We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Elena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elena
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cadorna 15, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
western australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated at the square. The family owners are very helpful. We had a very comfortable stay in this great hotel. It may only be two stars but leaves many 4 stars hotels behind. It is two stars as no fridge or air conditioning. The overhead fan and open windows were better than any air conditioner. We will return here again as the hotel was great and the town of stresa beautiful. We are fussy with hotels and generally stay 4 or 5 star, but this is worth every euro. Downstairs bar and meal was good.

Room Tip: Worth staying high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    57
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
79
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We twice stopped at the bar of this hotel for coffee. In fact it was only on the second visit that we noticed that it was also the reception for a hotel. Coffee and cakes excellent, as breakfast must be.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

A family run hotel that is close to everything in Stresa including being within walking distance of the station. We were given a generous size room with a small balcony and wonderful view and a spotlessly clean bathroom. Most importantly there was a lift to get our heavy cases to our room. The breakfast included fresh fruit and as much coffee as we wanted. We had a very comfortable stay and highly recommend the Hotel Elena.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

A charming hotel on Stresa's main piazza with a bar at the front and breakfast room at the back. Our room was on the fourth floor with views over town and towards the hills. Bathroom was lovely and everything was clean. Continental breakfast was fine. The owner is a business-like lady who's friendly but not the type who'd want to know your life story; the bar is run by her son and daughter. We've previously stayed at one of the grand lakeside hotels and Elena is more our type of place. No restaurant but plenty of reasonably priced restaurants nearby. We didn't find the location noisy at night but in high season some might, particularly if your room overlooks the square.

Room Tip: Some might find rooms overlooking the square a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is gloomy and old-fashioned. Room small. No designer interiors here! But - scrupulously clean! Lovely comfy bed with spotless white starched sheets. Extra big fluffy pillows. A thick mohair rug/throw provided for a bit of extra warmth as the sun went down. A tiny balcony with a little table and chair and, being at the back of the hotel and on the top floor, an amazing view. Water in the little fridge at a reasonable price, no rip-off here. A delicious breakfast included in the price. Fabulously convenient for everything. I cannot recommend it enough. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlook the square. A bit noisy until the bars and restaurants close. I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Tiny family run hotel is in the heart of Stresa.Easy access by foot to all places in town. Clean rooms but no A/C. The beds were not the greatest.The family that owns it provided excellent service, and the continental breakfast was great! I

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This small family run hotel is right on the piazza and within walking distance of almost everything. The rooms are clean but very basic. The breakfast is good, the Illy coffee great and you can have a aperitivo on the front porch and people watch. There are many good restaurants nearby. If you are looking for a good value I recommend Hotel Elena.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elena

Address: Piazza Cadorna 15, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Elena 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elena Hotel Stresa
Hotel Elena Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.