We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, Cute B&B in Stresa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mon Toc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mon Toc to your Saves list
Mon Toc
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Duchessa di Genova 69, 28838, Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Quiet, Cute B&B in Stresa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I traveled to Stresa in July 2013 for four nights with a friend of mine. We wanted to stay in a cute little B&B in a slightly quieter part of town and Mon Toc was perfect for us. It was a relatively easy, albeit half uphill, walk from the center of town - about 10 minutes from the Alibus stop. No problem. Our room was very clean and of adequate size, and the WiFi worked very well. The pillows and beds were comfortable. They do not have AC in the rooms but this really was not a problem - we slept with the windows open every night and there was a cool breeze (the temp drops in Stresa at night, very pleasant for walking around). The breakfast was a typical European breakfast: juice, coffee, cereals, pastries, yogurt. We were quite satisfied with it. We also had dinner one night in their restaurant; it was fantastic and very reasonably priced. About half of their staff speaks some English, some do not, but I see this as my problem - not theirs. The entire staff was courteous and professional. They held my bags for a few hours after check out so I could explore the town a bit more. I could not have been more pleased with my stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and en suite bathroom if possible. They are a bit bigger. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was part of our intrepid Rome to Paris trip and was satisfactory for the two nights we stayed. Others in our group didn't fare so well as their room didn't have an en suite. Overall it was okay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I booked this pension for a two night stay with my family. The booking conditions clearly stated that children under 4 slept in their parents bed free of charge and children over 4 could stay in a cot for a surcharge. In my request for a cot I clearly stated it was for my 7 year old. When we arrived there was no cot, and the owner was upset and complained loudly when I showed him the written request (he thought I could not understand Italian). From that moment on he was overtly rude. Additionally, though the pension advertised free internet 24 hours a day for guests, I was presented with a ticket for limited hours. When I requested more, the owner told me he would not be renewing the ticket any more, and gave me ONE additional hour (again complaining loudly). Unfortunately, I have to say that our stay here was the worst time we spent in Italy. I believe the hotel should be one of the best parts of a visit, especially for the price. We will not be returning here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCtoStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stresa hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
NY
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am a little late reviewing, stayed mid Sept 2012. As noted, Mon Toc is very convenient to train station, exit the station to the right, down to the underpass and up the hill a couple of blocks - it is well signed.
From the lake level it is a bit of a hike up the hill, but quite doable.

Mon Toc is in a largely residential area so you do get noise durinig the day, but pleasantly quiet in the later evening and overnight. You also miss the loud bells in the center of town.
A nice breakfast included, you always sit at the table with your room number.
Very clean and comfortable room and bathroom, but shower a little small, not unusual for Italy.

It was somewhat difficult to communicate, but that is our problem, not theirs but everything worked out. We were especially happy with the prop's husband who booked us a taxi for 6 AM and then arranged for his wife to be up to see us out at that very early hour.
I did not see any air conditioning if that is a factor, but was cool during our stay.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

A pleasant few days, enjoyable breakfast and dinner in nice dining room. Friendly female staff. Clean room. Bit of a hike up the hill with backpack tho! Nice views from rooms. Be sure to check out the view from the downstairs toilet.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the mountains and a little over the lake. No fans available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemariemccaskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We booked this hotel because we generally prefer older, converted, small buildings to new generic ones. And the Mon Toc was as pleasant and charming as we expected in many respects. However, our room was tiny! A large balcony helped to alleviate the cramped space a bit. But barely a foot of space separated the end of the bed from the bathroom cubicle built into one corner. The shower stall was literally a stall, so small you couldn't bend over if you dropped the soap.

The desk clerk spoke almost no English, but the waitress at breakfast was fluent in 3 languages and very helpful. The breakfast was a typical buffet, ample but limited (no fruit, no boiled egg, no toast). The coffee was disappointing. We ordered a cappuccino and it tasted only of hot milk. We asked for a black filtered coffee: very weak, like colored water. So next morning, I requested an espresso. Finally, a caffeine kick -- but it was stale-tasting.

The location was quite a ways back from the lakefront, which meant it was very quiet. It is also within easy walking distance to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyinAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a wonderful, old fashioned family run hotel, and a great value for Stresa. It would be an excellent choice for train or car travelers and we had no problem walking up from the main road where the Malpensa airport shuttle bus stops. Our room (#15) was spacious, with a comfortable bed and monogramed sheets and towels. We had a shower with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. This room had a little balcony that overlooked the parking lot, and the street was pretty noisy so if you like to sleep with your windows open be sure to request a a different room in advance as some rooms face the large garden and are probably quieter. The room, and all the public areas were very clean and tidy with beautiful flowers and plants, and the back garden was pleasant and restful.
We did not eat dinner at the hotel, only because we enjoyed walking down to the main part of town in the evenings, but the breakfast, served in the beautiful main dining room was a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a room away from the street when you make a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Albergo Sempione
Albergo Sempione
#30 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boston
Hotel Boston
#27 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saini Meuble
Hotel Saini Meuble
#11 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Primavera Hotel
Primavera Hotel
#26 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#7 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Meeting
Hotel Restaurant Meeting
#29 of 36 in Stresa
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mon Toc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Toc

Address: Viale Duchessa di Genova 69, 28838, Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Mon Toc 2*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mon Toc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mon Toc Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing