We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business in Milan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #53 of 432 hotels in Milan
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“business in Milan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the crowne plaza Milan City Center in May. The Hotel is not so far away form the main railway station and the underground station is just below: so it is very convinient avoiding spending extra money (and queuing in the traffic...).
The service was really good: I was upgraded to a premium room with a large bathroom and..no noise at all during the night.
Breakfast was excellent, as well as the restaurant, even if I suggest to try one of the restaurant outside to have more choice.
The personnel at the reception was kind and professional: they helped me for any issue I had.
All in all a very good stay.
The hotel area is safe, but being close to the main railway station it is always good to pay attention to some strange people nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    238
    52
    16
    5
See reviews for
61
175
41
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stay for one night for business.

Crowne Plaza Milan City is about 10 mins walk from Milano Centrale or 1 metro stop to Sondrio Station. I think walking is more convenient than Metro, if you have luggage.

As Priority club Platinum member, they upgrade me to highest floor with only 4 rooms here. The suite has balcony with nice view of city. The amenity and sleep quality are same standard as new Crowne plaza worldwide. They also provide free internet for me.

I would prefer Crowne plaza rather than Hilton nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is clean and new. About 15 mins walk to Station Milano Centrale and one metro stop away from the main train station - Sondrio. Can easily get the metro tickets from the sundry shop at the Sondrio Metro and there is a lift up to the road and voila ! the Crowne Plaza Milan Hotel is right at your foot step. Right next to the hotel is a nice little cafe.

Nice cosy beds and the bathroom is large and clean. The hot breakfast has a good food selection but I find that the bacon is just too salty.

The staff of the hotel can speak good English and quite helpful. I found that the most outstanding staff are the 2 concierge guys - a Filipino speaking guy and another "short" man (sorry ! could not get his name) - both are very hard working and very very helpful. My son left his knapsack at the sofa in the lobby when checking in and has totally forgotten it. The concierge ("short man") found it and quickly brought back to us. Gracie !

Will definitely come back again to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is very close to Stazione Centrale where buses for Milan's airports and the Bergamo airport leave. It is a 10 minute walk. You can also take the underground (1 stop). The exit from the station is next to the hotel's entrance. The hotel's location is also convenient for shopping and sightseeing (5 stops to Duomo). The room was very clean and modern, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was relatively large. All typical for a business hotel. The breakfast buffet was better than I expected it to be. Lots of choice even close to the end of breakfast time. Staff at reception were very kind and helpful. Overall: no negatives.

Room Tip: It is better to choose rooms on higher floors due to quite heavy traffic in the area even at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had a lovely 3 nights at this city hotel. Our room furniture was a little tired, but apart from that everything else about the hotel was lovely. We enjoyed the breakfast, the usual hot and cold buffet with 3 types of croissant and lovely coffee.
The hotel is directly on the metro and just a 2 minute walk from the Central Station. Not in the centre, but easy to get back and forward using the metro, and very convenient to get the train back to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellegrini_Luciano, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest

thanks for your comments and we are happy that his experience at the Crowne Plaza has been positive. Thanks for appreciating our services such as breakfast for us important moment of the day where the guest can find several sweet and savory with a variety of breads, croissants, juices and even soy milk and gluten-free products. But even as our fitness room free for all on the top floor where you can admire the city with a wonderful view.
The staff of the Crowne thanks and hopes to have her still his guest.

L. Pellegrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked this thinking it would be convenient for the train station and Milans tourist areas. It is about a 10 min walk from the station but as we had luggage we went by taxi. The area itself looks a little rundown, in hindsight I wish I had booked closer to Duomo.

The staff dont seem to be interested in helping their guests, they were not very friendly. The room itself does look like the pictures, but be aware that it is small. I think this is common in Italy as the other hotels we stayed at had small rooms, larger bathrooms and very small double beds.

We paid for breakfast as part of our booking but I wish we had not as it was not worth it in anyway. There was a very limited selection, with cold rubbery scrambled eggs which I could not even bear to think about eating, cartoned juice and some meats, cheese and breads. If you wanted to have something edible such as an omlette or fried egg it was at additional cost, which I could not understand as we had already paid extra for breakfast. Its a very odd system and they should make this clear, as we would not have booked the breakfast if we had known.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellegrini_Luciano, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are very sorry that he did not live pleasantly our hotel. Any criticism is always welcomed to improve our services, but it seems that his stay was entirely negative. Personally, I try to make sure our every department, from breakfast where we offer various fresh produce both savory and sweet, a variety of juices, even for celiac disease and biological processes we also offer the evening in our restaurant with a menu for every need. Our rooms have all comforts with a complete courtesy and a free tea and coffee. a wi-fi system the latest generation throughout the hotel free of charge in public areas. A parking lot with a minimum fee for our guests arriving by car and a subway just below the hotel that leads to three stops directly in the city center. For those who need even one of our trusted driver for long trips or short stays. Finally, to our fitness area free for guests.
We would still have the possibility of having our guest to make them change their mind about what I try every day to give to the passion and courtesy that our hotel.

waiting to see you again

L. Pellegrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Crown Plaza Milan City is a good spot for travellers in Milan - very modern, clean, friendly staff and right beside a metro stop. Also importantly and have a GYM, Sauna, Steam Room which have a great view over the city.

Room Tip: Milan streets can be a bit noisy on Saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellegrini_Luciano, Direttore at Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for his comments which give us much satisfaction. This season we also open our outdoor area for a wonderful cocktail prepared by our barman or a dinner in a lovely space close to the ... city.
if you want we also have a facebook page where putting a simple "like" can receive all the news about our hotel and be updated on the most important events in the city
thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan
Address: Via Melchiorre Gioia 73, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Milan
#35 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#35 Family Hotel in Milan
#47 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Milan City is a newly built superior 4 star hotel located in the City business district of Milan and close to the Central Railway Station.Sondrio subway station (yellow line) is aside the hotel to reach the main city attractions like the Cathedral, La Scala Opera House, Sforza Castle.Easy access to the shopping areas of both the 'Fashion District' and Corso Buenos Aires and to the nightlife of Corso Como, full of fashion lounge bars and restaurants. The new Exhibition Centre in Rho/Pero, so as Fieramilano Convention Center are easily reachable by public transportation (red line subway).The Crowne Plaza Milan City boasts totally soundproofed rooms with a stylish design(81 standard rooms, 18 superior rooms, 7 junior suites and 3 family rooms) equipped with WI-FI internet connection, LCD flat screens with DTT Network and Pay-per-View movies system. The hotel also features a fitness center on the roof with view on Milan's skyline with wellness area and saunaCongress facilities up to 120 delegates (including an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people) equipped with WI-FI and latest technological equipment.Restaurant with international and typical cuisine, and a cosy bar overlooking Hotel s Winter Garden . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.