We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely old villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Parc

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Parc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Parc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gignous 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 hotels in Stresa
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“A lovely old villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I have little to add to others assessments but wanted to add my satisfaction vote which this hotel richly deserves. If you enjoy old world charm, with dignified service and quiet garden surroundings then this is for you. We were warmly received and received help with trip planning. All hotel services were good. No issues to mention at all. Book with confidence.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    82
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
108
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our family stayed in Stresa for three nights and this hotel was a great location to explore the town and take the ferry to other villages. The hotel staff were very helpful with restaurant suggestions and also refining our plans for the day. Other reviews have mentioned the train noise so wanted to say that it was not a problem for us at all. Our room faced the tracks but the noise was not loud enough to wake us up at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just returned from 8 days at this beautiful hotel. Room 11 with balcony and lake view!!! Staff were lovely and very friendly. I would certainly stay here again. Downhill walk to town centre and very handy for trips on the lake of from the station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Simply wonderful hotel from out of the past. The owners were very warm and helpful. The location was a 5 minute walk to town and maybe 5-10 minutees to the ferry dock. The breakfast was excellent in a beautiful sunlit room with a view. My husband and I asked for a room facing the lake with a view and did we ever get it along with French Doors opening to a small balcony. I stared at that view every time I went by the window. The room was comfortable, the bath large by some standards with a full bathtub. If you go ask for a balcony room facing the lake. The owners really made us feel welcome and even stood outside and waved when we left!

Room Tip: Definitely a balconied room! Facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We spent the May bank holiday here and it more than meet our needs. The hotel, like the whole town, echoes a long gone past but retains its charm and attractiveness. The hotel's decor is period and may not be to everyone's taste, plenty of photos on this site. That said the room was clean, spacious with a balcony overlooking the garden at the back. Yes there is a train line near by but we only noticed it a couple of times and it never disturbed our sleep. The staff were charming and very helpful. Breakfast is generous and consists of boiled eggs, ham, cheese, cakes, fruit, etc. The fridge in the room stocked a number of reasonably priced drinks, we do not use this facility normally but a bottle of water was €1.5 and a beer €3. It was too tempting not to finish the first evening off with the prosseco. The hotel is a couple of minutes from the main piazza and the lake. Parking is good and free. We would definitely stat here again and it would be quite suitable for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the house if you sleep lightly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is lovely from the outside with a nice garden to sit in. The public areas are nice. The room was basic but absolutely fine. It was immaculate and appears very well run. Breakfast was included and was super, all you could hope to expect. The location is ideal about a 3 minute walk to Stresa. Above all the price is excellent, really good value.

The only small problem was a lack of Wifi in everywhere but the public sitting area. Not always ideal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Fancy Victorian decor, more sober but still pretty in (cheaper) annex. Lovely garden. Family-run and friendly. Local railway tracks run just uphill from the villa, but trains move slowly, and we did not hear any past 22.30. Breakfast was abundant but a touch disappointing as all dairy and juices were discount-brand, out of synch with the elegant settings. Cake and bread good.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Address: Via Gignous 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Parc 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Hotel
Du Parc Stresa
Hotel Du Parc Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Parc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.