We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Lovely, Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Parc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Parc to your Saves list
Hotel du Parc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gignous 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
CALIFORNIA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Lovely, Lovely, Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Stress a few weeks ago and stayed at Hotel du Parc for three nights....all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. The location could not be any better being a five minute walk into the center of the adorable little town. From there you can sit in the square sipping wine and shop and people watch....or take the ferry back and forth to the various villages. Iso Bella is not to be missed....and only a 10 minute ferry ride away. The gardens are beyond spectacular and so is the palace. if you have a car it is worth it to drive 45 mins to the medieval village or Orta....stunning and charming. Now, back to the hotel. The staff was very helpful and extremely friendly. The rooms were fine and so was the price. We stayed on the third floor and from our window you could see the lake and all the little rooftops. Breakfast was in a big sunlit room with just about anything you would want. We loved our three day stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    90
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
116
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was or second stay at Hotel Du Parc (we spent a lovely week there in late September early October and experienced Fall at Lago Maggiore). On arrival we were welcomed warmly, it felt like a homecoming. Pupa, Carla and the rest of the team at this family run Hotel are exceptional, they cannot do enough for you. They gave us wonderful hints on where the markets are held in different towns on different days and we had great fun travelling to Arona and Luino to do some thrifty shopping and of course see different towns. The one trip was by bus, the other by ferry. We wanted to go and see Lake Orta but, this being the end of the season, there was no longer a bus running - no problem, Pupa organised transport for us and we had a wonderful day out at this exquisite beauty spot. Our room at the Hotel Du Parc was great, we were on the 2nd floor (room 11) which has a balcony and a lake view - lovely comfortable beds and of course extremely spacious. The Hotel is set in beautiful grounds and you can sit outdoors and relax after a day out and enjoy an aperitif or a cup of tea. Breakfasts are divine with much to eat, the setting in the baronial dining room is just wonderful. To get into the little townitself is but a five minute leisurely walk. I highly recommend Hotel Du Parc and will most certainly return there when next visiting Lago Maggiore.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the lake for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for three nights attending a wedding in Stresa. Location is excellent for both Stresa and the Lake - only a five minute walk down hill. The owners, management and staff are all great - friendly, welcoming and helpful with good language skills. Housekeeping is very good and comfortable beds with good linen. Buffet breakfast is reliable if a little unexciting and unchanging. Our room was big and airy with shutters to keep out the light at night. Trains were noticeable (we were at the back overlooking the lovely gardens with a glimpse of the railway) but did not worry us. The first night we were woken fleetingly maybe five times but thereafter only vaguely aware of them at night. Would definitely recommend and would stay again

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are probably quieter, but they do look over the road so who knows? Our adult chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Classic and elegant Italian Villa, family-run and operated, updated for comfort and hospitality.. Location perfect for enjoying Stresa from the comfortable surroundings of Du Parc and the lovely gardens/grounds....with the gracious help of the family Great breakfast buffet .in a light, airy and pretty room with a lake view. Rooms clean and comfortable...with high ceilings & classic, priceless chandeliers.
Old fashioned interiors in public rooms with antique furnishings.
Hosts were very accommodating re early flights from Milan Malpensa airport.
Request room on front or side of hotel to reduce the train noise. We had a side room that was great.

Room Tip: Ask for hotel front or side rooms to minimize adjacent train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May 2012. We loved it. We travel a fair but and have experienced large hotels (eg Hilton), B & Bs, and smaller hotels like Hotel Du Parc in Stresa.
The owner, Puppa, and her husband, Giuseppe, are charming, as are ALL of the staff. Asking for something extra or out of the ordinary is treated as second nature by them. Wonderfully situated with a view overlooking Lake (Lago) Maggiore, the hotel is a 3 minute walk from the main Piazza, and another minute to the departure point for ferries to other places on the lake.
The warmth of the owners is both sincere and genuine, a far cry from the impersonal feeling of the large hotels.

Why anyone would want to stay anywhere else in Stresa would confound us.

Peter & Edna Francis
Cape Town
South Africa
Tel: cell 00 27 84870 5303

Room Tip: Ask for room with lake view. If not possible do not worry - the gardens are beautiful to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just a five minute walk from the centre of Stresa, the hotel is set in lovely gardens full of colourful flowers. It retains a very old-fashioned style and feel - even down to the receptionist hand-writing our check in details - but is charming nevertheless and the little bar is reminiscent of scenes from a Bertie Wooster & Jeeves novel.The rooms were spacious and very clean, beds were comfy and if our bathroom was a touch on the bijou side, it was spotless! Breakfast was a sumptuous affair - the best we had on this tour of the Lakes. We hadn't bargained for the trains going past on a regular basis through the night, which wasn't a major problem for us but could be uncomfortable for very light sleepers. Free car parking in the hotel grounds is also a major plus. With a town like Stresa on the doorstep, this was a real find and we would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Try for the front of the hotel to avoid the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice large room and terrace (loved the gold plated taps!) but would have liked a little more constructive reaction to our complaint that the hairdryer didn't work (Have you looked for the switch?) and the bar service was harritate to say the least. Breakfast was excellent. All overshadowed I am afraid by the very loud train noise and associated vibrations that continued throughout the night. Take your ear plugs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Address: Via Gignous 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Hotel
Du Parc Stresa
Hotel Du Parc Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Parc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.