We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views and value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Hotel Boston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Duchessa di Genova, 13, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Auckland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Views and value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights. Had a lovely room (4th floor) with a balcony and view of the lake over the rooftops of the buildings in front. Staff were friendly. Paid for off street parking but didn't need to as always parks outside. Easy stroll into town along the beautiful lakeside. Easy walk from the railway station too. Room was big enough and clean. Breakfast was basic but fine - waitress remembered our drinks each morning. Quiet at night. .

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view. Hotel private parking is expensive. Seemed to be plenty of parks on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
24
56
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Hotel Boston is set one street back from the lakeside of Lake Maggiore. We had an end room on the top floor which was an additional floor added on a few years ago. The room was good with a lovely modern shower room and super views of the lake depite being behind the La Palma Hotel. The hotel is clean and the staff are very helpful and multi-lingual. Breakfast is a simple buffet but the food is fresh and tasty and there is always plenty of it. The breakfast waitress, Maria, deserves a mention. She was very friendly and always remembers people's drinks preferences. The location is great being only a 5 minute walk into Stresa centre and it is on a quiet street so there is very little noise. The only downsides were the weak wifi signal in our room and the very limited parking. I had email confirmation of a reserved parking space but when we arrived we were told there weren't any spaces avaiable and just to park in one of the adjacent streets (which is easier said than done). All in all we had a thoroughly enjoyable 6 night stay here and would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Top floor or 3rd floor with lake view. Costs extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Worst Hotel ever.Dirty small rooms, smells urin. Shower Looks like it is not cleaned in years. Floors sticky and not washed. Bad breakfast,Hotel is not cleaned in years. Wifi is not working, no free parking as promised cost 13. Should be a 1star Hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from both the railway station and the lake shore, so very convenient for boat trips and train transfers. We had a room on the top floor with a lake view balcony. The room was simply furnished but clean and comfortable. The breakfast each morning was fine, with a fairly standard spread on the cold buffet and hot croissants from the waitress. The staff were all friendly and tried to be as helpful as possible. The sound proofing between rooms is not the best I've come across, but this didn't really impact upon our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I returned from a 5 night stay at the Hotel Boston yesterday and found it a bit disappointing, the breakfast consisted of a buffet containing a yogurt pot, bread,two cereal options, cheese, ham, and croissants prefilled with marmalade, it would have been nice to have a toaster or some fruit.

We also opened a strawberry jam to find it full of mould and our bedsheets were not changed once during the visit, this didn't bother me as much but, in general the cleaning of the rooms was very poor and you could hear everything that went on in the hotel at night.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel, there are nicer ones in the area for a similar price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Booked my son and wife here for 5 nights we had apt. Due to our length in Stresa. They had two terraces facing lake very clean spotless rooms. Reception always knew us and my son very friendly. Breakfast was very nice. Great hotel for the price very informative and sweet.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are wonderful facing lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel San Giacomo
Hotel San Giacomo
#15 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#5 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#6 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#17 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#13 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#7 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Address: Viale Duchessa di Genova, 13, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located just a stone's throw from the historical centre of Stresa, the railway station, the Congress Hall and boarding docks for ferries to the Borromean Islands. The Boston is a small, family managed 3 star hotel in Stresa, completely renovated in the winter of 2011/2012 and complete with all facilities: Wi-Fi available throughout the entire hotel is free, lift, bag deposit, breakfast hall, leisure reading and TV room. All rooms are with balconies,(Superior room with lake view too) air conditioning, private bathroom,safe. There is public parking nearby the hotel or private parking (charges apply), and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Stresa
Hotel Boston Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.