We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing mantegna” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museo di Palazzo Ducale

Museo di Palazzo Ducale
Piazza Sordello 40, 46100 Mantua, Italy
0376-352100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 34 Attractions in Mantua
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Caverns/ Caves, Museums
Attraction details
cambridge uk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Missing mantegna”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Like another reviewer we were hoping to see the Mantegna room and were extremely disappointed to find that it was closed for repair, opening in a few weeks we were told. As it was we enjoyed the visit on a wonderful sunny day and would have visited the palace anyway as we were staying in Piazza Sordello but there was no mention outside, that we could see, of the missing Mantegna's .We should have checked on the interenet first I suppose.
We got in free after showing our passpots as proof of being over 65 so were not feeling as cheated as we might have been.
The Pisanello room is interesting especially the preparatory drawing in the ajoining room which shows the process and Pisanello's drawing skills .The elaborately decorated rooms are worh seeing too and it is interesting to ponder on the fantastic wealth and power that created the enormous edifice that dominates the town.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    152
    61
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“A huge palazzo- lots to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A very big palazzo, with an endless amount of beautiful rooms filled with beautiful art work. Very recommended!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Mantegna's Camera degli Sposi closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were hoping to see Mantegna's Camera degli Sposi as the highlight here, only to find that the Castello di San Giorgio where it is situated has been closed to the public to repair earthquake damage. The parts of the palace that we saw were interesting (with some amazing decorated ceilings) and there were a few very fine rooms. However, as the guidebooks explain, most of the furniture and paintings collected by the Gonzagas are now scattered in art galleries and private collections all over the world, and the paintings now in the palace, with a few exceptions, are not of great interest. So, by all means go (entrance is €6.50) but without the Mantegna room, for us the visit was rather a let-down.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ichtegem, Belgium
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
402 helpful votes 402 helpful votes
“Just an old empty building, palais du papes in France is more interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just another old and empty building to visit. Interesting but empty. You can't take pictures or videos, but we don't know why because there's nothing inside to take pictures of... The bridal rooms was closed also but the entrance fee was the same, no discount. Explanation in italian and english. If you want a automatic tour guide you'll have to pay extra. Some rooms were beautifull (fresco's, tapestries, ...) other were not so beautifull because there's wasn't much to see. There's a vending machine with water and soda's for a very fair price (0,5 and 0,8 euros) which was nice. But the palais du papes in avignon is much more interesting to visit than this building.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited this palace with 3 children. The visit takes at least one hour and spans across the centuries. From the middle ages to 1700 you find different paintings and room decorations to suit all tastes.
The palace is amazing and well worth a visit. The children are free, so it does not break the bank either.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo di Palazzo Ducale also viewed

Mantua, Province of Mantua
 
Mantua, Province of Mantua
Mantua, Province of Mantua
 

Been to Museo di Palazzo Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo di Palazzo Ducale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.