We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful island based charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belvedere to your Saves list
Hotel Belvedere
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Mezzo | Isola Pescatori, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Staffs, England
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Wonderful island based charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We came here at the beginning of the season and it was quiet, but we thought our one night stay was excellent. Our second floor was bright and airy, and the views to the east across the lake were fantastic. The bathroom - shower only - was fine, but basic, and those annoying sachets of shampoo and tiny packets of soap a a bit of a let down. Dinner was very good and presented lake fish well. Breakfast was also good and with plenty of choice - and exceptional service.

The highlight to me is staying on a small island, and waking to those spectacular views. The evening v morning light make a huge difference to the way the mountains and lake appear. In our view the place was excellent and we slept deeply to the sound of the lake outside. For room choice, I think I preferred our 2nd floor lake view room with the small two seater balcony on which to sit and marvel. The larger balcony is right underneath and lacks privacy, and means the room is some way back.

There are several places to eat on the island - which is small (we walked around the whole island in 15 mins) - from larger formal restaurants near the pier to tiny back street cafes. Have your camera ready on the ferry as you approach/leave too!

Room Tip: Lake view is a must - 2nd floor small balcony or less private large 1st floor balcony? I'd go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Client,
thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you find your stay pleasant and that you appreciated the calm atmosphere of the island.
We know that the amenities offered in the bathrooms are not the best one, and we are looking for an alternative.

Thank you for your message, it will help us in improving the quality of our offer.

Kindest regards

Paco Garofoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    69
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
186
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We are a young couple who travel often and rely on trip advisor to choose great hotels with a fair price. Hotel Belvedere has the potential to be very special but, unfortunately it is not, because it neglects some aspects that could be easily solved. Here's our view of pluses and minuses:
+ Very romantic location and the view from the room is one of the best in the island
+ Renovated rooms in parquet, airy, fresh and clean...Ours was the one with terrace and it was quite large. The terrace is fantastic.
+ Free boat pick up service for customers arriving in the evening or at night, after the public boats stop working. The boat trip to the island in the evening is, by itself, a very special moment
+ The price is fair
+ The heating works well and so does and internet
+ The service is friendly
And now the minuses, which jeopardize everything:
- The ‘double bed’ is simply two old single beds put together under the same sheets. If you are a couple, either each of you sleeps strictly on your side or, inevitably, one of you will have an uncomfortable sleep due to the beds tearing apart
- The bed cover is very old fashioned and gives the same look to the entire room. The room would look much nicer with a different cover or a normal duvet.
- The only ‘curtains’ are just that very thin white tissue, transparent. There are no opaque curtains to block the sun light. So if you are not used to it, you will wake up early.

Finally, a couple of things that are OK but could be improved. The breakfast is served from 8:15 to 10 (which is somewhat early, in our opinion)... maybe because we got there at 9:45 there was not much choice anymore. For dinner we tried the restaurant in the day of our arrival. It has a nice view but the food is just OK. We suggest that you specifically request to be seated in the main room, because it is much nicer than the adjacent room. If the weather is good, seat outside.
All in all, the hotel is OK for one night, but in our opinion could be much better if it improved on some aspects, especially the bed.

Room Tip: If you can, get the room with the terrace (there is only 1). It is great to sunbath in the morning o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Client,
Thank you for your interesting and detailed review about our hotel.
It is very interesting for us receiving a review from a couple who travel a lot as you.

We are pleased that you appreciated the location and the romantic atmosphere, the cleaning of the rooms and the service.

Concerning the “minus” we know that the bed are not very comfortable, but the solution to have two single beds allows us to divide them when we have people asking for a room with two single beds. We are thinking about a solution (like a thick cover for the mattress) to avoid people to feel the gap between the two beds.
Also concerning the bed covers, we agree that they are a little old fashion, and we will probably change them next season...we are thinking about something to give to the room a more fresh look.

