We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ten visits and counting...."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Hotel Boston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Duchessa di Genova, 13, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
rochester
1 review
“"Ten visits and counting...."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in June at the end of a tour. Like my nine previous experiences residing
in Hotel Boston, it was wonderful. I still am thrilled departing the train and walking the short distance down the hill to the hotel to see Lake Maggiore only a block away and the to enjoy the comfortable atmosphere created by the family who own and manage Hotel Boston. The entire staff has always been friendly, kind and helpful with no exceptions. From the generous breakfast to collecting my key late at night after perhaps a concert, I am greeted with genuine warm words by the servers,maids and clerks. The beach, boat launch, restaurants and village center are all located an easy 5 min.walk from the hotel. I usually fly out of Milan and there is a great shuttle service that the staff will arrange for you. Think it cost E12 in June and the trip is only an hour
in length with great views of the lake most of the journey. Perhaps I like Hotel Boston so much
for in 1996 on my first visit the experience relaxed me so much that a few days later I climbed
to the top of the Matterhorn also for the first time. Though I travel 2-3 times each year from the
East coast of the States for foreign destinations, combining a few days in Stresa at Hotel Boston on each end of a week hiking in the Alps around Zermatt is my favorite travel joy. One does not
need to stay at the larger, fancier hotels with their costly rates to have a great time in Stresa. If
you check with the staff at Hotel Boston you can learn an incredible amount of information to
better enjoy your visit. I often like to attend small, free music concerts in the annex of La Palma
which is right across the street. I can't wait for my return to Hotel Boston in Stresa.

Room Tip: If you appreciate a sense of spaciousness, the top floor of Hotel Boston was added about decade ago...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    25
    9
    10
See reviews for
21
54
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Stayed 7 nights at the Hotel Boston. Location of the hotel is good as its within easy walking distance of the lake, shops and restaurants. The friendliness and helpfulness you received at Reception depended on who was on duty. The younger staff were very helpful but this cannot be said of all the staff. Ladies, it may be best to bring a hairdryer as they are not present in all rooms. The hotel has some spares but if these have already been allocated to other customers you may be out of luck. We asked for an extra pillow on day one and we had to ask again on day three before one appeared.
Our room on the first floor was small and basic but generally clean and adequate. However, the shower is very small and some of the smaller towels were like drying with sheets of sandpaper. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is noisy in terms of hearing flushing toilets, scrapping of chairs etc which can start to wake you at 6 a.m. onwards.
The breakfast is a typical continental buffet with limited choice, flavoured water masquerading as fruit juice and no toaster for making toast. Coffee is not served in coffee pots but in open jugs so it generally arrives lukewarm. There were times when items such as cereals ran out and were not replaced.
Appreciate that this is a three star hotel but there is definitely room for improvement.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights. Had a lovely room (4th floor) with a balcony and view of the lake over the rooftops of the buildings in front. Staff were friendly. Paid for off street parking but didn't need to as always parks outside. Easy stroll into town along the beautiful lakeside. Easy walk from the railway station too. Room was big enough and clean. Breakfast was basic but fine - waitress remembered our drinks each morning. Quiet at night. .

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view. Hotel private parking is expensive. Seemed to be plenty of parks on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Hotel Boston is set one street back from the lakeside of Lake Maggiore. We had an end room on the top floor which was an additional floor added on a few years ago. The room was good with a lovely modern shower room and super views of the lake depite being behind the La Palma Hotel. The hotel is clean and the staff are very helpful and multi-lingual. Breakfast is a simple buffet but the food is fresh and tasty and there is always plenty of it. The breakfast waitress, Maria, deserves a mention. She was very friendly and always remembers people's drinks preferences. The location is great being only a 5 minute walk into Stresa centre and it is on a quiet street so there is very little noise. The only downsides were the weak wifi signal in our room and the very limited parking. I had email confirmation of a reserved parking space but when we arrived we were told there weren't any spaces avaiable and just to park in one of the adjacent streets (which is easier said than done). All in all we had a thoroughly enjoyable 6 night stay here and would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Top floor or 3rd floor with lake view. Costs extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Worst Hotel ever.Dirty small rooms, smells urin. Shower Looks like it is not cleaned in years. Floors sticky and not washed. Bad breakfast,Hotel is not cleaned in years. Wifi is not working, no free parking as promised cost 13. Should be a 1star Hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from both the railway station and the lake shore, so very convenient for boat trips and train transfers. We had a room on the top floor with a lake view balcony. The room was simply furnished but clean and comfortable. The breakfast each morning was fine, with a fairly standard spread on the cold buffet and hot croissants from the waitress. The staff were all friendly and tried to be as helpful as possible. The sound proofing between rooms is not the best I've come across, but this didn't really impact upon our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I returned from a 5 night stay at the Hotel Boston yesterday and found it a bit disappointing, the breakfast consisted of a buffet containing a yogurt pot, bread,two cereal options, cheese, ham, and croissants prefilled with marmalade, it would have been nice to have a toaster or some fruit.

We also opened a strawberry jam to find it full of mould and our bedsheets were not changed once during the visit, this didn't bother me as much but, in general the cleaning of the rooms was very poor and you could hear everything that went on in the hotel at night.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel, there are nicer ones in the area for a similar price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Address: Viale Duchessa di Genova, 13, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located just a stone's throw from the historical centre of Stresa, the railway station, the Congress Hall and boarding docks for ferries to the Borromean Islands. The Boston is a small, family managed 3 star hotel in Stresa, completely renovated in the winter of 2011/2012 and complete with all facilities: Wi-Fi available throughout the entire hotel is free, lift, bag deposit, breakfast hall, leisure reading and TV room. All rooms are with balconies,(Superior room with lake view too) air conditioning, private bathroom,safe. There is public parking nearby the hotel or private parking (charges apply), and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Stresa
Hotel Boston Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.