We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar only for coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elena to your Saves list
Hotel Elena
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cadorna 15, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Alcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Bar only for coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We twice stopped at the bar of this hotel for coffee. In fact it was only on the second visit that we noticed that it was also the reception for a hotel. Coffee and cakes excellent, as breakfast must be.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    60
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
83
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

A family run hotel that is close to everything in Stresa including being within walking distance of the station. We were given a generous size room with a small balcony and wonderful view and a spotlessly clean bathroom. Most importantly there was a lift to get our heavy cases to our room. The breakfast included fresh fruit and as much coffee as we wanted. We had a very comfortable stay and highly recommend the Hotel Elena.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

A charming hotel on Stresa's main piazza with a bar at the front and breakfast room at the back. Our room was on the fourth floor with views over town and towards the hills. Bathroom was lovely and everything was clean. Continental breakfast was fine. The owner is a business-like lady who's friendly but not the type who'd want to know your life story; the bar is run by her son and daughter. We've previously stayed at one of the grand lakeside hotels and Elena is more our type of place. No restaurant but plenty of reasonably priced restaurants nearby. We didn't find the location noisy at night but in high season some might, particularly if your room overlooks the square.

Room Tip: Some might find rooms overlooking the square a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is gloomy and old-fashioned. Room small. No designer interiors here! But - scrupulously clean! Lovely comfy bed with spotless white starched sheets. Extra big fluffy pillows. A thick mohair rug/throw provided for a bit of extra warmth as the sun went down. A tiny balcony with a little table and chair and, being at the back of the hotel and on the top floor, an amazing view. Water in the little fridge at a reasonable price, no rip-off here. A delicious breakfast included in the price. Fabulously convenient for everything. I cannot recommend it enough. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlook the square. A bit noisy until the bars and restaurants close. I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Tiny family run hotel is in the heart of Stresa.Easy access by foot to all places in town. Clean rooms but no A/C. The beds were not the greatest.The family that owns it provided excellent service, and the continental breakfast was great! I

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This small family run hotel is right on the piazza and within walking distance of almost everything. The rooms are clean but very basic. The breakfast is good, the Illy coffee great and you can have a aperitivo on the front porch and people watch. There are many good restaurants nearby. If you are looking for a good value I recommend Hotel Elena.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located on the town piazza and about a 2 minutes walk from the ferry port. The rooms were basic but clean with flat screen TV and small shower only bathroom. Our room was at the rear of the hotel and had a balcony with nice views over the town. The rooms at the front have balconies overlooking the piazza.

Staff spoke English and were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was cereal, bread, cold meats, cheese, yogurt and fruit. It was simple and very good.

There are lots of eating places close to the hotel.

We parked by the lake for free. The hotel does have parking but we did not use it.

Would recommend this good value place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elena

Address: Piazza Cadorna 15, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Elena 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elena Hotel Stresa
Hotel Elena Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.