We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Hotel Boston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Duchessa di Genova, 13, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Peterborough
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We enjoyed our 3 night stay as it was good value and a great location ( we personally think Stresa is the best lakeside location on Maggiore). As others have said the hotel and rooms are fine although room a little small. Bathroom is also good although shower is open ended so invariably water goes everywhere!
Hotel is set back from lakeside but is quiet and just a few minutes from both railway station (we arrived by train) and lakeside. walk into town centre about 10 minutes.
Breakfast is adequate, no hot food, fresh fruit salad or choice of yoghurt. Particularly disliked the cornflakes.
staff friendly with sufficient English. Helpful in arranging taxi back to airport.

Room Tip: Front rooms (overlooking street) have sunny balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoston, Responsabile reception at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, for us is very important.
We are happy to have made ​​you happy during your stay in Stresa.
We do our best to make all guests feel good.
We hope to see you soon,

All Staff
Hotel Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    25
    9
    10
See reviews for
21
55
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great place that I stayed at with a friend over the summer. Room was small but adequate, balcony for fresh air. Staff was very friendly and continental breakfast was more than just that; including made to order Italian coffee basics.

Room Tip: All rooms on the street side had a balcony, I think the other side as well. Rooms are truly tiny so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I booked this hotel last minute due to other hotels being full and was satisfied with the services it offered. As its not on the main road its location is quiet. Its only about a 5-8 minute walk into main stresa depending on how slow you walk. I stayed in a double room. It wasn't huge but suited me fine although the bed was actually two single mattresses on a double bed base-a bit cheeky. The room had a decent tv and great wifi signal which I used. The lady at breakfast is v nice and there was a normal selection for the price I paid, continental and some cereals etc. Checking in and out was hassle free.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed in the Boston for 4 nights in early August together with my wife and daughter and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The reception area was tastefully furnished and the staff were welcoming.
The rooms were clean,well equiped and the bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was presented well with a reasonable choice of options and the staff were very pleasant and attentive.
Christina,who I think is the owner is a great source of knowledge in terms of where to go and what to look out for.
Overall in terms of location and value the Boston is hard to beat and we would certainly stay there again
Stresa itself is a lovely belle epoque resort ideal for a family or romantic break

Room Tip: 202 is a great choice it has two balconies and catches the sun in the late afternoon as you sit glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel Boston is nicely decorated, the bedroom was clean and pleasantly quiet, with a balcony and the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is perfectly located for both Stresa town and the railway station, both about five minutes from the hotel. The breakfast is continental and is more than adequate, with plenty of choice.
The reception staff are knowledgeable and helped with enquiries about travel, markets etc and the cleaning staff were also very friendly and helpful. I would highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Hotel Boston, for the price, was a perfect spot to stay the night before going to Milan Airport to leave Europe. It's not a 5 star hotel by any means, but my room (404) had a beautiful view of Lake Maggiore, and was within a 5 minute walk to the little town, which was absolutely authentic and charming. Hotel Boston has street parking, but it's next to the hotel. If you arrive late, it might be a little tight (not enough spaces available). It did have air conditioning, TV, private bathroom and balcony. It was a room that stated it had a view of the lake, and it did. The hotel is not exactly on the lakefront, it is a block off, and the view is not a full view, but a view of the northern part of the lake with the mountains in the back. As you travel further south on the lake, the towns don't have as good a view of the mountains, thus Stresa is a nice place to stay. Lots of gelato shops in town!

Room Tip: Room 404 had twin beds, private bathroom with shower, air conditioning, balcony with view of norther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I think hotel has been decorated since previous reviews because reception, breakfast room and bedroom and bathroom were all recently decorated and in good repair, only the lift was a little old. Nice bedroom with small balcony with a limited view of the lake. Breakfast was continental but reasonably good with helpful staff. Private parking for E10., but plenty of public parking nearby. Just off the lakeside road and 5 miutes walk to central square, restaurants, etc. Quiet and convenient. Good value.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking lake with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Address: Viale Duchessa di Genova, 13, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located just a stone's throw from the historical centre of Stresa, the railway station, the Congress Hall and boarding docks for ferries to the Borromean Islands. The Boston is a small, family managed 3 star hotel in Stresa, completely renovated in the winter of 2011/2012 and complete with all facilities: Wi-Fi available throughout the entire hotel is free, lift, bag deposit, breakfast hall, leisure reading and TV room. All rooms are with balconies,(Superior room with lake view too) air conditioning, private bathroom,safe. There is public parking nearby the hotel or private parking (charges apply), and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Stresa
Hotel Boston Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.