We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Affordable Find in a beautiful area!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lido La Perla Nera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Lido La Perla Nera to your Saves list
Hotel Lido La Perla Nera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Lido 15, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Bellevue, WA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A True Affordable Find in a beautiful area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were so fortunate to find this hotel - during peak season (August 2013) - when we only had 1 night to spare. Isabella - was so helpful and spoke wonderful English. There were 4 of us on a break from the Torino World Masters games (we play women's soccer). The hotel was in walking distance of everything - close to the Tram, the Ferries to the gorgeous islands (Especially Isola Bella and Isola Madre - a must see!!!). We were a 15 minute walk from where all the restaurants and 5 star hotels. The hotel has a view of the lake, and there is a private and public beach right across the street. We loved the location and the price was very affordable. Our only complaint would be the air conditioning. Our room did not get cool until 2 or 3 AM. We have been living in very hot conditions in Torino and were very excited to have an air conditioned room - but it really didn't work out that way. Someone did come up and help "fix" it but - it still didn't get cool until 3 AM. That being said, the staff was wonderful. Isabella let us use some towels from the pool at the beach, and some glasses for our wine. She was very sweet and helpful. We had a great time and I would come back for sure.

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioner works - blows out cool air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel-en-le-Frith
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

As stated above we have stayed here five times, every time the same great service and food, the staff are excellent and the rooms very clean, if possible book the original building with a view over the lake, the walk into Stresa along the promenade is very pleasant. A new service to us is the introduction of a shuttle ferry "Albatross" across to Isola Bella which seems to run about every half hour from the Carciano ferry point, originally only every other ferry stopped at this point so the walk into Stresa was necessary to catch the ferry but now you can use the island to hop on other boats to the other islands.

Room Tip: Room 1 first floor and room 7 in the old building have the best views of the island , all double roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel was spotless the staff always smiling and very helpful and the food although nothing adventurous was beautifully cooked and presented.Ideally situated away from busy Stresa but such a lovely walk into the town with a couple of watering holes along the way.Stresa was the nicest town around the lake with plenty to see and do and the ferry terminal a minute away from the hotel made getting about so easy. The only downside was the size of the single room but hey! you don't spend that much time in it and it had all you might need and was always cleaned very well

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just came back from a week holiday in Stresa. We spent the week at the hotel and toured around the lakes and the surroundings. The stay was a very pleasant one. We enjoyed not to be in the center, 15 minutes walk along the beautiful lake, is just right, it was very quiet and peaceful. The room was clean and spacious, with a nice balcony, overlooking the mountains and some of the lake. The staff was excellent, helpful and very pleasant.
We did miss a kettle in the room and although it was a very warm week, the management did not put on the air-condition, although it was stated that all the rooms are with an air-condition.
To sum up, we would recommend the hotel to our friends and hope they enjoy it as we did.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We’ve been coming here on prolonged weekends for years – mainly in late summer, early fall – and always occupy the same corner room on the top floor facing the lake. Each time, our stay was perfect: friendly staff, comfortable room, copious breakfast. What attracts us to the clean and tidy Lido La Perla Nera is the hotel’s location at the outskirts of Stresa with a spectacular view of the nearby Borromean Islands. The walk to the historic town center with its many shops and restaurants takes only 15-minutes – along the beautiful lake promenade with many amazing aristocrat villas and grand hotels from another era. And by the way, the hotel’s rate is excellent value for money.

Whilst we were never bothered by the Beach Club discotheque opposite the hotel before, our last visit turned into a real nightmare; we couldn’t get any sleep until 4 am. The disturbing noise came mainly from patrons that stood outside smoking, drinking and singing. Complaints only brought an increase of the sound level and insults shouted at those trying to get things calmed. In the morning, when I learned that the discotheque had permission from the city council, I canceled our second night and insisted to file a complaint with the authorities. Promptly, the police appeared, took down statements and promised to investigate matters; i.e. it seemed that the discotheque’s authorization was only valid until midnight and didn’t apply to the location’s exterior.

When time came to settle the bill and I allowed myself the remark that a reduction would be in place, the manager spontaneously refused to accept payment. A lady (the owner?) who followed the conversation in the background wasn’t too happy with the manager’s offer – although I’m sure this “loss” will be an important argument with the authorities in their case against the noisy discotheque.

I maintained my cancellation but promised to be back – albeit not without first inquiring about the situation with the nearby Beach Club.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel three nights in September. Service was excellent. Rooms were large and the balcony was a plus. We had a garden room which I would recommend over the lakefront rooms as there is some obstruction in front of the building. Walk into stresa about 15 minutes and quiet. Train station is about a mile away. We had to leave early for the train station and no taxis was available. One of the hotel staff drove us to the train station in his own car. We were exceptionally grateful for the service. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great little hotel, very warm welcome and loads of information. Well placed for boats and cable car, will certainly return. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. Very good base from which to explore Stresa and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lido La Perla Nera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido La Perla Nera

Address: Viale Lido 15, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lido La Perla Nera 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lido La Perla Nera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Perla Nera Hotel
Lido Perla Nera Stresa
Hotel Lido La Perla Nera Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lido La Perla Nera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.