We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 3 star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lido La Perla Nera

Save Saved
You added Hotel Lido La Perla Nera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lido La Perla Nera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Lido 15, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A good 3 star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Much of what has been said in past reviews sums up this friendly, efficient hotel. It is a good 3 star hotel with no claim to be more. Our room was large with a shower over a full bath and a wrap around balcony facing the lake, although the view is partly obstructed by the cable car. The staff in reception, the dining room and housekeeping all do their jobs very well indeed. Bed linen and towels are changed daily, the hotel is very clean and the pillows were fine. Yes, thicker towels would be preferable but it must be more eco friendly to have the thin towels when they are being replaced daily. And I agree I would prefer a duvet (surprisingly it was not very warm at night for our week in August with some rain and thunderstorms). It is at least 20 minutes walk to the main town but this is along a flat promenade with nice views of the lake. Unfortunately you can only walk in the town direction as there is no footpath along the road in the other direction. Also after the town you cannot walk any further for the same reason. The hotel is right next to the cable car - sadly the weather was not clear enough for the whole week to tempt us up. We went to Isola Bella and Isola Pescatori for 10 euros and were happy to pay 13 euros for entrance to the Palace and gardens on Isola Bella - they were amazing, the 10 tiered gardens were beautiful. Stresa is a nice little town but IMO a little limited. Inghams offered a deal, buy 2 excursions and get the third free. We went to Zermatt, pricey and a long journey but I really enjoyed it. Three Lakes - Maggiore at Locarno, Lake Lugano and Lake Como, an enjoyable day out and a half day trip to Lake Orta. I think these were well worth doing as the weather wasn't great and I wouldn't have found enough in Stresa without the excursions. On Thursday night there was great live music round the town otherwise it was quiet, possibly due to the weather. There was a very loud Saturday night disco across from the hotel but it was just the one night. The evening meal in the hotel was good, 4 courses and waiter served with the choice of 3 starters and 3 main courses. Breakfast was sufficient but a little repetitive with no toast or cooked choices. Coffee and tea were good though and there was orange juice, yoghurt and fresh fruits to complement the cold meats, cheese, bread and cereal. There is an indoor pool and a grass area at the back. There are some really lovely 4 and 5 star hotels in Stresa but of course this would be reflected in the price. This hotel was very good for what it was and at a good price. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This place is very simple, quite old-fashioned in the way other lake resort hotels are, but it's also inexpensive, charming and we had very good food and service throughout from the friendly staff. My friend and I had two single rooms and while our hearts sank at first, they 'grew' on us after a while and I found some things worked better than in some much smarter places. It's in what seems the 'industrial' part of town ie next to the ferry stop and coach park but nice to be off the main drag and a nice walk along the front to get into Stresa.
They could do with renewing pillows as neither of mine was suitable or comfortable and perhaps get proper towels (the ones offered are the dimply sheeting type, very thin). And it would be better to make the transition to quilts instead of sheets and blankets.
We had a good experience there and if interested in walking it's worth getting the leaflet from the tourist office of challenging walks around Stresa. Some almost vertical walking through villages in the hinterland affords wonderful views of the lake via chestnut and beech woods.
We found the restaurant/bar close to the hotel simple but ok and quite good coffee. I found the best coffee and the most comfortable surroundings were at La Palma Hotel, along the promenade.
A big thing to do in Stresa (and boatmen everlasting touting for custom in the car park next to the boat station) is visiting the islands Isola Bella, Madre and Pescatore, normally the first two together. I personally found this an expensive rip-off (you have to pay for palace entrance, which together with boat fares, comes to around 33 euros. I think these places could learn from the National Trust about how to properly present heritage sites to the public. It does take two hours there and back but we were glad we'd visited Cannobio by boat, a 'picture postcard' place, as someone put it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the area. 20 minute walk along the prom in to town. Hotel is very good. Pleasant, happy, helpful staff. Very handy for the cable car and ferries to the islands. Excellent views from the prom. Town very atmospheric not too big . Visits made to Zermatt and Lake Orta. Villa Torranto across the lake from Stresa is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Some rooms face away from the lake but most have a view if only partial
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent 13 nights in Hotel Lido La Perla Nere in August 2013. There were a few issues with our room, mainly the shower which, while water pressure wasn't a problem, the bath did not have an anti-slip mat making for a somewhat slippy experience! Also the shower head Bed linen and towels were changed every day and the hotel was spotless.

Breakfast could have had a few more choices, eg eggs or toast. However what was available was plentiful.

Stresa is a lovely little town, lots of places to eat although watch out for the insects - lethal! lots of nice little shops to browse. Have an ice cream and sit in the main square and watch the world go by.

Biggest plus about this hotel was the staff who were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

We would definitely go back !

Room Tip: Room 12 had a great wrap around balcony with a view of the lake, albeit a bit restricted. Bit of noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were so fortunate to find this hotel - during peak season (August 2013) - when we only had 1 night to spare. Isabella - was so helpful and spoke wonderful English. There were 4 of us on a break from the Torino World Masters games (we play women's soccer). The hotel was in walking distance of everything - close to the Tram, the Ferries to the gorgeous islands (Especially Isola Bella and Isola Madre - a must see!!!). We were a 15 minute walk from where all the restaurants and 5 star hotels. The hotel has a view of the lake, and there is a private and public beach right across the street. We loved the location and the price was very affordable. Our only complaint would be the air conditioning. Our room did not get cool until 2 or 3 AM. We have been living in very hot conditions in Torino and were very excited to have an air conditioned room - but it really didn't work out that way. Someone did come up and help "fix" it but - it still didn't get cool until 3 AM. That being said, the staff was wonderful. Isabella let us use some towels from the pool at the beach, and some glasses for our wine. She was very sweet and helpful. We had a great time and I would come back for sure.

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioner works - blows out cool air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel-en-le-Frith
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

As stated above we have stayed here five times, every time the same great service and food, the staff are excellent and the rooms very clean, if possible book the original building with a view over the lake, the walk into Stresa along the promenade is very pleasant. A new service to us is the introduction of a shuttle ferry "Albatross" across to Isola Bella which seems to run about every half hour from the Carciano ferry point, originally only every other ferry stopped at this point so the walk into Stresa was necessary to catch the ferry but now you can use the island to hop on other boats to the other islands.

Room Tip: Room 1 first floor and room 7 in the old building have the best views of the island , all double roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel was spotless the staff always smiling and very helpful and the food although nothing adventurous was beautifully cooked and presented.Ideally situated away from busy Stresa but such a lovely walk into the town with a couple of watering holes along the way.Stresa was the nicest town around the lake with plenty to see and do and the ferry terminal a minute away from the hotel made getting about so easy. The only downside was the size of the single room but hey! you don't spend that much time in it and it had all you might need and was always cleaned very well

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lido La Perla Nera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido La Perla Nera

Address: Viale Lido 15, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lido La Perla Nera 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lido La Perla Nera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Perla Nera Hotel
Lido Perla Nera Stresa
Hotel Lido La Perla Nera Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lido La Perla Nera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.