Concerning the curtains, we preferred this kind instead of thick, dark curtains, to allow a better view of the lake: we do not want any affected and too rich furnishing into the rooms that can call away the attention from the lake view: this is the reason why the furnishing is so poor and simple.
To partially block the sun light, windows are provided with dark shutters that can be closed at evening.

Concerning breakfast, at the time being we cannot extend the time of service, since at 12.00 we start serving lunch and we need time to prepare the dining room after breakfast. It can happens that at 9.45 the buffet is not as rich as it is at 8.15, but we are always ready to prepare something fresh to the clients, asking them what they prefer (eggs, ham, cheese, cakes, fresh fruit).
Thank you again for your comments, that will help us in improving our offer.

Kindest regards

Paco Garofoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

every year i travel with 2 sisters to some beautiful place in europe where we can take long walks, eat great food and catch up--- this year a fourth met us and we ended up at the belvedere on isola pescatori for two nights. we can be very hard to please as we have traveled a lot and have high expectations. all the emails that passed between us and the hotel were professionally handled in a timely fashion. changes we made were handled without issue. when we arrived we were a little disturbed by the not too impressive entrance and were told by the desk that there was a wedding party that night. oh lord, we thought, a nightmare-- paco assured us we would not find it disturbing, and you know, he was right. in our experience it is not simply the look of the property that makes the trip, but something more visceral. we were made to feel at home, truly welcomed, from the first moment. this is not a corporate or absent owner hotel. the people that really care about the business are there all the time. when one member of our party left to go back to paris, we changed rooms, and a simple bottle of hand lotion we left behind in the first room appeared in the new room-- the waiters were extremely friendly, fun, and the food very good-- and our room with an enormous terrace afforded a lovely place to people watch during the busy day and enjoy the quiet lake ambiance at night--- great breakfast, too. when we left we needed a hotel in milan for our last 2 days and the desk staff spent half an hour on the computer and phone finding us one. for such a touristy location, we were expecting far less of a warm welcome-- honestly, i cant say enough good about this place-- in our years of traveling together, we all agreed that this was a top experience- at any price---- they will go out of their way to make you happy.

Room Tip: the room with the HUGE terrace is the same price as the one with balcony and is hard to believe-- o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Client (and friends!)

thank you very much for you nice review and comments about my hotel and my staff!

I am really pleased in reading that you appreciated the atmosphere of the Belvedere: we want our clients to feel at home, we try our best to make them happy and relaxed.

The opinion of an expert traveller, as you and your friend are, is very important for us!

Hoping to see you again in our peaceful island, kindest regards

Paco Garofoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Belvedere on Isola Pescatori on our first day of a 17 day Italy tour. We had a warm welcome for the staff. The rooms both had a balcony overlooking Lake Maggiore. And after the last tourist boats left we had a peaceful beautiful Island to explore. We had a delicious dinner at the restaurant at the hotel. The waiter was fun and accommodating. The owner made us scrambled eggs for breakfast along with the usual rolls and juice and coffee. I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. I only wish that we had more than one night here. A perfect start to a great trip.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the 2nd floor, if you can't do stairs perhaps this wouldn't be for you. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear client,
thank you very much for your review about out hotel. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Belvedere and appreciated the effort that I and my staff always do to make our guest feel welcome and "at home".
We really hope to welcoming you again on the island!
Paco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fabulous location, views and relaxed atmosphere.

Enjoy the peace with the waves gently lapping at the waters edge and relive the days before the pace of our lives was dictated by mobile phones and email.

Paco and all his staff work very hard to make sure your stay at the Belvedere is delightful.
If you are out exploring, a boat is available to collect you if you miss the last ferry at 6.30pm.
The fact you need to travel to and from the island by the lake boats makes the hotel feel all the more special and it is, without doubt, the best hotel we have stayed at during our various trips to Italy over the last few years.

We look forward to returning for more Prosecco and Limoncello evenings on the terrace.

P.S - the wifi and the phone signal is great if you can't be persuaded to wind down..

The room was exceptionally clean and well presented. We had the luxury of a terrace which overlooked the lake and we enjoyed sitting out and looking across at the lights on the mainland in the evening with the occasional quack from the ducks as the only sound. Perfect...

