We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elena to your Saves list
Hotel Elena
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cadorna 15, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Just back from an eight night stay at this hotel in wonderful Stresa. I had an extremely comfortable stay at this lovely little hotel. It sits right on the busy main square so is ideal for getting to the town and ferry terminal.
I had a nice little room at the back of the hotel which was nice and quiet looking over the mountains ,with a nice balcony for sitting out in the sun. Although the rooms are fairly basic they are kept spotlessly clean.
Service was fantastic, a family run it and they could not have been more friendly amd helpful. Breakfast was very good with unlimited cups of amazing coffee.
Also the charge for bottled water in rooms unlike most hotels is very good.
5 star service for 1 star price. Look forward to returning next year.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    60
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
83
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is a small family hotel smack dab in the middle of Stresa. Right in the central piazza.
We were on the third floor I think, and from our room we could see snow capped mountains in the distance, and enjoy watching the comings and goings in the piazza below.
Noise was not an issue.
This location was absolutely excellent.
Room facilities and cleanliness were adequate.
Breakfasts were adequate.
The hotel is run by Laura and her husband Marco(?), both of whom are courteous and helpful.
There is a choice of good restaurants only a few steps from the front door, the ferry wharf is 3 or 4 minutes walk away.
This is not luxury accommodation, but it is everything that any reasonable person could wish for.
We did inspect several other hotels in Stresa while we were there, including a couple of very much more expensive ones. We did not see any that we considered to preferable to Hotel Elena, even had they been priced at the same rate as Hotel Elena.
This is an excellent small hotel and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Spent our first night in Italy in Stresa. The Hotel Elena is a wonderful location. Right on the main square. The quad room was tight but clean and comfortable. It had a great balcony overlooking the town, square and mountains. The breakfast was good and it was fun sitting on the patio/cafe sipping a few beverages.

I would recommend the Hotel Elena to a budget minded traveler looking for a walkable location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here for a week in the summer with our two small children. The location is very convenient, right on the piazza. It's a very very basic hotel, but very clean and convenient. Family run with excellent service and a pretty good breakfast. We were out all day everyday and sat on the balcony of an evening watching the world go by whilst our kids slept. Would stay here again for sure. Excellent for the budget conscious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

clean quiet room, helpful staff, large delicious breakfast, central location -- I would stay there again

clean quiet room, helpful staff, large delicious breakfast, central location -- I would stay there again

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center but the lake is available for swimming & hiking the many local trails...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is located in the square in the centre of the old town, a couple of minutes from the pier where the boats leave from, and about 15 minutes' walk from the railway station.

The rooms are slightly old fashioned but clean and functional. We took the advice in other reviews to ask for one at the rear so as to be quieter, and had a pleasant outlook over houses and gardens to the hills beyond.

Breakfast was very good with a good supply of bread, rolls, cold meat, cheese, cake, and fruit.

I'd be happy to stay there again if we returned to Stresa. The town itself is probably one of the best places on the lake for setting off on the Lake Maggiore Express and boat trips, and also has access to the cable car to Mottarone, and a pleasant walk to Belgirate. It feels completely safe to walk around and has plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Excellent hotel in the best spot in Stresa - good clean rooms and extremely friendly staff - mother and son team [Laura & Marco] are so helpful and assist with local information. A local hotel worth returning to.

Room Tip: Great rooms overlooking the local square or if you wish for a quieter room - the back rooms have stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elena

Address: Piazza Cadorna 15, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Elena 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elena Hotel Stresa
Hotel Elena Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.