We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare" to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via mazzini 14, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 35 hotels in Stresa
Auckland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The location of this hotel is great - only metres from the waterfront and ferries, right in the middle of the village. Parking nearby is a slight problem. But they helpfully assisted us with getting our luggage from the car. The room was spacious and clean, overlooking the lane below.

Room Tip: The new rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
6
21
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A good location in a nice village.Good service and a helpful ower.
The lady of the house need to cool down a bit. Its tourists she speaks with, not an employee.
She have to tink about her heart. Problem with the temp.balance in the shower.The breakfast was a disappointmant.Specificallyl the bread. The juice tasted a bit like a mix with water.Rooms OK, but not all. Better cleaning in the shower area wood help.I wood like to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way from Florence to Switzerland, and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly, the price very reasonable, the location great and the breakfast very nice. Stresa is a most beautiful little town. If we have the opportunity to visit Stresa again, we will certainly stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Booked an economy room for the weekend .
We arrived in the evening , no reception ( it's all done in the resturant)j.
The room was dark and dingy,very basic and sparse poor furniture in bedroom.
The cleaning was average and cleaner, cleaning floors at 8.30 on a Saturday morning did not help.The room had the smallest shower I have ever used (or tried to).
Breakfast is taken in the resturant and is very very basic.
I would describe this as a resturant with a few rooms.
I have stayed in Stresa many times, this is the worst hotel I've stayed in .
There are many other hotels which provide much better value for a few euros more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Nice staff. Cheap rates. We got a double toom for 60 euros including an okay breakfast. Hotel was centrally located. Remote control for TV did not work.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

Good location. There is no hotel reception and no indication that the restaurant counter is where to check in. The receptionist did not smile or make you feel welcome. The waiter showed us to our rooms but ran right ahead so we could barely keep up with our heavy bags. The room was small but clean. The shower cubicle was tiny, every time you turn around you accidentally knock off the shower tap. The breakfast was terrible. A shrivelled up apple and some cracker breads with butter and jam. The maid is up from the crack of dawn hoovering and clashing about so no chance of sleeping past 7am. The keys are kept in the restaurant and if you are back after the restaurant is closed the keys are left on the table in the lobby which is not locked or manned so security is doubtful. In summary, book somewhere else.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

Recently stayed for 4 nights in Stresa. Stresa is a great place, but I would not go back to this hotel. We didn't think the people at the front desk were particularly friendly, and they occasionally ignored us whilst speaking to their friends on the phone. Breakfast was the worst we had in Italy - stale bread (with jam/nutella) and seemingly, the previous night's dessert! (I know because i had the dessert the previous night). Rooms were basic and small. Toilet seat broken.

Good location, but that's about it. There seem to be plenty of other hotels in Stresa....try elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare"

Address: Via mazzini 14, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare" 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ristorante "Da Cesare" Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ristorante "da Cesare", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.