We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mon Toc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mon Toc to your Saves list
Mon Toc
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Duchessa di Genova 69, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Older hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was part of our intrepid Rome to Paris trip and was satisfactory for the two nights we stayed. Others in our group didn't fare so well as their room didn't have an en suite. Overall it was okay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I booked this pension for a two night stay with my family. The booking conditions clearly stated that children under 4 slept in their parents bed free of charge and children over 4 could stay in a cot for a surcharge. In my request for a cot I clearly stated it was for my 7 year old. When we arrived there was no cot, and the owner was upset and complained loudly when I showed him the written request (he thought I could not understand Italian). From that moment on he was overtly rude. Additionally, though the pension advertised free internet 24 hours a day for guests, I was presented with a ticket for limited hours. When I requested more, the owner told me he would not be renewing the ticket any more, and gave me ONE additional hour (again complaining loudly). Unfortunately, I have to say that our stay here was the worst time we spent in Italy. I believe the hotel should be one of the best parts of a visit, especially for the price. We will not be returning here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am a little late reviewing, stayed mid Sept 2012. As noted, Mon Toc is very convenient to train station, exit the station to the right, down to the underpass and up the hill a couple of blocks - it is well signed.
From the lake level it is a bit of a hike up the hill, but quite doable.

Mon Toc is in a largely residential area so you do get noise durinig the day, but pleasantly quiet in the later evening and overnight. You also miss the loud bells in the center of town.
A nice breakfast included, you always sit at the table with your room number.
Very clean and comfortable room and bathroom, but shower a little small, not unusual for Italy.

It was somewhat difficult to communicate, but that is our problem, not theirs but everything worked out. We were especially happy with the prop's husband who booked us a taxi for 6 AM and then arranged for his wife to be up to see us out at that very early hour.
I did not see any air conditioning if that is a factor, but was cool during our stay.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

A pleasant few days, enjoyable breakfast and dinner in nice dining room. Friendly female staff. Clean room. Bit of a hike up the hill with backpack tho! Nice views from rooms. Be sure to check out the view from the downstairs toilet.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the mountains and a little over the lake. No fans available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We booked this hotel because we generally prefer older, converted, small buildings to new generic ones. And the Mon Toc was as pleasant and charming as we expected in many respects. However, our room was tiny! A large balcony helped to alleviate the cramped space a bit. But barely a foot of space separated the end of the bed from the bathroom cubicle built into one corner. The shower stall was literally a stall, so small you couldn't bend over if you dropped the soap.

The desk clerk spoke almost no English, but the waitress at breakfast was fluent in 3 languages and very helpful. The breakfast was a typical buffet, ample but limited (no fruit, no boiled egg, no toast). The coffee was disappointing. We ordered a cappuccino and it tasted only of hot milk. We asked for a black filtered coffee: very weak, like colored water. So next morning, I requested an espresso. Finally, a caffeine kick -- but it was stale-tasting.

The location was quite a ways back from the lakefront, which meant it was very quiet. It is also within easy walking distance to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a wonderful, old fashioned family run hotel, and a great value for Stresa. It would be an excellent choice for train or car travelers and we had no problem walking up from the main road where the Malpensa airport shuttle bus stops. Our room (#15) was spacious, with a comfortable bed and monogramed sheets and towels. We had a shower with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. This room had a little balcony that overlooked the parking lot, and the street was pretty noisy so if you like to sleep with your windows open be sure to request a a different room in advance as some rooms face the large garden and are probably quieter. The room, and all the public areas were very clean and tidy with beautiful flowers and plants, and the back garden was pleasant and restful.
We did not eat dinner at the hotel, only because we enjoyed walking down to the main part of town in the evenings, but the breakfast, served in the beautiful main dining room was a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for a room away from the street when you make a reservation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

A short walk from the train station, a nice garden in the back. I enjoyed my room and it was clean and quiet. Each room is different, with older style closets, doors, locks, some have very small bathrooms (common in Italy). I slept well. The loudest noise were the birds singing in the morning; the windows opened fully.

Breakfast was simple but complete. For example, breakfast included granola, muesli, corn flakes and a bran cereal with either milk or yogurt, as well as cheeses, meat slices, assorted breads, pastries, fruit, etc. Great coffee, nice seating area. WIFI is available - it was 3 Euro for 5 hours, maybe 5 Euro for 10 hours, or something like that and it worked well.

The restaurant is very good, too. The chef makes different specials every evening, local food, nice wine. No elevator, but they carried by bags up and down and I didn't ask them to. They served a group of 12 traveling together, family style and they all enjoyed it.

I will go back.

Room Tip: Ask about the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mon Toc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mon Toc

Address: Viale Duchessa di Genova 69, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mon Toc 2*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mon Toc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mon Toc Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mon Toc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.