We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Homely, Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lido La Perla Nera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lido La Perla Nera to your Saves list
Hotel Lido La Perla Nera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Lido 15, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Friendly, Homely, Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Undoubtedly there are larger, grander Hotels in Stresa than the Hotel Lido, but for a friendly homely and great value for money stay I highly recommend it. No it doesnt have an outside pool or extensive gardens or a modern trendy lounge and it is not in the street of those grander Hotels but it does have a pleasant reception staff , a chef who produces delicious tasty unpretentious dinners, a waiting staff, in particular Stella and Luca who are attentive , prompt and smiling and the multilingual efficient mine host Carlo.
As stated by other reviewers there is no hot food at breakfast but plentiful supplies of cereals, cold meats, bread, cheese, yoghurt, fruit juices, fresh fruit coffee and English Liptons tea.
I can only properly comment on the room we were assigned to,on the first floor which had a wrap around balcony,a view of the Mottarone cable car station and Carciano Ferry Point and Isola Bella. It is true that a full view of the Lake itself is obscured by the rather ugly Cable Car Station building and a now disused cafe/night club, the control of which is not in the hands of Hotel Lido. The room itself was spacious and modestly furnished, the bed mattress ,maybe, on the had side, the TV with a small screen but perfectly clear picture (two English speaking channels BBC World and CNN) A more than adequate bathroom with bath and overhead shower (copious and immediate hot water) a bidet, wc, hand basin, wall hairdryer, large mirror,shampoo and soap.
A bonus was the free Hotel wifi (not generally advertised on booking sites) which was advised at reception as being available only in the foyer/lounge area but which worked perfectly well on the ipad in the assigned room itself.
We did not use the Hotel indoor pool area appeared to be very clean, measures about only 20ft square and has a whirlpool effect in one corner. The pool itself is located in the internal walkway which connects the two buildings of the Hotel and above which is situated the square garden which is overlooked by the close proximity of various rooms balconies.
The immediate location of the Mottarone cable car and Carciano ferry point provides bonus marks for the Hotel, both literally two minutes walk from the Hotel. That ferry point provides regular access to Isola Bella in particular a boat ride less than 5 minutes for 5.80 Euros return.
The walk from the Hotel to the main Stresa promenade is pretty and all on the level and by the Lake , except for 75 yards via a quiet side streetan takes only 10 minutes to reachthe promenade and then another ten minutes to reach the small Stresa town centre.
There is an internet cafe/bar /restaurant situated on the lake side of the Cable car station but there was absolutely no noise or other disturbance caused by its patrons and indeed the Hotel is effectively at the beginning of a cul de sac, so traffic past it is minimal.
It is a very quiet area in the evenings so those who want bar life or other entertainment might find it necessary to venture elsewhere.
At the top of Viale Lido, the pretty access road to the Hotel, there is a multi purpose bar/cafe. post office.
We arrived at Hotel Lido having passed all those grander Hotels and wondering whether we had made the right choice. Seven days later we were in no doubt that for what we wanted Hotel Lido had been the right choice
A selection of photos are attached to hopefully support these written words

