We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Royal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Lido 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

perfect location, clean, very frendly stuff, nice breakfast, great value for money. stayed there for two nights.
we will go there again. for sure.
walking distance to every where.
free parking.
the stuff helped with great tips.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    70
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
79
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We arrived in late afternoon and were greeted by a very nice young lady and gentleman. She took time to show us the map of the town and where we could go to eat and how to use the boats to get to the islands. She personally showed us were we could park our motobikes under cover and then the young gentelman showed us to our rooms. All this care and attention to detail got out 2 day stay of to an excellent start.
Rooms were clean and of a good size. The roof top terrace gave wonderful views of the lake and islands.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Spent five days at Hotel Royal on a group tour from Queensland Australia and enjoyed every minute. The hotel was very clean, our room was a nice size with balcony views over the lake. The bed was firm but OK for us, wife needed a lower pillow which was promptly supplied upon request. Cold buffet breakfast was a nice change to the usual hot food options and the evening meals were excellent value. All staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful. All necessary tourist info was available at reception. Their bar was open afternoons for coffee etc. and pre dinner drinks weren't expensive. At the time of our stay the Hotel was well patronised but the town does quieten down over winter due to the cold. It was just a short walk down to the lake and nearby cable car terminal. A twenty minute stroll along the lakeside took us into the centre of town and the main water bus terminal. There were excellent lake views from the roof top garden plus views of the Swiss Alps - sunrise photos were worth getting up for. As Stresa is on a main rail line we hope to return on our own next trip to Italy.

Room Tip: Most rooms towards the rear or facing east have the best lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIDLANDS
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arrived in the second week in October, and whilst we didn't expect it to be full of guests, we were surprised to find it almost empty.
On arrival we were greated by an extremely helpful young lady (only one on the staff)
Who provided us with maps and brochures and told us quite a lot about Stesa.
Room, we were upgraded to a "superior" room, probably because the hotel was almost empty.
Hotel room was very good, wonderful views and well serviced.
Tried to get a drink about 5pm, no luck. Later in the evening we ordered scotch and water, scotch OK, but we could not have water !!!! Luckily a German guest took pity on us and offer us water from her bottle. Didn't try dining room was a bit too bow ties and servile service, but breakfast was OK.
Would not return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel in Stresa, The hotel is about 20 minutes walk along the lake shore from the centre and it had a homely feel. There was a good cold buffet breakfast, but boiled eggs were available on request, and a good three course evening meal in the hotel restaurant which was partly outside. We had a front facing room with balcony having sun in the morning, there was some road noise; a rear, lake view room would have been quieter but probably more expensive. The room was clean, and of fair size, the bed comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, speaking good English. Tourist information could be found from Tour Operators files (Inghams) or Lake steamer/ bus/train timetables at reception.
The hotel garden and pool area were beautiful. Overall this is a good 3 star hotel run by the owners, Signor and Signora Rosa. Signor Rosa's paintings adorn the walls of the hotel and its bedrooms. There is a lake steamer landing stage about 200 yards walk down the side road for trips to the islands but the town centre landing stage has a more frequent service to other places on the lake. The Matterone cable car is also just down the side road from the hotel. We loved this hotel and resort and will hope to return. The hotel has a rooof terrace with beautiful panoramic views.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms on 2nd or 3rd floor would be quieter than on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hotel Royal is a good budget accomodation in Stresa. Service is good, Decor a bit outdated but quite good value.

It is decently clean and has also partial side sea views.

Beds are rock hard, but on complaint my mattress was changed and I could actually sleep! So do complain if you don't like sleeping on cement...I don't! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

ideal for visits to the islands and cable car, pleasant walk to town, terrific views from room and 5th floor terrace, just a bit dated in parts, bed was rock hard and breakfast very average, but all in all a great place to stay

Room Tip: a lake view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Lido 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New rooms: -90% of all the rooms and bathrooms have been completely renewed in april 2011.the rooms are equipped with parquet on the floor, murano chandelier-in some room-and brand new furnitures. The new bathrooms are decorated with marble and duravit bathroom ceramics.bath or shower. all our rooms have got a private balcony with the option of the view on the lake and islands or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Stresa
Hotel Royal Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.