We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of genuine Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Parc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Parc to your Saves list
Hotel du Parc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gignous 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A piece of genuine Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the HDP after being recommended to us, we were not disappointed,I had read earlier about the trains running through the night,as I am a light sleeper, I had asked for a front facing room,on arrival this had not been done ,but the Hotel accommodated us on our second night,with very little fuss.
The room we moved to No 3 is fantastic,with a beautiful balcony view towards the lake and mountains, and the bathroom was 1st class.
Our stay here was most enjoyable,by the owner Carla,her brother Giuseppe and his wife Pupa,all were very helpful and nothing seemed to be a problem for them, I would also mention Roberta at reception,very pleasant and helpful.
As mentioned by many the hotel is a little old fashioned in it's decor ,but I believe to be in fitting with the style, but hey who cares the hotel is very clean ,comfortable ,the staff are pleasant and courteous, the breakfast, as far as continental goes, was very good with plenty of variety.
HDP is nicely situated in Stresa ,5 min walk from the tourist info on the lakeside,it is a few years since I visited Maggiore, and there is plenty to keep you occupied there,there are some fabulous walks,the one either up or back down from Motterone,if you are up to it, are not to be missed.
Carla ,gave us 4/5 restaurants to try and were excellent,our favourite was the Torino,in one of the squares,Stresa town is not that big so this cannot be missed,the food at the Torino was beautiful and good value for your money, it will cost you around 40 E,for 2 courses with wine.
A little mention to Giuseppe who serves a beautiful bottle of Barbera,which was enjoyed as we watched couple of football matches that were on while we were there.
All in all a wonderful holiday,I had thought of going to the Borromees,but ended up delighted with my choice.
If you are a little unsure how to transfer from Malpensa,we booked prior with the Alibus ,all the info is on line ,www.safduemila.com ( and for 9 Euros each, one way,we found this easy.

Room Tip: Front facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    92
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
118
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Hotel du Parc is a very nice hotel in a great location. Although it is not on the "main" street" it is only a few blocks from the center of the plaza. The setting is gorgeous with all the trees and garden. The breakfast/dining area was exquisite. The food was also very good...with many choices of breads, croissants, cereals, and fruit. The main building is also furnished with gorgeous antiques. The rooms were also very spacious and the bathroom was nicely up-dated. The only complaint or disappointment I had was that our room was heavly scented with room freshner that made it difficult to breath. We simply opened the window and unplugged the air freshner and we were fine. We did stay in the annex...which is a little cheaper. All in all, it was a great stay in a very exclusive and expensive town. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I think I would stay in the main building the next time. But I would not be opposed to staying in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for two nights after getting stranded due to the National Strike in Italy on the day we were due to fly home. We had been staying at the Regina Palace but did not want to stay there for the extra nights (see separate review).
This seems to be a family run hotel and everyone we met was extremely helpful and friendly. It is quite old fashioned but very charming and spotlessly clean. We had a room in the annexe. Whilst this was ok, we wished we had paid a little extra for a room in the main building as they were of a higher standard.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereals, cold meat, different cheeses, hard boiled eggs, breads, cakes, fruit, etc.
The gardens are lovely. Free wifi and use of the computer in the lounge was a bonus. You just feel really at home in this hotel.
Although it is at the top of the town, and therefore a bit of a climb to get to, it is very close to the centre of town and all the shops and lovely restaurants. The only problem is it is very close to the railway line and the trains are frequent and noisy. They do seem to stop around midnight until about 5 am. We also had some noisy plumbing in our room which gurgled all night. I would recommend taking ear plugs!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Old hotel with small but very clean rooms. The staff is friendly. The garden is nice but lacks the view on the lake.
Perfectly located to explore Stresa and surroundings (Isola Bella etc).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the Lake (2nd floor and higher)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

It's a very comfortable, relaxing hotel with spacious, clean rooms. We had slight trouble with electric as there wasn't any in our room when checking in, this was soon sorted but it happened again on 2 more occasions, I think there was a problem with the trip switches.
Some rooms are close to the railway but don't think this would cause a problem. The grounds are very nice as was the breakfasts, with a good choice of food and fresh fruits etc . Only a 2 minute walk to the town centre which has a good choice of restarants. The downstairs rooms were all in keeping with the style and age of the hotel, thus giving a pleasant atmosphere.
Some rooms are in an annex close by but breakfasst are served in the main hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We booked for car parking and position and were not disappointed. Beautiful building on a hill, internal decor very stylish, an antique feel. Very nice breakfast room with a wide selection of continental food.
Minor problem with electrics during our stay and Wi-Fi unreliable.
Railway is very close and seems noisy but it didn't keep us awake, not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

This was the second time here in the last five years. We stayed our first time just one overnight at the end of a long journey but we were so impressed we said one day we would return for a longer stay.
We made reservations for two rooms with lakeview and we booked directly with them for a good rate. Rooms 1 and 3 are the two best since there is also a terrace patio you can utilize.
The place is immaculately clean albeit old...but that is the charm.
The owners are very nice as well as all of the support staff. They truly do care about your comfort and happiness.
I would partake in utlizing the facility on occasiions for picnic, or card games. The charm of the reading room, little barroom where you can get just about any type of beverage and the sitting rooms could and should be used for relaxing,post touring reflections or card games. The grounds are superbly maintained.
Train station acess is easy walk as well as all of the attractions of Stresa.
There is only one dissapointment in that the wifi access was intermittent. It would go on and off requiring the manager on duty to reset or fix, which they were absolutely willing to do.If you are heavily reliant on wifi(which we were for skypeing home etc) this could be vexing. This is really the onlything that needs to be improved.
So to the owners Pupa, Giusseppe and their sister Carla, to the evening clerk Roberta and the overnight desk clerk Giusseppe we thank you for a great and memorable experience. Look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Parc

Address: Via Gignous 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Parc Hotel
Du Parc Stresa
Hotel Du Parc Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Parc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.