Room Tip: Some rooms in front building have wrap around balconies and better lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We actually stayed in July 2013, but the app won't let me review further back. The location is up a quiet side street and it is located beside a square for parking so no fast traffic. There is a cafe a stones throw away towards the lake side and its a 15 minute walk along the lake into Stresa. We walked each night after our tea and had a drink in Daniel's bar.
We are a family of 2 adults and 3 kids (3, 9 & 17). The rooms were basic but spotlessly clean. Our balcony went onto the grassy roof of the pool area with sun loungers. The restaurant and the lounge area were small but perfect for the size of the hotel. Staff could not be friendlier and even went out their way to please by phoning round for their nephews car seat for us to borrow etc. Food was excellent and the service was friendly and cheery.
Stresa itself is full of small gift shops, cafés and restaurants. There is a nice supermarket where we bought our bottles of water and any snacks. A nice park with some animals in it is located at the far end of the town and is worth a visit for half a days worth. Beaches were man made and slightly stones, but we all wore swimming shoes, crocs etc. in just over an hours drive you can be in Switzerland.
Our holiday was a 10 day visit and we left wishing we didn't have to go so soon, but 10 days was probably long enough for us as we hadn't done any of the excursions apart from a day at the shopping mall (by taxi) and a day in Switzerland.
I would love to go back to the same hotel and would highly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We booked our holiday here at the last minute, and from the website pictures / description we weren't expecting much - it looked like it was rather tacky and on a main road far out of town. However, I'm glad to say we were delighted with the hotel. My 13-yr old, usually fussy, loved it too. It's down a quiet side street (unlike most Stresa hotels which are on the main road) - the road in the picture is an access road to the cable car and not busy. It is right next to a beach (artificial, as all Stresa beaches are) and a big public lido; next to the cable car (great!) and is a 15 minute stroll, along the beautiful lakeside, into town. It was spacious-seeming, despite being a small hotel; spotlessly clean, with quirky art everywhere, and several lounge areas. The staff were fabulous, especially the waiting staff in the restaurant. And the food was excellent (breakfasts and dinners). The room was basic but clean and in very good condition with a strong, luxurious shower; we had a lovely little balcony on to a roof garden with loungers. It has a lovely little indoor pool. We award 4 instead of 5 stars rather pickily because a) the wifi (which we needed for work) was only accessible downstairs and even then was intermittent, and b) we were kept awake late one night due to a party at a nearby bar.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Much of what has been said in past reviews sums up this friendly, efficient hotel. It is a good 3 star hotel with no claim to be more. Our room was large with a shower over a full bath and a wrap around balcony facing the lake, although the view is partly obstructed by the cable car. The staff in reception, the dining room and housekeeping all do their jobs very well indeed. Bed linen and towels are changed daily, the hotel is very clean and the pillows were fine. Yes, thicker towels would be preferable but it must be more eco friendly to have the thin towels when they are being replaced daily. And I agree I would prefer a duvet (surprisingly it was not very warm at night for our week in August with some rain and thunderstorms). It is at least 20 minutes walk to the main town but this is along a flat promenade with nice views of the lake. Unfortunately you can only walk in the town direction as there is no footpath along the road in the other direction. Also after the town you cannot walk any further for the same reason. The hotel is right next to the cable car - sadly the weather was not clear enough for the whole week to tempt us up. We went to Isola Bella and Isola Pescatori for 10 euros and were happy to pay 13 euros for entrance to the Palace and gardens on Isola Bella - they were amazing, the 10 tiered gardens were beautiful. Stresa is a nice little town but IMO a little limited. Inghams offered a deal, buy 2 excursions and get the third free. We went to Zermatt, pricey and a long journey but I really enjoyed it. Three Lakes - Maggiore at Locarno, Lake Lugano and Lake Como, an enjoyable day out and a half day trip to Lake Orta. I think these were well worth doing as the weather wasn't great and I wouldn't have found enough in Stresa without the excursions. On Thursday night there was great live music round the town otherwise it was quiet, possibly due to the weather. There was a very loud Saturday night disco across from the hotel but it was just the one night. The evening meal in the hotel was good, 4 courses and waiter served with the choice of 3 starters and 3 main courses. Breakfast was sufficient but a little repetitive with no toast or cooked choices. Coffee and tea were good though and there was orange juice, yoghurt and fresh fruits to complement the cold meats, cheese, bread and cereal. There is an indoor pool and a grass area at the back. There are some really lovely 4 and 5 star hotels in Stresa but of course this would be reflected in the price. This hotel was very good for what it was and at a good price. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This place is very simple, quite old-fashioned in the way other lake resort hotels are, but it's also inexpensive, charming and we had very good food and service throughout from the friendly staff. My friend and I had two single rooms and while our hearts sank at first, they 'grew' on us after a while and I found some things worked better than in some much smarter places. It's in what seems the 'industrial' part of town ie next to the ferry stop and coach park but nice to be off the main drag and a nice walk along the front to get into Stresa.
They could do with renewing pillows as neither of mine was suitable or comfortable and perhaps get proper towels (the ones offered are the dimply sheeting type, very thin). And it would be better to make the transition to quilts instead of sheets and blankets.
We had a good experience there and if interested in walking it's worth getting the leaflet from the tourist office of challenging walks around Stresa. Some almost vertical walking through villages in the hinterland affords wonderful views of the lake via chestnut and beech woods.
We found the restaurant/bar close to the hotel simple but ok and quite good coffee. I found the best coffee and the most comfortable surroundings were at La Palma Hotel, along the promenade.
A big thing to do in Stresa (and boatmen everlasting touting for custom in the car park next to the boat station) is visiting the islands Isola Bella, Madre and Pescatore, normally the first two together. I personally found this an expensive rip-off (you have to pay for palace entrance, which together with boat fares, comes to around 33 euros. I think these places could learn from the National Trust about how to properly present heritage sites to the public. It does take two hours there and back but we were glad we'd visited Cannobio by boat, a 'picture postcard' place, as someone put it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the area. 20 minute walk along the prom in to town. Hotel is very good. Pleasant, happy, helpful staff. Very handy for the cable car and ferries to the islands. Excellent views from the prom. Town very atmospheric not too big . Visits made to Zermatt and Lake Orta. Villa Torranto across the lake from Stresa is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Some rooms face away from the lake but most have a view if only partial
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent 13 nights in Hotel Lido La Perla Nere in August 2013. There were a few issues with our room, mainly the shower which, while water pressure wasn't a problem, the bath did not have an anti-slip mat making for a somewhat slippy experience! Also the shower head Bed linen and towels were changed every day and the hotel was spotless.

Breakfast could have had a few more choices, eg eggs or toast. However what was available was plentiful.

Stresa is a lovely little town, lots of places to eat although watch out for the insects - lethal! lots of nice little shops to browse. Have an ice cream and sit in the main square and watch the world go by.

Biggest plus about this hotel was the staff who were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

We would definitely go back !

Room Tip: Room 12 had a great wrap around balcony with a view of the lake, albeit a bit restricted. Bit of noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lido La Perla Nera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido La Perla Nera

Address: Viale Lido 15, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lido La Perla Nera 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lido La Perla Nera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Perla Nera Hotel
Lido Perla Nera Stresa
Hotel Lido La Perla Nera Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lido La Perla Nera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.