We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flora - Stresa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Flora - Stresa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Flora - Stresa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sempione Nord 26, 28838 Stresa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 hotels in Stresa
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here in early May 2013. I was on holiday on my own. I was given a spacious twin bedded room (19) which had safe, fridge and flatscreen tv. The balcony had a tall tree very close to it, so no view to speak of at all. The bathroom was modern and had a shower with two separate shower heads. The best points about this hotel were (a) the staff, who were very polite and the waitresses were just super; (b) it was kept very clean. The food was well cooked, but those with a big appetite might find that the portions were a bit on the small side. If you have a room near the road you are likely to be disturbed by the noise so I should negotiate for a lake view. I would certainly return here if I was contemplating another trip to Stresa.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the east side of the hotel with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    34
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
16
57
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Flora with my girlfriend in April 2013. The hotel is a 30 room family run hotel 10 mins away from central Stresa overlooking the lake. Our room was very new and modern, with 2 balconies, flatscreen TV, free refrigerator and a safe. One of the balconies over looked the lake and the Islands, the view was spectacular! The bathroom was modern, large and looked brand new, with a powerful shower. In reference to the road noise mentioned by other reviewers, our room was on the side of the hotel and didn't suffer with road noise at all, I can not see it being much worse if we were fully on the road side of the hotel. The windows were very sound proofed and air-con worked fine at keeping us cool, however you can hear road noise when out on the balcony. We stayed half board, the cold buffet breakfast provided a good choice, the 4 course evening meal was superb, plenty of choices and something different every night. It was filling and delicious. The staff are all friendly, cheerful and always happy to help, all requests were dealt with promptly. The hotel is a 15 min (max) walk into Stresa, through some lovely gardens and next to the lake side for the whole way. The walk was a pleasure every time, with views of the mountains and islands. I always try and leave a negative on reviews however this time I honestly can not think of one, I can not recommend the hotel highly enough. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 25 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Having read reviews before we went I have to agree with a lot of the comments. We had a lake view room which was lovely the view was absolutely gorgeous. The room was average size for Italy but the bathroom was tiny, I am only small but one comment was correct the toilet was very close to the shower and somebody taller would really have struggled, however everything was spotlessly clean. There was a large wardrobe with plenty of hangers but no drawers so underwear etc had to stay in bags as there was nowhere to put it. Breakfast was very good, continental but plenty of choice. For me the evening meals were a bit too fancy and there was not a lot of choice, however the desserts were amazing and people were having 2 or 3 of these and I have to say we never left the table feeling hungry. Drinks were reasonable prices (not sure about wine as we do not drink it) beer was the same price as in the town. Pool was spotless and not too deep. The town is about a 20min walk but it is lovely along the lakeside. It was very easy and cheap to get around from Stresa and on the whole it was a lovely holiday and would go again. I understand the comments about the owners but think as it is a family run hotel they just don't have time to stand chatting.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just returned from two weeks staying in the hotel Flora and first must thank the tripadvisor reviewer who recomended that if it was possible to get a lakeview room, we changed our usual holiday dates to get one and did not regret it as the view was fantastic and it keeps you away from the road noise.The room was a little on the small side but the large balcony with that view made up for that.
The owner and his wife may not be the most outgoing hoteliers we have ever met but they were very efficient and that is just how I like it, the couple of very small problems we had were fixed right there and then. The staff however were very friendly and could not do enought for you.
The food was very good and although it was a continental breakfast there were plenty of choice. The house wine was reasonably priced and very drinkable. The hotel was spotlessly clean as was the swimming pool and being down in a litle hollow it was a perfect place to soak up the sunshine, also a couple of nice changing rooms with a shower and some lockers. Plenty of loungers and sunshades.
The hotel also has a nice lounge and bar.
Stresa is a very nice place to wander with plenty of shops, cafes and resturants. The centre is about a 15 minute walk from the Flora however within 5 minutes you are on the lakeside
If you don't fancy going into town at night there is a lovely lounge bar and resturant round the side of the cable car station called the Loco, less than 5 minutes from the hotel with a terrace overlooking the lake, a perfect place for a drink in the evening.

Room Tip: Get a lakeview room the higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here two days, breakfest and dinner was good. Easy access to the lift (2 min walk) that will get you up in the mountain. Town center is 20 min walk.

The hotel does NOT crédit card, crash only, they dont tell you before check out :(

Get the right room is important, the Road is bussy and if you dont like to be woken up at 7 get a Lake side room, at one of the top floors and you Will get the good view as well

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Positives - lake side rooms - which only cost a little more than a roadside room - had a lovely balcony with amazing views over the lake and islands. The bedroom was a reasonable size and was well decorated and was always very clean The buffet breakfast had an excellent choice. The swimming pool was lovely after a hard mornings sightseeing! I booked privately via e-mail and corresonpdance was always promote and helpful. Some staff -notably the night porter/barman and breakfast staff were friendly

Negatives - the main negative was the attitude of the hotel owners - they gave the impression that we - the paying customer - were somewhat of a nusiance! They rarely spoke - i made small talk on the first day but gave up after that - or smiled. I reported a problem with my safe which was not resolved at any time during my 3 day stay and requests for infromation about the railway staff were meet with a shrug and a don't know. Finally when the owner seated me for breakfast on my final day i was placed inside behing a pillar while quests that came after me were taken out to the small outside area - having paid full price for a double room B & B I was more than entitled to a table for 2 in the outside area - I found this attitude very insulting.

The other main negative was the size of the bathroom which was tiny. I am not tall but found it hard to use the toilet comfortably as it was so close to the shower and it was impossible to put the shower mat down and then close the bathroom door.

The pool area was not very attractive - nothing had been done in terms of flowers etc and you had to walk across the car park to get to it. Again if you wanted a drink etc you had to go into the hotel yourself - if staff had come out every once in a while and offered refreshments I think they woud have improved their service and benefitted their sales also.

All in all i gave this hotel 3 stars as it is an adequate hotel for those on a limited budget. However due to the attitude of management - who should perhaps take lessons from there paid employees! - i would not be keen to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go for a lakeside room - the rooms on the other side of the hotel overlook a very busy room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Very nice owners friendly very clean disabled room bigger but roadside and rail side noisy but doubleglazing did cut out noise food very good waitresses cheery small hotel with big heart neilson phoned to see if we had arrived and two days before we left called with time for departure pickup to airport

Room Tip: Disabled rooms toilets bigger balconies bigger road trains not too bad with double glazing don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Flora - Stresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora - Stresa

Address: Via Sempione Nord 26, 28838 Stresa, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Stresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora - Stresa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Flora - Stresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Flora - Stresa Italy - Lake Maggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flora - Stresa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.