Room Tip: Go for a lake view room - you won't regret it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear client,
thank you for your nice comments about the Belvedere. We are happy that you liked your stay, the relaxed and peaceful atmosphere of the island and of our small and quiet hotel.
We really hope to see you again on the island, to enjoy a glass of limoncello on the terrace together! Thanks and kindest regards

Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Usually, a hotel's pictures will look a whole lot better than the actual rooms. This is one of the rare experiences where the rooms (or, at least, the one where we stayed) are actually much better. It looked like they did a substantial renevation since the pictures were taken -- we had a "double room with lake view and balcony" (room 303, I think), and it was gorgeous. New, modern bed (not the paired twin beds with iron headboard in the pictures); new, modern fixtures; huge amounts of space.

The biggest disappointment may well have been the shower ... and that's only because it was so new that the best functions weren't working yet. As is, it was a rain-shower head, and lovely. But it was also apparently equipped with side jets and "aromatherapy scents" that weren't working when we were there. Still, I expected a "7," and got a "10" ... and I only call the shower a "disappointment" because had it all been working, it would have been an "11."

We stayed here the night before an early flight out of Malpensa, and could not have been happier with the decision.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Justin,
thank you very much for your review!

The room you stayed in, 303, is our junior suite, this is why it is different in size and furniture to the other rooms. On our web site you can find some pictures of this room too!

We are sorry for the discomfort of the shower: we have had a strong storm on the island, almost one month ago, and in that occasion the electronic components of the shower got broken. We are still waiting for the technician to change this part, this is the reason why at the time being this shower is functioning as a normal shower. We really hope to fix the problem as soon as possible, since this shower is one of the elements who make room 303 special.

Hoping to welcome you again on the island, thank you and best regards

Paco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Belvere Hotel & Restaurant is well located in the centre of Isola dei Pescatori. Suggest anyone going to the island to use the main ferry service from Baveno. Parking is free if you park in white lined parking areas. The room we had overlooked the lake in the direction of Verbania and a small balcony overlooking the restaurant courtyard and Baveno in the distance. Nice views. As our visit was in slightly cooler weather we did not use the balcony and would caution that it might be noisy in the mid summer nights when the doors might be left open. The room was to a good standard, but no stand-up shower. This was inconvenient, and there was no bath curtain or surround to keep the bathroom from getting a good spraying. The tub did have hydro jets so if one prefers bathing to shower, it's perfect. The restaurant is in two sections, inside and in the courtyard when weather is good. The inside area is nice and the full glass panels really permit the beauty of Lake Maggiore to be appreciated. We had breakfast only in the hotel which was buffet style. The dinner menu was dominated by fish dishes, which was fine, but not much variety if something else was desired. The staff at the Belvedere were very good and attentive, no faults here! Pity there was no lounge area for guests to enjoy with such views...so it's either in the room or restaurant, if you want to enjoy a prosecco or crodino before a meal, or simply to relax.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, and not facing courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco G, Proprietario at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Client,
thank you very much for your review on our hotel.
I am happy that you appreciated the service and the athmosphere and I thank you for your comments about the aspects that we can improve to make our hotel better equipped; in particular, we will try to modify the bathrooms with bathtub so that the guest that don't like to have a bath can have a proper shower.

Hoping to welcome you again in our hotel, thank you again and best regards

Paco G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Via di Mezzo | Isola Pescatori, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stresa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere, located on the quite Isola dei Pescatori, is the right place to forget about stress and relax on the sound of the lake's waves. It is located in and historical building, recently renewed. Six of the 8 double rooms have the see on the lake; all of them have the private bathroom with shower or bath tub, heating, air conditioning, telephone, satellite TV, WIFI connection free of charge. Our restaurant has a wide dining room on the lake and is open every day, for lunch and dinner. The island is connected to the mainland by the public boats, leaving from Stresa and Baveno every 30 minutes, from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. We can organize a transfer by motorboat after 7 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Stresa
Hotel Belvedere Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.