We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tiny gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boston

Save Saved
You added Hotel Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Duchessa di Genova, 13, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“tiny gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great place that I stayed at with a friend over the summer. Room was small but adequate, balcony for fresh air. Staff was very friendly and continental breakfast was more than just that; including made to order Italian coffee basics.

Room Tip: All rooms on the street side had a balcony, I think the other side as well. Rooms are truly tiny so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    46
    26
    12
    9
See reviews for
20
67
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel last minute due to other hotels being full and was satisfied with the services it offered. As its not on the main road its location is quiet. Its only about a 5-8 minute walk into main stresa depending on how slow you walk. I stayed in a double room. It wasn't huge but suited me fine although the bed was actually two single mattresses on a double bed base-a bit cheeky. The room had a decent tv and great wifi signal which I used. The lady at breakfast is v nice and there was a normal selection for the price I paid, continental and some cereals etc. Checking in and out was hassle free.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed in the Boston for 4 nights in early August together with my wife and daughter and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The reception area was tastefully furnished and the staff were welcoming.
The rooms were clean,well equiped and the bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was presented well with a reasonable choice of options and the staff were very pleasant and attentive.
Christina,who I think is the owner is a great source of knowledge in terms of where to go and what to look out for.
Overall in terms of location and value the Boston is hard to beat and we would certainly stay there again
Stresa itself is a lovely belle epoque resort ideal for a family or romantic break

Room Tip: 202 is a great choice it has two balconies and catches the sun in the late afternoon as you sit glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel Boston is nicely decorated, the bedroom was clean and pleasantly quiet, with a balcony and the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is perfectly located for both Stresa town and the railway station, both about five minutes from the hotel. The breakfast is continental and is more than adequate, with plenty of choice.
The reception staff are knowledgeable and helped with enquiries about travel, markets etc and the cleaning staff were also very friendly and helpful. I would highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Hotel Boston, for the price, was a perfect spot to stay the night before going to Milan Airport to leave Europe. It's not a 5 star hotel by any means, but my room (404) had a beautiful view of Lake Maggiore, and was within a 5 minute walk to the little town, which was absolutely authentic and charming. Hotel Boston has street parking, but it's next to the hotel. If you arrive late, it might be a little tight (not enough spaces available). It did have air conditioning, TV, private bathroom and balcony. It was a room that stated it had a view of the lake, and it did. The hotel is not exactly on the lakefront, it is a block off, and the view is not a full view, but a view of the northern part of the lake with the mountains in the back. As you travel further south on the lake, the towns don't have as good a view of the mountains, thus Stresa is a nice place to stay. Lots of gelato shops in town!

Room Tip: Room 404 had twin beds, private bathroom with shower, air conditioning, balcony with view of norther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I think hotel has been decorated since previous reviews because reception, breakfast room and bedroom and bathroom were all recently decorated and in good repair, only the lift was a little old. Nice bedroom with small balcony with a limited view of the lake. Breakfast was continental but reasonably good with helpful staff. Private parking for E10., but plenty of public parking nearby. Just off the lakeside road and 5 miutes walk to central square, restaurants, etc. Quiet and convenient. Good value.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking lake with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My first impressions were good, very friendly reception staff and although my single room was tiny, it had a balcony and lovely view of the lake. Then came sleep time...or not...paper thin walls meant you could hear EVERYTHING - conversations word for word, babies in rooms on either side that cried all night and of course noises that make babies. My grumpy mood from lack of sleep was not helped by the breakfast staff who both mornings chose to ignore me. For some reason other tables had dirty dishes from previous guests cleared and tea/coffee brought, but each morning I had to clear dishes from my own table and when I managed to get them to bring me tea I had to get up and get my own clean mug in order to drink it. So if you are a very heavy sleeper and happy to clean your own table in order to have breakfast then stay here as it is in a good location and the reception staff were lovely....but I pay to sleep and even though I had ear plugs unfortunately they don't block out crying babies...it would be a good idea if management put all families with babies in the same section of the hotel so as not to disturb other guests.

Room Tip: For good views make sure you are on floor 3 or above...try asking for a quiet room...but as the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBoston, Direttore at Hotel Boston, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear sir,



we are very sorry for the troubles you had during your stay. We thaught to make you a favour making an upgrade to a single superior room with balcony at the same price of a room on the back and we are so sorry that you couldn’t appreciate this. If you had told us the problem after the first night we could have managed for changing your room with another one with more “quiet” neighbours.

As well you should have had to tell the reception the problem that you had at breakfast so that we could have remarked this to the dining room staff because what you have written (and happened to you) is not absolutely the normal standard of service in our hotel. We can suppose that your last for being served at breakfast was due to the very full weekend (Easter) with the hotel very full but anyway now we can only apologize for this and increase our strength to get our service better and better giving thanks also to our guests remarks.

The Direction
Hotel Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boston

Address: Viale Duchessa di Genova, 13, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boston is located just a stone's throw from the historical centre of Stresa, the railway station, the Congress Hall and boarding docks for ferries to the Borromean Islands. The Boston is a small, family managed 3 star hotel in Stresa, completely renovated in the winter of 2011/2012 and complete with all facilities: Wi-Fi available throughout the entire hotel is free, lift, bag deposit, breakfast hall, leisure reading and TV room. All rooms are with balconies,(Superior room with lake view too) air conditioning, private bathroom,safe. There is public parking nearby the hotel or private parking (charges apply), and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Hotel Stresa
Hotel Boston Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.