We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fontana to your Saves list
Hotel Fontana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sempione Nord 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lago de Maggiore is a must see in Northern Italy and staying at Hotel Fontana made our visit perfect.

There were four of us, my sister and our husbands. We enjoyed staying here so much we extended our stay for a few more days before going to Switzerland.

This is an older Villa so don't expect fancy and modern; but you will get comfort, charm, good breakfast and interesting conversation with the owner. There were chickens and dogs in the yard and we had fun playing with them. We had a room with a big terrace that overlooked part of the grounds and the lake. We enjoyed lounging downstairs drinking wine and talking to other guests. Staying here was very relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    79
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
42
138
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Second time we have visited Lake Maggiore this time with friends We stayed for 4 nights August, had a room overlooking the lake, older style family hotel which was excellent value for money where you are a person not a room number. Room size was fine for us with 2 large suit cases and 2 cabin bags. Breakfasts fine with enough choice for us. Didn't spend enough time in the room to notice the wall thickness. Giuseppe was an excellent host being up to great us early for breakfast and welcolmed us back late at night and was full of useful information, nothing appeared to much trouble for him. Would we stay there again Yes

Room Tip: Ask for first floor lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently spent four nights at Hotel Fontana. Our room was at the front of the building overlooking the garden, Lake Maggiore and Isola Bella. As already mentioned, the Hotel's decor is a bit tired but is very clean and comfortable. The thin walls are the main negative here as in many hotels in Europe, but we always have ear plugs from our flight which help. Stresa is a beautiful place. There is ample car parking at the hotel so we walked everywhere. It takes about 15 minutes to stroll to the town and even less to the lake-side for transfers to the islands. Our host Guiseppe is very welcoming and provides an excellent breakfast in the hotel's formal dining room. I agree with previous reviewers that Hotel Fontana provides great value for such a prime position.

Room Tip: Request a front room with balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We travelled in Italy for 4 weeks and had no concerns with our stay at Hotel Fontana but compared to other places we stayed it wasn't extraordinary. The Lake area of Italy is expensive to stay and as others have said there are some rather over the top places nearby. After visiting the south of Italy t seemed to us that the north is much more touristy and Lake Maggiore reflected this. Hotel Fontana is relatively easy to find. We walked from the train station which took us about 10 to 15 minutes with luggage but was much quicker without. Our rooms were available when we arrived just after midday and our host very welcoming and full of assistance with getting our rooms and days sorted. There are lots of dated dried flower arrangements etc but I think this is just part of the hotel feel. The fountain wasn't working during our 3 night stay.
Our room had a large balcony from the front of which you could see Isole Bella which was a lovely treat. From inside our room we had no view. The room was a decent size but we could only use the hand held shower while sitting in the half sized bath as it would not stay on the wall mounting. Wasn't a huge issue but wasn't particularly relaxing or pleasant. As others have said the room walls are thin and we could hear our neighbours moving around and talking very early most mornings as they saw to their dog.
Breakfast had different options but we were unable to be offered anything on the last morning as we were leaving on an early train. We did ask though.
We found the walk into Stresa pleasant and it only took us about 10 minutes.
Compared to prices offered at other places in Stresa La Fontana is good value and well positioned if you are using trains to get around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

2* accommodations, but 5* hospitality. Older property with thin walls (could hear neighbors talking), tiny shower, no bathroom amenities except for tiny bar of soap. 15 minute walk from train station and into town. Breakfast was above average but the same each day. Wonderful croissants with apple filling. Delicious. Excellent WiFi in lobby area only.

Owner, Giuseppe, was so kind, friendly and pleasant. Will bend over backwards to try to help you in any way.

Good value but you should be aware of what to expect. It's not the Hilton or Westin. Just a relaxed homey atmosphere. My wife liked it.

Room Tip: Terrace room more expensive and very tiny bathroom. We asked to move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We really enjoyed the lovely town of Stresa and Hotel Fontana was a pleasant budget hotel, the owner very hospitable and the location good.

Our room was quite basic and ok but the shower was dreadful. No curtain or screen over the bath meant water sprayed everywhere whilst showering.

We enjoyed the generous breakfast and the pleasant sprawling grounds of the hotel. All in all, a nice budget hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel isn't for everybody, and thank goodness for that, because it's a bit of a gem really. It sits majestically alongside other more expensive and frankly vulgar offerings, but oozes charm and a little bit of quirkiness. The proprietor (Andreis Giuseppe) is noteworthy because he appears to extend a real warmth and charm to every guest.
The rooms are very reasonable and clean. Views of the lake are possible but we had a room facing the gardens. The gardens are unremarkable and a little unloved, but we loved it, especially the fountain centerpiece. This is an animal friendly hotel and there are several dogs and birds on the premises, including a friendly cockerel that likes to rub up against you affectionately.
The lounge area looks and feels unfettered by time, you could almost imagine yourself within an Agatha Christy whodunit at the point when everyone is gathered in the drawing room for the summing up and eventual exposure of the murderer!
We sat for breakfast and wanted for nothing.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere special at a very reasonable price. Forget the vulgar opulence and expense of the other nearby establishments and use the savings to get yourself over to the nearby islands.
Thank you Senor Giuseppe, for a truly memorable stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stresa hotels
0.4 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Iles Borromees
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Bristol
Grand Hotel Bristol
#16 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#6 of 36 in Stresa
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#13 of 36 in Stresa
4.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Address: Via Sempione Nord 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato in posizione tranquilla e centrale a pochi metri dal lago, l'Hotel La Fontana è immerso nel verde di un bellissimo grande parco.La struttura, costruita negli anni '40, è stata fino agli anni '80 una villa.La gestione familiare assicura un caldo e accogliente soggiorno.Le camere sono dotate di servizi privati, aria condizionata, Tv-sat, telefono diretto, frigo bar, phon e cassaforte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Stresa
Hotel Fontana Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.