We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Friendly Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Parc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Parc to your Saves list
Hotel du Parc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gignous 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming and Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My stay at Hotel du Parc in early July was very enjoyable. I had a single room, located on the side of the hotel, with a great view of Stresa and Lake Maggiore. My room was comfortable and clean. Having read TA reviews, I was concerned about train noise, but I didn’t find this to be a problem. Granted, the trains do run, but I don’t know that they run through the night. If so, I didn’t hear them.

Hotel du Parc is charming and well maintained, with lovely common areas and beautiful gardens. The breakfast room was spacious and inviting. The breakfast selection was excellent. The Gerolas are friendly people who take good care of their guests. They and the staff were helpful with recommendations, information, etc.

Hotel du Parc offers a really good value, with a convenient location, only about a five to ten minute walk from the town center and the lakefront. I loved every minute of my six day stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    90
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
116
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I guess this hotel used to be awesome 20 years ago, but it's clearly not up to the standards anymore.

Good points:
- Friendly staff speaking many languages
- Good breakfast

Area of improvement:
- The hotel is located right next to a very busy train track. Nothing wrong here as it is the case of most hotels in Stresa, but I would have expected the windows to be sound proofed accordingly...
- The wifi is working only 10% of the time. Not sure if the network is overloaded or if it is more a service provider issue, but there must be something that can be done about it !!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Just home after spending a wonderful holiday in Stresa. This hotel is very efficiently run and the staff are most helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, all our queries were answered and valuable advice given. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the centre of Stresa and you get the impression of peace and tranquillity as you return to the hotel after a busy day out. The grounds are stunning with many sun chairs and loungers for the guests use.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Hotel du Parc is still a family hotel and it shows. Service is understated and exemplary and everyone very helpful with everything from travel information to the procurement of taxis. The main building is a one time villa by the look of it and stands within its own neat gardens about three minutes walk up from the lakeside.
What's so good in that although it's been converted to hotel use - sometime in the distant past - the original room heights have been retained and there are none of the make do and mend conversion tricks that spoil so many older buildings. The buffet style breakfast is first class and
the breakfast room looks out onto the lake and the gardens. This is the Stresa so many visitors seek - and to be honest you couldn't do better.

Room Tip: Standing high above the road - and it's a pretty steep short climb - the Hotel du Parc is above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed in the du Parc for 3 nights. We stayed in the annex so it may be a little different in the main building.
The hotel is very friendly and you just need to ask if there is anything you want. It is convenient and just a few minutes walk to the town and restaurant area and of course the lake side. It is also only about 10 minutes walk from the station.
The bedroom and bathroom are getting a bit faded, but that said it is extremely clean and has everything you need.
Recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We spent a lovely few days at the charming Hotel du Parc, surrounded by it's lovely gardens. It is ideally situated within walking distance of the towns square and restaurants and not far from the lake side. My parents were given a room with a stunning view of the lake, which they really appreciated. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast included a good choice of foods. We would definitely make a return visit here.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the front because the train line is just behind the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very nice hotel! Good price, comfortable room, very clean, wonderful breakfast! Recommend it! And so nice garden...very romantic :) you will have lovely vacation on this hotel. I will be here again in my next trip. I hope:))) Even some noise from trains not prevent.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Address: Via Gignous 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Hotel
Du Parc Stresa
Hotel Du Parc Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Parc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.