We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime position and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fontana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sempione Nord 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Stresa
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Prime position and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently spent four nights at Hotel Fontana. Our room was at the front of the building overlooking the garden, Lake Maggiore and Isola Bella. As already mentioned, the Hotel's decor is a bit tired but is very clean and comfortable. The thin walls are the main negative here as in many hotels in Europe, but we always have ear plugs from our flight which help. Stresa is a beautiful place. There is ample car parking at the hotel so we walked everywhere. It takes about 15 minutes to stroll to the town and even less to the lake-side for transfers to the islands. Our host Guiseppe is very welcoming and provides an excellent breakfast in the hotel's formal dining room. I agree with previous reviewers that Hotel Fontana provides great value for such a prime position.

Room Tip: Request a front room with balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    60
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
116
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We travelled in Italy for 4 weeks and had no concerns with our stay at Hotel Fontana but compared to other places we stayed it wasn't extraordinary. The Lake area of Italy is expensive to stay and as others have said there are some rather over the top places nearby. After visiting the south of Italy t seemed to us that the north is much more touristy and Lake Maggiore reflected this. Hotel Fontana is relatively easy to find. We walked from the train station which took us about 10 to 15 minutes with luggage but was much quicker without. Our rooms were available when we arrived just after midday and our host very welcoming and full of assistance with getting our rooms and days sorted. There are lots of dated dried flower arrangements etc but I think this is just part of the hotel feel. The fountain wasn't working during our 3 night stay.
Our room had a large balcony from the front of which you could see Isole Bella which was a lovely treat. From inside our room we had no view. The room was a decent size but we could only use the hand held shower while sitting in the half sized bath as it would not stay on the wall mounting. Wasn't a huge issue but wasn't particularly relaxing or pleasant. As others have said the room walls are thin and we could hear our neighbours moving around and talking very early most mornings as they saw to their dog.
Breakfast had different options but we were unable to be offered anything on the last morning as we were leaving on an early train. We did ask though.
We found the walk into Stresa pleasant and it only took us about 10 minutes.
Compared to prices offered at other places in Stresa La Fontana is good value and well positioned if you are using trains to get around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

2* accommodations, but 5* hospitality. Older property with thin walls (could hear neighbors talking), tiny shower, no bathroom amenities except for tiny bar of soap. 15 minute walk from train station and into town. Breakfast was above average but the same each day. Wonderful croissants with apple filling. Delicious. Excellent WiFi in lobby area only.

Owner, Giuseppe, was so kind, friendly and pleasant. Will bend over backwards to try to help you in any way.

Good value but you should be aware of what to expect. It's not the Hilton or Westin. Just a relaxed homey atmosphere. My wife liked it.

Room Tip: Terrace room more expensive and very tiny bathroom. We asked to move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We really enjoyed the lovely town of Stresa and Hotel Fontana was a pleasant budget hotel, the owner very hospitable and the location good.

Our room was quite basic and ok but the shower was dreadful. No curtain or screen over the bath meant water sprayed everywhere whilst showering.

We enjoyed the generous breakfast and the pleasant sprawling grounds of the hotel. All in all, a nice budget hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel isn't for everybody, and thank goodness for that, because it's a bit of a gem really. It sits majestically alongside other more expensive and frankly vulgar offerings, but oozes charm and a little bit of quirkiness. The proprietor (Andreis Giuseppe) is noteworthy because he appears to extend a real warmth and charm to every guest.
The rooms are very reasonable and clean. Views of the lake are possible but we had a room facing the gardens. The gardens are unremarkable and a little unloved, but we loved it, especially the fountain centerpiece. This is an animal friendly hotel and there are several dogs and birds on the premises, including a friendly cockerel that likes to rub up against you affectionately.
The lounge area looks and feels unfettered by time, you could almost imagine yourself within an Agatha Christy whodunit at the point when everyone is gathered in the drawing room for the summing up and eventual exposure of the murderer!
We sat for breakfast and wanted for nothing.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere special at a very reasonable price. Forget the vulgar opulence and expense of the other nearby establishments and use the savings to get yourself over to the nearby islands.
Thank you Senor Giuseppe, for a truly memorable stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Behind a large slightly untended garden with a "moderne" design fountain lies Hotel Fontana. I traveled in Europe in the 60s and 70s and stayed in a lot of hotels like this. The lobby and large airy salon could be right out of the 1930s- furniture and chandeliers included. The rooms too are out of the 30s and the bathrooms perhaps the 70s. I found all of this charming because it was all spotlessly clean, the windows were large and the location quiet.It is family run and well maintained.The owner is very helpful and the dogs and cat friendly. I heard the rooster but did not see him. This place is not for everyone but I found it charming and a very good value.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on the ground floor in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel Fontana is in an old villa with fairly large grounds. Room 25 wasn't the largest in the place but it was one of the larger ones we had on our trip. And it had the advantage of being a corner room that got great cross breezes to cool it. Very nice, large balcony which was shady much of the time overlooking the grounds and the lake. Bathroom narrow with a half-size bathtub. Lots of chairs and swings scattered around the grounds. Lots of animals too - dogs, cats chickens, crows. We spent a couple of hours in the shady yard one afternoon with a very large rooster as a companion while we ate a picnic lunch and read. Very good breakfast with heated bread and crossants, coffee and tea brought to your table plus buffet of cheese, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, boil your own eggs. Very attentive and cordial service throughout the stay. Only downside is the noisy road that it is located on but it quiets down at night. Downtown is a pleasant 15 minute walk along the lake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Address: Via Sempione Nord 1, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato in posizione tranquilla e centrale a pochi metri dal lago, l'Hotel La Fontana è immerso nel verde di un bellissimo grande parco.La struttura, costruita negli anni '40, è stata fino agli anni '80 una villa.La gestione familiare assicura un caldo e accogliente soggiorno.Le camere sono dotate di servizi privati, aria condizionata, Tv-sat, telefono diretto, frigo bar, phon e cassaforte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Stresa
Hotel Fontana Stresa, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.