilities and the location of the hotel. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Milan
#36 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#39 Business Hotel in Milan
#39 Family Hotel in Milan
#54 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Milan City is a newly built superior 4 star hotel located in the City business district of Milan and close to the Central Railway Station.Sondrio subway station (yellow line) is aside the hotel to reach the main city attractions like the Cathedral, La Scala Opera House, Sforza Castle.Easy access to the shopping areas of both the 'Fashion District' and Corso Buenos Aires and to the nightlife of Corso Como, full of fashion lounge bars and restaurants. The new Exhibition Centre in Rho/Pero, so as Fieramilano Convention Center are easily reachable by public transportation (red line subway).The Crowne Plaza Milan City boasts totally soundproofed rooms with a stylish design(81 standard rooms, 18 superior rooms, 7 junior suites and 3 family rooms) equipped with WI-FI internet connection, LCD flat screens with DTT Network and Pay-per-View movies system. The hotel also features a fitness center on the roof with view on Milan's skyline with wellness area and saunaCongress facilities up to 120 delegates (including an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people) equipped with WI-FI and latest technological equipment.Restaurant with international and typical cuisine, and a cosy bar overlooking Hotel s Winter Garden . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.