We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Hotel Boston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Duchessa di Genova, 13, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Spent just one night here in August on our way from Switzerland to the Italian coast. The hotel was lovely. Easy to find, and we managed to get a free parking space on the same road as the hotel. The room was more than adequate, we had a triple room, which had loads of space. The bathroom was lovely and spacious aswell. There were just two downsides, one was that breakfast was self service buffet apart from the croissants which were brought out to you by the waitress. Except that we didn't get any and when we asked she just said that there were none left. A bit poor I thought, surely they must know how many guests there are each night. And the other down side was that we were bitten to death by mozzies. This is not the hotels fault, but it has put us off returning to what is really a lovely hotel in a gorgeous setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
23
56
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a 7 night stay and paid to upgrade to lake view balcony rooms (405 and 302) Room 302 actually has 2 balconies. The views were amazing ! Both rooms and bathrooms were a good size. We were only disturbed by noise from other guests on one occasion and the hotel was busy. Shame there was no fridge in the room.

The breakfast was standard for Italian hotels, with good coffee and the meats, cheeses, cakes etc. were replenished quickly when they ran low. The lovely lady serving remembers what you drink after a few days. Chairs and tables were a bit close together.

Reception staff speak good English and were always helpful and also remembered which rooms you were in.

The hotel is a 2 mins walk from the lakeside path, 5 mins from the main square and train station.

Room Tip: would recommend paying the extra for lake view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly & helpful with suggestions for eating & visiting. A small hotel with lovely front room views over the lake. Doors opened into tiny balconies with a chair or two, always nice to have fresh air!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoston, Responsabile reception at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your report.
We are glad to know that your stay has been well with us!

Thank you again.
The Management and all Staff! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

From 2nd to 6th of June we stayed at the Hotel Boston. We arrived about 11 o'clock and were greeted by Christina the proprietor. She, as all the staff, is most friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room (405) was ready. We had a good view, though not an uninterrupted view of the lake and the Borromean gardens on the lake.
The room was always cleaned to a high standard. The lady who helped at breakfast always greeted you with a smile. Whoever was on reception was attentive and willing to help. When discussing the options for our return to Malpensa airport, Christina's daughter booked our travel with the SAF bus, which must be booked in advance.
Although there is no bar or restaurant, there is an elegant lounge where you can sit and read if you wish. We did not miss these facilities as there are so many good bars, restaurants, gelaterie and places of interest in Streas that you want to discover. You are not paying for facilities that you do not use.
The main function of a hotel for us is the quality of the bed. Ours was most comfortable, such that the first morning we overslept.
The hotel is on a quiet street, about 150 yards from the lake and most places can easily be reached on foot. The railway station is about 200 yards away and so it is handy if you are taking the train to Switzerland or Milan.
We enjoyed both our stay in Streas and in the Hotel Boston.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoston, Responsabile reception at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

is very important and we gratify reviews like yours.
We are really happy to know that your experience has been really positive with us!
Thank you again!

Greetings from Hotel Boston!!
Enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed as a group booking for up to 10 nights. We found the hotel to be in a quiet part of Stresa, clean and bright with a great location only a short walk from the town centre and on street parking close by. The room size was adequate for a weeks stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would re-book.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room with balcony and would suggest this as a minimum. Could not be described...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoston, Responsabile reception at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for the support and for your time spent to help us improving our business.
Fou us has is really gratifying to know that our guests have a positive experience with us.

We hope to see you again soon!Thank you.

The Direction and all Staff
Hotel Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Just want to say how pleased I was with my stay here. The room was spacious enough and clean, with an excellent shower in a new bathroom. Breakfast was more than ample with plenty of choice from a self serve buffet. We had excellent service throughout our stay, particularly from the breakfast lady whose name I never established!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoston, Responsabile reception at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

thanks for choosing our Hotel for your trip to Stresa and for your review, for us us really important.
Is a pleasure for us to know that your staying with us has been pleasent.

We hope to see you next season again!

Tha Direction and
all Hotel Boston' Staff!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stresa is - as another reviewer posted - the most beautiful town on Lake Maggiore - that we saw anyway, Hotel Boston is a small, family run 3 star hotel just a few minutes walk from the beautiful lake and the charming town centre. We upgraded to a lake view, balcony room (303) and spent some magic moments between trips out, sitting on the balcony just admiring the view and listening to the birds. The room was clean and comfortable, the en-suite shower room looked to be very recently refitted and the only issue was a faulty light that was fixed very soon after we reported it. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful, the maid service faultless and the breakfast waitress (Maria I think) was cheerfulness itself. Nothing seemed to much trouble. My only gripe was that the partition walls were thin and we seemed to be plagued by random noisy Italians who stopped for the occasional night, stayed out until late, then made as much noise as they could when they got back - bring earplugs - we did the tried and tested 'wet toilet paper' home-made efforts and they seemed to work.

Room Tip: Our third floor lake view, balcony room (303) gave wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoston, Responsabile reception at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for the support and for your time spent to help us improving our business.
We are glat to know that your staying as been good!

We hope to see you again with us!
The Direction and all Hotel Boston' Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel San Giacomo
Hotel San Giacomo
#15 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#6 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Milan Speranza Au Lac
Milan Speranza Au Lac
#13 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#8 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#16 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Address: Viale Duchessa di Genova, 13, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located just a stone's throw from the historical centre of Stresa, the railway station, the Congress Hall and boarding docks for ferries to the Borromean Islands. The Boston is a small, family managed 3 star hotel in Stresa, completely renovated in the winter of 2011/2012 and complete with all facilities: Wi-Fi available throughout the entire hotel is free, lift, bag deposit, breakfast hall, leisure reading and TV room. All rooms are with balconies,(Superior room with lake view too) air conditioning, private bathroom,safe. There is public parking nearby the hotel or private parking (charges apply), and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Stresa
Hotel Boston Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.